We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$95
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$97/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Dubuque(Dubuque)(Great Value!)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn Dubuque(Dubuque)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,576)
Filter reviews
2,577 results
Traveller rating
1,718
513
196
86
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,718
513
196
86
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hotelcaroline's restaurantriverboat loungepotosa spaal caponecapone suiteaveda productsmodern amenitieswithin walking distancewalk in showerthe rivermain streetdowntown areawedding receptionking suiteget awaydiamond jo casino
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 2,577 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This classic hotel, with its many retro touches, is still modern enough to have a Tesla charger and an electric car charger for guests. If you have an electric car, this is the place to stay in Dubuque. It was fun to stay in the hotel where Al Capone stayed when Chicago got too hot for him. Our large room was comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Hotel Julien Dubuque Valued Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque! We appreciate your kind words and five-star review. Please visit us in the summer too!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Sincerely,

Dwight Hopfauf
General Manager
Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I love staying at Hotel Julien. It is truly a special, lovely place! Check it out when you are in Dubuque. You won't regret it. The ambience is beautiful; the rooms are quiet and clean; the spa is amazing!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Hotel Julien Dubuque Valued Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque! We appreciate your kind words and five-star review. Please visit us in the summer too!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Sincerely,

Dwight Hopfauf
General Manager
Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Have stayed here about 5 times now and have love it. A beautiful renovated historical property that has great service and beautifully appointed and decorated rooms. Always spotless. Look forward to next time.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Hotel Julien Dubuque Valued Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque! We appreciate your kind words and five-star review. Please visit us in the summer too!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Sincerely,

Dwight Hopfauf
General Manager
Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for two nights at the Hotel Julien. I splurged a little and booked a two-room suite, since we were staying during mid-week and rates were lower.
My only three suggestions are:
1) If the air conditioner is on, room is quite cold. If AC is off, room feels stuffy. I am not sure what the hotel could do about this. The building is over 100 years old. However, it was a bit irritating.
2) Desk chair is quite low, compared to the desk. Because of my job, I have to do about 60 minutes of work every morning, and the low chair made that work a bit difficult. They should think about new chairs that are higher and more conducive to desk work.
3) Check in time was 4pm. We arrived at 4:15pm and were told our room was not ready. We walked around town for a while, came back at 5pm, and our room was still not ready. We sat in the lobby for several more minutes until our room was ready. If check-in is at 4pm, rooms should be ready at 4pm.
Otherwise, this is a grand hotel. It boasts loads of character, nice lobby, and good rooms. It has been the finest hotel in Dubuque for many years. If you can afford it, you should stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the east side would have river views. Our west-facing room had a decent view of downtown.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brewbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Got a great price for a wonderful one night stay- and thoroughly enjoyed the Hotel! Parking lot behind hotel- short walk and elevators with room key only which I like!
Helpful front desk who were professional and friendly! Loved all the wonderful places to sit and just enjoy a quiet afternoon- could have stayed another night!
Walking distance to downtown restaurants- coffee shops-
Bed was firm-bathroom clean and roomy- only wish is that rooms would have 2 luggage racks.
Very quiet and hope the hotel continues to cater to a professional crowd
Incredible room! Quality towels, and a nice refrigerator and real mugs for tea or coffee- it says a lot when a Hotel uses glass and ceramics and not cheesy disposable products!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BackRoadsUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Hotel Julien Dubuque Valued Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque! We appreciate your kind words and five-star review. Please visit us in the summer too!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Sincerely,

Dwight Hopfauf
General Manager
Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews