We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Galena's Lot One bar restaurant knows who their customer is”
Review of Lot One

Lot One
Ranked #23 of 210 Restaurants in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
ofallon mo
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Galena's Lot One bar restaurant knows who their customer is”
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

We dined Friday sept 20th after trying to decide where to eat
We decided to park at our hotel and walk. So glad we chose Lot One. I ordered a vodka martini with big olives. Was told they had little ones which was ok. Now here is where an establishment goes above and beyond servicing customers. My martini came with big olives that one if the wait staff purchased just for me. I had two to celebrate customer service being alive and well at Lot One
The menu is sophisticated along with gourmet burgers
Very attentive and pretty location
Kudos to Lot One. Wish I lived closer than 6,5 hrs

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank binlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    33
    10
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Lenox, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food in a historic building.”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Great food and attentive server, but very slow in getting the food. Nice atmosphere in one of Dubuques many, many historic buildings.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank spiritrose101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Burger Baskets on Tuesday”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Yum! We go for the burger baskets on Tuesday nights. The price is right, the beer is cold and the western burger is fantastic. The service is hit & miss. They have food & drink specials every night that are worth checking out. We always have a good time!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Decent atmosphere, average food, poor service”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Ate here with a large group for an early dinner, 4:30/5pm. We had 11 people, but there was just a handful of others in the place this early for dinner.

It looked promising; the atmosphere is nice and well-decorated. We quickly found a place to sit (again it was super early). The waitress took our drink order quickly, but we had to go to the bar to catch her and order an appetizer. We were still waiting on a few people to arrive, but she didnt come back to check on drink orders or appetizers at all during that time. Even when the others showed up, we waited quite a while to order. After we ordered... we waited AN HOUR for our food to come out! This is just bar food: wraps and burgers. Nothing should have taken that long! We didnt order til close to 6pm and didnt get our food until 7pm!

1 upside: Even due to some custom requests the orders came out correctly. However, most of the burgers were overcooked and one of our party had a chicken wrap that had only a few small strips of chicken on it, mostly lettuce.

2 upside: Good variety with the menu selection. There was a lot to choose from including bison burgers which I love. But maybe they need to cut back on the choices if it's going to take that long to get out. DONT get the onion rings... they are horrible. Greasy and stringy.

The bathroom was gross. It was a single used by both men and women... so maybe men's bathrooms are typically that dirty and I was just not used to it. But again... 5pm on a Saturday! They should be clean and ready for the evening at that point.

Really, I would just stick to drinks at this place. Dont order food unless you have all night to wait.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This place needs a good cleaning”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We ate here doing the Julien International film festival. We sat down at the bar and two bartender/servers walked by us and didn't even acknowlege we were sitting there. Took over 15 minutes to get service with the OWNER sitting at the end of the bar drinking in the middle of the day. Food was average. Service sucked!!! took over 20 minutes to get my drink refilled and two bartenders looked RIGHT AT MY EMPTY GLASS. Bathroom looked and smelled like it hadn't been cleaned in a week. Will never go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Viva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lot One also viewed

 

Been to Lot One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing