We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't pass this opportunity up”
Review of Quiet Walker Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Quiet Walker Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Durango B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Kathy greeted us at our car with a by name welcome and set the entire tone for our honeymoon stay with them. Phil's breakfasts are beyond amazing and their interaction with their guests can beat be described as like we were family. We LOVED every aspect of our stay from the beautiful scenic views to the laughter shared with Jim & Linda and Phil & Kathy. These are great people with a fabulous place that they all 4 take pride in. This was the first of many stays we will have with Quiet Walker Lodge.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkandLaurie061414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QWL, Innkeepers at Quiet Walker Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

The pleasure was certainly all ours! Congrats on your wedding! Love was like a halo over you two!
Good Luck!

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for Quiet Walker Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

We were there as part of a wedding party. Our room was beautiful and exceptionally clean. Every room has a hot tub, small refrigerator and microwave.The staff service was outstanding, warm, friendly and couldn't do enough for us all.The breakfasts were exceptional and the location to eat was just like home. The grounds as been said were stunning. My wife and I reveled sitting outside toward the end of day and enjoying the woodsy natural beauty and the quiet only to be interrupted by the chirping of birds. It is a wonderful location. I would equate it to a five star facility. Note: free cookies in the room. Off the beaten path so to speak but more than worth the drive.

Room Tip: Ever who you would speak with will work with you for any needs. That was our experience.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QWL, Innkeepers at Quiet Walker Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you! We loved having you here and it was wonderful to chat with some folks from back home. Your family is lovely and it was definitely our pleasure!

Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed after a wedding and it was so wonderful! The food was delicious and the lodging was amazing. The entire staff were stupendous! While we there for a wedding, it was like a honeymoon for my husband and I too!

Room Tip: There is no bad room in the place.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QWL, Innkeepers at Quiet Walker Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We so appreciate it! It was a fun week-end and our pleasure meeting both of you. Warm Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Wonderful stay
Very very clean
Great hosts
Not easy to find though call and get address for your gps
All rooms have hot tub
Koi pond on the property
Good place for a small group
Free cookies in the room upon arrival
Secluded woodsy setting

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pattycakesone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QWL, Innkeepers at Quiet Walker Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! It was great having the wedding party here. Who knew a tow truck would come out at 1:30 AM! A story we have told over & over as a fond memory. Have a great summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We went there for a wedding party and rented out all nine rooms. Every room was beautiful, the grounds stunning and the breakfasts top notch. Sort of hard to find, but a very pretty, woodsy setting. Good value for the money. And, all
rooms have a hot tub.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NashvilleBarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QWL, Innkeepers at Quiet Walker Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thanks so much for the kinds words. We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves after a "long" day of travel! We are secluded which throws the GPS off but are glad the stay makes it worth it. Have a nice summer down south!

Phill and Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

quiet, luxirious, beautiful, friendly owners and keepers, fantastic breakfast. within minutes of Dubuque you can plan for a very beautiful, quiet yet funfilled getaway!!!! cannot wait to go back!!!! I felt like the inn keepers would do anything for you.

Room Tip: pay extra for the wakatonka lodge rooms because they are new and very nice and a lil more private. b...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJMarple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QWL, Innkeepers at Quiet Walker Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad we made a special day even more so. We love taking care of our guests! Have a great summer & hope to see you again!

Phill and Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My husband and I just stayed here last weekend for our 30th Anniversary and loved it. Phil and Kay are wonderful hosts and Chef Phil is a fantastic cook. We were very well taken care of. It was so peaceful and quiet. There are birds of all kinds to see and listen to as well as the deer and other animals in the area. Kathy made fresh cookies and had them in our room each day. We will definitely go back! The Sleeping Bear Den is the loft room and we had our own private sitting area as well as breakfast delivered if we wanted.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkpanknen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QWL, Innkeepers at Quiet Walker Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you so much! We still can't believe you two have been married 30 years! So glad you enjoyed yourselves and the little piece of heaven here. It was definitely our pleasure! See you again!

Enjoy your summer!

Phill and Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durango
8.5 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
2,278 reviews
22.4 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
19.9 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
20.8 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
868 reviews
3.2 mi away
Black Horse Inn
Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Sherrill
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quiet Walker Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quiet Walker Lodge

Address: 18132 Paradise Valley Rd, Durango, IA 52039-3201
Region: United States > Iowa > Durango
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Durango
Price Range: £81 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A special place awaits you as you drive up to the beautiful grounds of Quiet Walker Lodge. Nestled in the woods of the Mississippi River Valley is the lodge where the peacefulness of the countryside will relax and unwind you. The lodge has nine themed suites with private baths. Suites have whirlpool or garden tubs. The Wakatanka House is native American decor and features zoning, whirlpool tubs, indoor solarium and Koi pond and fantastic views. Also a beautiful songbird garden. After a restful night sleep you can dine in the main lodge on a hearty breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing