We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old place, extremely nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014

When it said "historic" we were nervous. Sometimes that means old and tired looking. Not this place. It has been remodeled and while it still has historic charm, it has the latest in quiet air conditioning, soft beds, walk in showers, thick, soft towels, and a view of the city. The staff is very pleasant. Lovely!

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor and had a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing of your stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,


Team Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,666 - 1,672 of 2,367 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

Unfortunately zero stars was not an option. We stayed on our wedding night and payed for our photographers to stay as well. To say we are frustrated with this place is an understatement. The rooms were great, the front desk was friendly, but in the end we're out a few hundred extra dollars and have spent more aggravating time on the phone than I care to recall. Long story short, we were charged (a lot) more than the rate promised. The GM himself said "you went around our backs... you were trying to cheat us out of money" Right, mister. He raised his voice at me. Worst service of my life. A refund for the overcharge would have been nothing to them but the chance to make a customer happy. I'll never be back to use the 200 worth of credit I have from the expired travelzoo vouchers they wouldn't let me use. That's a parting gift, Mr.
GM. I'll be the bigger person.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amh719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear amh719,

The rules governing Travelzoo vouchers are quite specific. Your request to use the vouchers for room types that you did not purchase them for was asking us to violate our contract that we have established with Travelzoo; we will not diminish our integrity to do this.

The numerous communications asking us to bend the rules because "We've already purchased them to use for our photographer's room was asking us to "go behind Travelzoo's back and to cheat them" was my comment; . my apology that there was a misunderstanding.

It is always important in realizing the component's of travel promotions before purchasing from travel promotions companies as Travelzoo, Groupon and Living Social. We have established mutually rewarding relationships with these travel promoters that is built on integrity. Thousands of travelers have stayed at the hotel on vouchers such as yours within the requirements of the program.

At no point did my voice change to the gutter language that your husband used, to which he was respectfully asked if he needed to continue this discussion at a different time.

In closing, you were never denied the use of the vouchers, it was advised that they were only redeemable for the room types purchased, and unfortunately, those room types were all ready reserved during your requested travel dates. In addition, it was stated repeatedly if your travel could not be worked out during the required dates of stay, the expired vouchers become gift certificates for the purchase amounts. If you should decide to not use these for future dates, we recognize your decision. Your purchase will remain between yourself and Travelzoo.

There are clearly two different sides to the story, I leave this up to the court of public opinion to decide.

Congratulations on your wedding to you and your husband.

Sincerely,

Dwight Hopfauf
General Manager
Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

we stayed at this hotel for unfortunately just 1 night as it was a stopover in travelling from waterloo to Chicago, and now we wished we had stopped for longer, as it was our favourite hotel in the whole 2 weeks we were in the states (8 hotels in total). it has a lovely older look to the outside and the inside is beautiful. it is very handily located in Dubuque, we just walked out the front door to the next block and you are on the bridge to take you down to the harbour area.
we stayed in a whirlpool bath room which was fantastic, plenty of room, very comfortable bed, good views from the sixth floor, and a large walk in shower as well as the whirlpool bath!
the staff were all very helpful and friendly, and we ate in the restaurant for our evening meal as the food was very well priced, and the food was delicious, and we also had breakfast in the morning, which was nice as well. the only con I can think of is if you are a light sleeper you are close to a main highway and rail line, though this did not bother us.
overall one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in and we would travel out of our way to come back, and would definitely stop for more than one night next time!

Room Tip: the whirlpool room is worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank neil h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing of your stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,


Team Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We visited Dubuque and stayed the weekend at this lovely restored historical building. We had a special Internet deal and either it was a really fantastic deal or we were unknowingly upgraded to a wonderful corner suite. The accomodstions were excellent with a great view of the river and Port Dubuque. The one downside was that not one staff member we encountered seem particularly friendly...they were almost indifferent. This included front desk and housekeeping staff. Also the hot tub was not very hot so I opted to skip that. The location is very convenient and within walking distance to multiple restaurants and attractions. Carolines, the on site restaurant, is listed as good and reasonably priced on many reviews. The food is excellent and reasonably priced for breakfast and lunch..not so much for dinner although in line with other downtown restaurants. Overall we enjoyed our stay there. Friendly staff would have made this a 5 star review.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing of your stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,


Team Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Awesome hotel! The rooms are very clean, beds are comfortable and they have all the amenities you need! The staff was friendly and informative and very helpful... they called around to multiple restaurants to find someone who served dinner past 9pm which is hard to find! Highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Bemby1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing of your stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,


Team Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed at Hotel Julian to celebrate my birthday. I was greeted with a surprise "Happy Birthday" from the staff. We a great personalized touch to add to our fabulous stay. Gorgeous room, super comfortable bed, amazing view of the city, fun bar. Within walking distance of restaurants, bars and casino. Had a great time and will return again soon. By far the best hotel in Dubuque!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DarlaT0804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing of your stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,


Team Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This hotel has had an extraordinary renovation that could make it a great luxury hotel. Unfortunately it was our experience that the staff and management are not prepared to be something other than a mid-range hotel.

Check-in was smooth. Our King Deluxe room on the fifth floor was quite large with a nice sitting area.

Our room was clean but there was a rag left on the desk. Not exactly a great start to the stay, but certainly nothing we couldn't overlook on a busy weekend.

We were traveling with a child so we booked this room so we could use the pull out sofa. The sofa was against a wall shared with the ice-maker which was quite noisy. We requested a change at the front desk, but front desk staff was unable to do so. I asked for a manager but they were unable to find a manager. They did eventually find a manager and when we stopped by the front desk they told us that they couldn't move us because it was too late in the day (7pm) but they would send up a roll away.

A quick note for those that aren't heavy sleepers. If your room is on the river side of the hotel you are going to hear railway noise. The view from the room on the river side, unless you are on the top floors, is mostly industrial with peeks of the river.

There is a mini bar and "snack basket" in the room. In our refrigerator there was orange juice that had expired over a year ago and liquor bottles that had been emptied and filled with water. Some of the snacks in the basket were expired as well. One of the glasses in the room had not been washed. We callled the front desk, and asked that they replace the expired items. They brought up two new items and took away the rest but never replaced them.

On Sunday morning we went for a swim and there were no towels in the pool.

When calling the front desk the phone would ring perhaps 15-20 times before pick up.

These are all minor issues, but put together they made our stay somewhat hectic and not the relaxing get away we were hoping for. The staff was friendly but didn't seem to be surprised by any of the issues we encountered and I don't think we heard a single "I'm sorry for the inconvenience" the entire time we were in the hotel.

Having said all of this, we would consider going back if we read more positive reviews and find that this was just a bad weekend for the hotel. The restaurant in the hotel was quite nice and very affordable. There is a bar with a nice outdoor patio. The renovation makes the hotel look elegant and comfortable.

There are a number of interesting things to do nearby and good places to eat. Highly recommend taking a horse and carriage ride through the city. The architecture and history is quite extraordinary. It's unlikely that you will get the feel for this without some sort of guide.

If you are with a Field of Dreams fan or a baseball fan take a quick drive from the city to the "Field Of Dreams" farm. The "ghosts" have a regular schedule and put on quite a show.

Room Tip: River side rooms can be noisy due to railroad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amys620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Amy S,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. Our sincere apology for the service that occurred; rest assured this was an isolated incident.

The staff did speak with me about your concern with the elevator. The only rooms remaining to exchange were rooms located on the third floor of the hotel. These rooms sometimes receive noise concerns because of the street traffic, thus the reason why the decision to move your room was not made.

The concern with the snack items were addressed with the staff that handle the refilling, as there should never be an expired product.

Thank you for the kind words shared about the surrounding neighborhood, Caroline's Restaurant and the Field of Dreams.

Sincerely,

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#8 of 17 in Dubuque
329 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julien Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julien Dubuque

Address: 200 Main St, Dubuque, IA 52001-6942 (Formerly the Julien Inn)
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#1 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#2 Family Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range: £79 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Julien Dubuque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience this remarkable full service boutique hotel, offering the area's most elegant accommodations, cuisine and impeccable service. After a $30+ million complete renovation, the Hotel Julien Dubuque is now a true landmark of luxury and sophistication. The hotel's contemporary elegance and sumptuous comfort complement the grandeur of the historic Old Main District, which is home to many of the incredible sights and cultural experiences the region has to offer.Whatever journey brings you to the Hotel Julien Dubuque, we invite you to set aside a little time to take good care of yourself.Potosa Spa & fitness facility, located on the lower level of the Hotel Julien Dubuque, is the definition of an exceptional boutique hotel spa: Steeped in service, designed with tranquility in mind, true to the culture and history of the area, and restorative for mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Julien Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julien Hotel Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing