We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Get Away!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quiet Walker Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Quiet Walker Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Durango B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Solon, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Get Away!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

My husband & I visited Quiet Walker in late November for a quick night away. Our room was very clean & spacious!! We got a couples massage(my husband's first time) and It was the best massage I've EVER had!! My husband who was unsure about getting a massage really enjoyed it! John & Deb were great with helping us pick somewhere in the area to eat dinner. Their recommendation where to go was exactly what we were looking for! They made us feel right at home from the minute we walked in to the lodge!!! We will definately go back when we have another free weekend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    6
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
76
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

My review is overdue, but I must commend this place for being so accomodating to my wife and I when we celebrated our honeymoon there. Because of a farming schedule that couldn't be changed, we were three days late to arrive at this B &B. I had chosen this place because it was in the country, I'd read that it was quiet, but yet it was close to Dubuque so we could enjoy the restaurants and tourist spots there. It was also close enough to a bike trail that we could drive there and bike for the day.

The inn master was gracious enough to allow us to stay on different nights, and gave us a gift certificate to use for the additional night's stay that I had purchased but was unable to use that week because of the change in our schedule.

The breakfast was excellent, scenery absolutely breathtaking driving in on Highway 3 and also on the gravel road leading to the lodge. the room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I came to celebrate our one year anniversary. We were very happy with our room and how beautiful everything was! John and Deb were wonderful! They made an amazing breakfast which will not soon be forgotten. Our couples massages after breakfast were relaxing and made our stay even better!
Our only complaint is being woken up VERY early in the morning by the owners above us. It sounded as though they were rearranging furniture or doing some kind of construction. We were the only couple in the building we were staying in, other than the owners, so we were expecting a quiet night and morning. If that had not happened I would have given our stay a perfect rating. We would like to come back next year, but might try a room in the other building.
John and Deb, thank you for an amazing time! You both made our stay a memorable one.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kkelley2930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QWL, Owner at Quiet Walker Lodge, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
We are sorry our guest was awaken early. We do not know what the noise was that she heard as we, the owners, were asleep until 8AM. It could have been the furnace turning on or the cat jumping off the bed. But we are not sure what it was as we slept through it. We have bought a bed runner to deaden the noise if the cat jumps off the bed onto the floor.We did give our guest a discount for the inconvenience and we regret that it occurred.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscatine, Iowa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Our 21st anniversary will be the best we ever had so far as we spent it at the Quiet Walker Lodge. Traveling out into the countryside, up into the woods to the most beautiful spot in Iowa I have ever seen. Secluded by trees you come around the corner to see the beautiful lodge. We were met in the parking lot by John, one of the innkeepers, who knew us by name and took us to our room then on a tour of the lodge. We stayed in the fluer-de-les room which was cozy with a fireplace, a heart shaped whirlpool bath, and a comfortable bed. The view from the room was breathtaking with a view of the woods. We were greeted in the morning both days with a wonderfully delicious meal and conversations with John and Deb. They really seemed to care about what we had done the day before and had many suggestions on where to eat and what sights to go see. We took their suggestions and had a great weekend. We will be going back in the spring to stay again and will tell everyone we know about the wonderful time we had and suggest they stay there too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bettendorf
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

As experienced B&B lodgers, we found QWL to be exceptional in most every way, particularly spectacular were the charismatic B&B Hosts, Jon & Deb-unyielding in their consideration for their guests. If it's rest & solitude you crave-they were accommodating. If you are a bit more on the social side they had that covered as well. (Just fun people to be around!) Either way they took time to address your needs, whether it be dietary, entertainment, sundries, ect. (AND they made their work seem effortless-always remaining pleasant) The breakfasts were AMAZING-not only in appearance, in taste as well (A+++). The lodge itself was clean, cared for and the soaps/shampoos/bath salts were a warm, welcoming added touch-someone knows what they're doing in the customer service department for sure! We (and the couple we were traveling with), will be back very soon and would recommend the lodge as it now to everyone. We truly had an awesome experience!

Room Tip: We went wild for the original lodge-based on privacy & ambience. Seemed like sound-proof rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jnjgoldsberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ham Lake, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Very private and relaxing property. We spent out 10 year anniversary in the Sleeping Bear Room and also opted for the Hibernation package. Both were excellent decisions. We enjoyed a personal sitting area where we were served a personal breakfast by the best inn keepers you will find. During our two night stay we had a romantic dinner in Dubuque, then came back to the lodge for an evening campfire on the patio. The next morning we headed off to experience the Barrel Head winery tasting room. The no-cost tasting of the International Award Winning wines and champagnes kept us busy for the majority of the afternoon. For our final evening we enjoyed a fantastic rib dinner at a local establishment. It was a very memorable anniversary and worth the 5+ hour drive. Highly recommended get-away!!

Room Tip: Rest and Relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anderj66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Our first stay at the Quiet Walker Lodge will not be our last. This is a beautiful wooded location not far from Dubuque. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. The innkeepers- John and Deb make you feel at home and serve a wonderful breakfast. We enjoyed taking walks around the area, visiting the local wineries and relaxing with massage right at the lodge. We are already planning our return visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MNpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durango
9.2 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,000 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
3.7 mi away
Black Horse Inn
Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Sherrill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
7.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
9.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#8 of 17 in Dubuque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quiet Walker Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quiet Walker Lodge

Property: Quiet Walker Lodge
Address: 18132 Paradise Valley Rd, Durango, IA 52039-3201
Region: United States > Iowa > Durango
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A special place awaits you as you drive up to the beautiful grounds of Quiet Walker Lodge. Nestled in the woods of the Mississippi River Valley is the lodge where the peacefulness of the countryside will relax and unwind you. The lodge has nine themed suites with private baths. Suites have whirlpool or garden tubs. The Wakatanka House is native american decor and features zoning, whirlpool tubs, indoor solarium and Koi pond and fantastic views. Also a beautiful songbird garfden. After a restful night sleep you can dine in the main lodge on a hearty breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing