We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic getaway!”
Review of Eco Venao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eco Venao
Ranked #1 of 1 Playa Venao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2013

EcoVenao offers the perfect place for a laid-back and fun getaway, as well as the opportunity to get out of Panama City and enjoy the beautiful Panamanian countryside. The resort has a wide range of sleeping options, appealing to all types of travelers / budgets. There is a very friendly and casual air to EcoVenao, which makes guests feel extremely welcomed and completely relaxed. Activities are really easy to schedule and there is something for everyone - we enjoyed surfing, yoga, horseback riding, massages and kayaking. The food is delicious as well, and the restaurant offers a wide range of options for each meal and / or snack - whenever / whatever you want!

Room Tip: We stayed 4 nights in La Casona which was very spacious and comfortable, and had a great view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura201309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
There are newer reviews for Eco Venao
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had 4 lovely nights at Eco Vanao. We were lucky to stay at the Mango house and it was a real treat after more than 2 months of travel. Owners Nico and Sarah are friendly, laid back and an all round nice couple who helped us whenever we needed anything.
The surf was good and board rental cheap.
My partner attended yoga classes and enjoyed the setting right on the beach.
All in all a very nice lush green bit of paradise on the beach.
The only tiny criticism I'd add is our tuna was over cooked in the restaurant. Tiny in the grand scheme of things.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

If you are looking for a comfortable and inviting place to spend a few days or a few weeks surfing some of the country's best waves (Playa Venao) then look no further. Eco Venao is hands down the most relaxing hostel I've experienced after living and traveling for over 4 years in Panama. Yes, the accommodations are rustic, but kept immaculately clean, and the food and drinks served up by the friendly restaurant staff are both delicious and affordable. There is also a game room with a foosball table (needs a bit of TLC, red team is down two crucial players) and ping pong table to pass the sometimes long hours waiting for the tides to change. They also offer surf board rentals at 1/2 the price of the other places located on the beach. Definitely stay at Eco Venao!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My wife and I went to EcoVenao a few nights ago just to camp for the night as we were just passing by. Can't say much about the rooms or the installations because we got there at 9:30pm and left early in the morning.

The camping area was very clean and the breeze was very nice. At night we shared beers with other guests and enjoyed the company of howling monkeys. Next morning, we woke up to a pretty bad storm and to the song of the howling monkeys - it was awesome!

The staff was very friendly, and the dorm room looked nice from the outside (never actually walked in as there were people sleeping - you gotta respect their space!).

There were two full grown beautiful cats wondering around, very friendly. Personally, it felt good since I have two little cats at home that I was missing. :3

All in all, I can't give it more than 4 stars because I haven't fully experienced everything there. I'd love to return and stay there for a few days next time!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark_Sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We ended up here after great reviews from fellow travelers. They were all right, this surely was a piece of paradise. Beautiful Survivor-esque beach with coconuts in the trees, nice hiking trail with waterfalls, monkeys in the trees eating mangoes all day. Yoga and surfing classes available as well as horseback riding. The accommodations are basic but clean, and not expensive. The restaurant served some of the best food in the area. Although not very cheap and there aint many other options in the area, still it was a pleasure to eat there every time. Staff was friendly and the place idyllic....I miss it already!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelson D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Everything about Eco Venao is wonderful: its natural beauty, various accommodations (beautifully done!), and people. We stayed at Eco Venao for a week, first in la Casita 2, then in Mango House. Both were beautiful and both had a view of the ocean. The manager, Nico, suggested we switch to Mango House because it has a large, well equipped kitchen and we wanted to prepare some of our meals. It was perfect for us. La Casita is lovely though, if you like a particularly quiet, peaceful setting. Everyone at Eco Venao, from the reception staff to the cleaning personnel is genuinely friendly and helpful. The food at the restaurant is very good and reasonably priced ($10-15 for an excellent dinner). Eco Venao is a favored destination for surfers, but it has lots to offer for non-surfers as well. The beach is rugged and beautiful, but if you don't like waves, there is a beach without waves within walking distance (about 40 minutes) - a quiet spot great for swimming. I wholeheartedly recommend Eco Venao.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corinna301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I found Eco Venao on Google Earth of all places and after looking at their website and calling the friendly english speaking employees there I booked two nights at one of their "cabanas". The one we stayed in was on top of the hill and had great views, wildlife and the architecture of the place was really pleasant. If you have a group of folks and need two or more rooms this is a great way to go and you have almost 100% privacy.

They have a private beach access area that is across the street and is far enough away from the pounding surf that the noise is pleasant, not annoying at all. They have horses that you can take out on the beach inexpensively and enjoy them without a "required" guide like so many other places in the world.

The restaurant on premise is very good although they don't offer alot of selection the ambiance and quality of the food is top notch for the price range, service is perfect.

The facilities they have there cater to all walks of life and different price ranges. Everyone gets to enjoy it all the same. I've stayed in some of the nicer hotels and resorts in the world but this place is special. Playa Venao is special, and a visit to the bay at Playacita resort down the road is well worth the entrance fees.

I will stay at Eco Venao again and can recommend it to anyone no matter their price range. This is an eco resort and there is wildlife all around. If you don't like that then you may not be considering the right place. The only downside is biting knats can be an issue if you don't have bug spray. Despite the occassional bug bite though, the place as almost magical.

I really look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: They have hostel space for $11 a night up to $300 a night houses. There is something to accomodate...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heath J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Venao
9.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Romana
Hotel Villa Romana
#3 of 7 in Pedasi
328 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beach Break Surf Camp and Hotel Playa Venao
0.7 mi away
El Sitio Playa Venao
El Sitio Playa Venao
#1 of 4 in Playa Venao
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Playa Venao Hotel Resort
1.2 mi away
Villa Marina Lodge
Villa Marina Lodge
#3 of 4 in Playa Venao
77 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Playita Resort
La Playita Resort
#4 of 4 in Playa Venao
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco Venao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco Venao

Address: Carretera Principal | Playa Venao, Playa Venao, Pedasi 0000, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Los Santos Province > Pedasi > Playa Venao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Venao
Price Range: £27 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Eco Venao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eco Venao Hotel Pedasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing