We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostel Venao Cove(Playa Venao)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$50
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Selina Playa Venao(Playa Venao)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$33
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$32
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eco Venao(Playa Venao)(Great Value!)
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
El Sitio Playa Venao(Playa Venao)(Great Value!)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Romana(Pedasi)(Great Value!)
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 05/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
37
30
8
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
30
8
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall hotelbreakfast was includednice breakfastgreat boutiquestayed one nightthe air conditioningother hotelsswimming poolpedasipanamaoceanbeachmaintenancedevelopmentvenaoparrotssurfers
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2016

9 room hotel with own restaurant and a reasonably large fresh water pool.
Two of the rooms are part of the main building adjoining the reception area and one with windows opening onto the breakfast and dining terrace. I don't think I would have been happy with either of these.
The best rooms are probably nrs 6..9. These are spacious with a veranda leading directly onto a long immaculate beach in a protected bay ideal for swimming. Spectacular sunsets.
Having a ceiling fan in the room means you can stay cool without the air conditioning on.
Breakfast was a bit disorganised - it was never entirely clear what was on offer and the coffee was served far too late but all in all it was satisfactory. A written menu would have helped.
The young manager tried very hard to make our stay as pleasant as possible by cajoling his staff into some semblance of activity. To some extent these intentions were thwarted by Panamanian sloth - getting good staff is of course the bane of any enterprise.
Things get done but perhaps not at the tempo you might expect so this place is not for the impatient. But great for relaxing - the location is first class.
Apparently the hotel is normally booked out over the weekend so my tip would be to stay mid-week.
It is possible to reach the hotel by bus. Take the bus from Las Tablas to Cañas. If you tell the driver where you are staying the bus will take you directly to the hotel entrance - what a service and for a mere $4 pp for a two hour trip. Alternatively a taxi to Padasi will cost $25.

Room Tip: As I wrote in the review, try and get rooms 5 thru 9 and avoid 1 and 2.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AhlanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2016

Five plus hours drive from Panam City, all you need to have with you is love, and a good book or two. Okay, you will also need some easy cloth to change, tooth brush and few essential stuff. Expect to arrive to your second home, ( too bad we do not own this property) it is situated right in front of the water, it is a small only 9 rooms lodge, basic, clean, functional, though it does not come with the standard industry rating of 5 stars, the service and location turns it into a 10 stars. It is real, not artificial, it is the most genuine place I have come a crossed in a very long time. Beside the architecture of the place with it's simplicity that is so inviting and create this sense of home, you will feel that warmth through the care of the entire stuff. Phillip( the manager ) impressed us with his work ethics, respect, passion, love for the place and the people that comes to stay there. We felt as if he is hosting us in his own home, at first we thought he is the owner son. No one that We know will take care of a property and guests the way Phillip does, and he does not even have ownership in the place. Normally when something is yours there is so much pride, respect and joy that you work so hard to keep it, after all it's yours. I suggest the owner to give Phillip a reason to stay, make him a partner that is the only way I can see him stay!!!!! You can only win from that decision,he young and has so many dreams for this place, I can see the property becoming a yoga destination and a repeat visit for so many guests. Phillip has so much love for this place and it's not even his, and we fealt that during our stay, he managed the entire team that works with him with so much harmony, and respect they all work together, it takes quite the leadership ......and it's amazing to see this quality in a youg individual he is only 26 years old. That gave us such a comfort and joy, and a stress free Environment. Bottom line, if you are thinking of visiting Panama and would like to go to a place where you can unwind, nothing fancy but real, a beautiful place with no make up just a natural beauty, than this is your place you will not regret!!!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dvora L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Me and a team of friends – from all over the world – all well traveled - came to Playa Venao during holiday and stayed at the Villa Marina Lodge. It was an Oasis. Even as there were many beautiful things to do, see and tour available to us in the area, all we wanted to do was float from their relaxing pool to the ocean that was steps away and back. There is this great little game room available to all and a hammock where I believe each of us took naps. Being at the Village Marina was more like being at a friends home. The staff was so kind and friendly and attentive. One afternoon, one of the staff members even brought to our group a basket of baby bunnies he found that we could play with and hold. It was so special! The breakfast in the morning is wonderful and the dining arrangement, again, makes you feel as if you are as comfortable as if you are at someone’s (very large) home. If you come to Playa Venao or Pedasi, do yourself a favor and stay here. I rarely (if ever) write reviews, but would like to see as many people as possible enjoy it. We will be back! A total recharge and treat for a great price! Ask for Philip.. He is a rockstar and super helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Olivia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2015 via mobile

My favorite place after living 1,5 years in Panama / El mejor lugar después un año y media en Panamá. After traveling to all corners of Panama I finally found my favorite place to hang out during the weekend or during one week of holidays. The lodge gives you that very European feeling that is hard to find in a Country that favors luxury and expensive cars above class. The typical finca / lodge style hotel was build 14 years ago, but it gives you the feeling it's been in Playa Venao for a century. Try the surf lessons at the neighbor (Selina) and you'll find the peace and quite place you need once in a while. Philipp is too good for Panama, but simply loves living here and who can blame him. He runs the place with passion and experience not frequently seen for a young lad of 26. Disfruta!

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2015 via mobile

Villa Marina has the perfect location on the end of a beautiful beach...it feels like you have it to yourself. The stone infinity pool was lovely. The service (Phillip) was great. The food (breakfast, and we enjoyed one dinner) was delicious.

Our room (#5) had double doors that opened to a porch facing the beach. Although there were other guests, we felt like we were at our own little private retreat.

But there were so many little things that were missing when you are paying over $200 a night. One of the beach facing double doors was painted shut. We had no hot water. The room safe didn't work. The floor tile of the shower had a huge stain. There was no hair dryer. The painting was sloppy, and certain tables were uneven. The whole place just needed TLC.

Since this is all being redeveloped as a condo/hotel development sometime in 2015, I think the intent is to make as much per room as possible while spending as little as possible on upkeep since it's going away anyway.

I'm torn on the whole thing-- the entire beach and the historical charm of the Villa Marina property will soon be lost. So I am happy I got to see it now. But for the price paid, it could and should have been that much more.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Sojourners2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews