We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A simple,rustic retreat, with a good restaurant, very close the beach”
Review of Eco Venao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eco Venao
Ranked #1 of 1 Playa Venao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boquete, Panama
1 review
“A simple,rustic retreat, with a good restaurant, very close the beach”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

With a variety of room choices,a good, affordable restaurant on the premises, and lots of activities,this is an ideal place for a an eco escape.
Also, please note that in Pedasi, 30 minutes away, the beach is a nesting site for the Green Sea Turtle and there is a local volunteer organization which monitors the beach several nights a week
checking on nests and hatchlings during the months of May through November.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beth a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    63
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
47
84
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Eco Venao was one of the best places we stayed while in Panama. We did not have reservations, so we moved around the property a bit. This was fine with us because we got a tour of all the rooms. Our first room was a private next to the dorm. Nice wood interiors and easy walking distance to their yummy restaurant, which served the best food in Venao hands down. Next, we went up the hill to a duplex sort of setup. This again was great! Clean, comfy, stylish. Lastly, we went further up the hill to our own house. An architect with a lot of style designed it and we LOVED it! We had lots of privacy and our kitchen, hammock, chill out space. The staff was exceptionally helpful. The restaurant was the highlight because it served more than just the usual fried foods found in Panama. You could tell that lots of love went into the dishes. Thanks again for an excellent stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CosmicBennyLopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

This place was so special and I feel fortunate to have gotten to stay here. There is an assortment of lodging available here to satisfy every budget and lifestyle. We stayed in La Casona which was a fully furnished 2 bedroom house, 2 1/2 bath, dining room and kitchen! It overlooks the ocean and the views are fantastic as are all the beautiful flowers, plants and trails; one trail includes a beautiful waterfall. We had the company of monkeys, iguanas, and beautiful birds which greeted us everyday.
The food and service at the restaurant were great as well and the beach was one of the best I've experienced on my trip so far! Everyone we encountered was helpful and had a smile on their face. Words simply can't describe how wonderful this place is. If you have the opportunity to stay here don't pass it up!!!!
AlaskaCheryl

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaCheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Friendly staff and great location close to the beach and close to nature. Lots of activities too- surfing, yoga, lounging on the beach. Perfect for a quiet getaway. Their restaurant had some of the best food I ate in Panama, hands down. The only small criticism is that although I didn't experience many mosquitos while at EcoVenao, there were a number of strange insects in my room but no mosquito net. I think considering EcoVenao's proximity to the surrounding forest, rooms should have mosquito nets over the bed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMatt415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2013

EcoVenao offers the perfect place for a laid-back and fun getaway, as well as the opportunity to get out of Panama City and enjoy the beautiful Panamanian countryside. The resort has a wide range of sleeping options, appealing to all types of travelers / budgets. There is a very friendly and casual air to EcoVenao, which makes guests feel extremely welcomed and completely relaxed. Activities are really easy to schedule and there is something for everyone - we enjoyed surfing, yoga, horseback riding, massages and kayaking. The food is delicious as well, and the restaurant offers a wide range of options for each meal and / or snack - whenever / whatever you want!

Room Tip: We stayed 4 nights in La Casona which was very spacious and comfortable, and had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura201309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had 4 lovely nights at Eco Vanao. We were lucky to stay at the Mango house and it was a real treat after more than 2 months of travel. Owners Nico and Sarah are friendly, laid back and an all round nice couple who helped us whenever we needed anything.
The surf was good and board rental cheap.
My partner attended yoga classes and enjoyed the setting right on the beach.
All in all a very nice lush green bit of paradise on the beach.
The only tiny criticism I'd add is our tuna was over cooked in the restaurant. Tiny in the grand scheme of things.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedasi, Panama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2013

If you are looking for a comfortable and inviting place to spend a few days or a few weeks surfing some of the country's best waves (Playa Venao) then look no further. Eco Venao is hands down the most relaxing hostel I've experienced after living and traveling for over 4 years in Panama. Yes, the accommodations are rustic, but kept immaculately clean, and the food and drinks served up by the friendly restaurant staff are both delicious and affordable. There is also a game room with a foosball table (needs a bit of TLC, red team is down two crucial players) and ping pong table to pass the sometimes long hours waiting for the tides to change. They also offer surf board rentals at 1/2 the price of the other places located on the beach. Definitely stay at Eco Venao!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Venao
0.2 mi away
El Sitio Playa Venao
El Sitio Playa Venao
#1 of 4 in Playa Venao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Break Surf Camp and Hotel Playa Venao
9.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Romana
Hotel Villa Romana
#2 of 7 in Pedasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Playa Venao Hotel Resort
0.7 mi away
Villa Marina Lodge
Villa Marina Lodge
#3 of 4 in Playa Venao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hostel Venao Cove
Hostel Venao Cove
#1 of 4 in Playa Venao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco Venao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco Venao

Property: Eco Venao
Address: Carretera Principal | Playa Venao, Playa Venao, Pedasi 0000, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Los Santos Province > Pedasi > Playa Venao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Venao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Eco Venao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eco Venao Hotel Pedasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing