We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value on the West Side of Dubuque”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Dubuque
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Dodgeville
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Excellent value on the West Side of Dubuque”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The Fairfield by Marriott has many of the full service Marriott touches without the Marriott price.
For a very reasonable rate, one gets a well attended indoor pool and jacuzzi, a fitness room,
a full breakfast, and a variety of lobby amenities. If your business takes you to Dubuque, this hotel is a good value. The service at the desk, especially during evening check-in hours, was excellent.

Room Tip: If your dining taste includes Olive Garden, there is one next door, and the desk may have discount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul4ejjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    43
    27
    9
    6
See reviews for
43
37
6
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chehalis
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Hotel was clean and comfortable. Hotel staff was very friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. Even got us a fridge to keep our cheese in! The desk clerk that was working when we checked in was exceptionally nice! Good first impression of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richie1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Well, it's the only Marriott property in Dubuque, so if you have to stay locally, it's the only place to stay.

It is right beside an Olive Garden, so it's decent if you want to have something semi-decent to eat for dinner.

I found the bathroom quite gross (I found two large black hairs on my towels). I didn't bother complaining as I was there only the one night. The morning I was going to check-out the fire alarm went off (of course no fault of the hotel I'm assuming) at 7am in the morning, waking me up and disrupting my entire day as I couldn't ready for work properly. The morning "breakfast" definitely is that of a small town Fairfield Inn.

I do travel every week for work (110+ nights a year) and might recommend this hotel for the business traveler. (Only if you're a Marriott traveler and want your points).

Room Tip: I had my room right beside the Ice Maker (something I wouldn't expect being a Platinum member...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abastara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMIHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Abastara,
Thank you very much for your review of my hotel. Please accept my apologies that your stay was less than perfect. I am terribly sorry for any inconvenience the fire alarm caused you. Also, I am sorry about the towels, and will address your concerns with my housekeeping staff. I hope with our continued efforts to improve you will choose the Fairfield Inn Dubuque again the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,
Connie J.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookings, South Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

On US 20 and easy to find. Right next to Olive Garden resteraunt. Clean, pleasant, and comfortable environment. Freindly and helpful staff. It provided everything we needed for a nice stay. Clean swimming pool, and no chlorine smell in the hallway. It was cool and rainy, but the hotel was warm and comfortable.

Room Tip: The staff is very accomodating. They will probably arrange for anything you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobjan415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suburbs of Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We were in Galena for the weekend, but no hotels were available in Galena. So we booked here. It's only about 25 minutes away. Over all we thought it was a nice hotel, it's very centrally located to things to do, and it's right off the main road so you can't miss it as you come into town from Galena.

Pros -
Comfy beds, they were a bit soft on the edges, but the center was very comfortable.
Shower was nice and hot even after multiple showers in the morning.
The TV's have hook ups so you can watch a movie on your tablet or laptop
There is a pool and hot tub that are open until 12am!
The rooms had color other than White!
Pantene hair products if you forget yours

Cons -
We did not have a fridge or microwave, but we were fine without one this trip.
No safe in the room, or a closet where you could keep things out of sight.
Parking lot could be bigger, or better laid out. When we pulled in we watched someone spend a better part of 10 minutes try to back out of a parking spot that was super tight.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel4Fun31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, IN
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Never stayed at a Fairfield before but I found it very adequate. Got a room with a fridge and microwave. Pool was closed for repair. Usual good Marriott free hot breakfast included. Located right on major highway.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConnieHighland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creston, iowa
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is the second time our group of friends has stayed at the Fairfield Inn for a long weekend and we were not disappointed! The desk staff were so personable and helpful - Carolyn (who was so awersome the first time we stayed, we HAD to come back!), Sherri, Jessica and Dominique. They gave us excellent entertainment suggestions and always greeted us with a smile, whether we were coming or going! They all made us feel so at home - and the rooms were clean and had the best pillows!! The hot breakfast in the morning is great as well. Our group loves Dubuque, and will be back again - and will ALWAYS stay at this hotel ----- your Creston friends: Barb, Tim, Chris, Steve, Peg, Tony, Barb & Ron -- Go Hawks!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 283BarbaraK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#3 of 17 in Dubuque
2,184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
637 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
317 reviews
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Dubuque

Property: Fairfield Inn Dubuque
Address: 3400 Dodge St, Dubuque, IA 52003-5213
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Dubuque 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn Dubuque, Iowa is proud to provide the absolute best hospitality and guest service available in the city of Dubuque. Located next door to Kennedy Mall and only a short drive from Loras College, Clarke University, and Dubuque University, this Dubuque hotel is perfect for all travelers. A variety of Dubuque, Iowa restaurants are located within a few miles, including Catfish Charlies. There are plenty of things to do in Dubuque, Iowa if you're traveling on leisure. The Mississippi River Museum, Fenelon Place Elevator and the Field of Dreams movie location are all local favorites located nearby. Guests at our Dubuque hotel have access to free WiFi, premium cable, indoor heated pool, and a hot and hearty breakfast every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Dubuque
Dubuque Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing