We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very old and needs more attention.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colonial Inn Dyersville

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Colonial Inn Dyersville
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dyersville
Mabank, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very old and needs more attention.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

My husband chose the hotel from online pictures and because the Super 8 was booked. We got a king bed room that smelled musty but was clean (except for the black mold on the bottom few inches of the shower curtain).Our bed was old, but clean, the carpet was clean, and we had upright kitchen chairs to sit on. There was only one nightstand, so I used one of the chairs for a nightstand on my side. There was a fridge, microwave, and a tv.
Our travelling companions weren't so lucky. One of their rooms was smoky (even though the sign on their door designated it as a non-smoking room) and musty, had a recliner so stained no one would sit on it or even lay clothes on it, and mold on the grout in the shower. She drove to Shopko and bought spray Lysol and chose to disinfect the room and stay in it. The other room had a similar chair, mold in the shower, smoke/musty smell, and a hole in the wall where the AC unit had been repaired. She changed to another room and borrowed the Lysol and so managed to stay there.
We were embarrassed because our travelling companions didn't want to stay there. My husband and I felt that for $50 a night; it was nice enough. We wouldn't book there again, unless travelling by ourselves.
If the management would air the rooms out when not in use, switch to wood and vinyl chairs that can be wiped down, and bleach the bathroom showers after each guest; the hotel would get better reviews.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    3
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
11
3
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

For $50 if you expect more than a safe place to sleep, you are expecting too much. Check in/out was easy, coffee available in the morning, first floor room, with microwave and fridge. Bed was hard but I slept well. Internet was spotty at best, but McDonald's is a short walk.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank solonomad42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burkesville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

I stayed here for four weeks while doing contractor work in the area.
Pros: very cheap weekly rates, the nicest managers of any motel I have ever stayed before, cable and internet, clean rooms, "Anytime Fitness" right across the street-they do offer a one week/month membership, hardware/everything else you need store next to motel, "Fairway" food store across the street. We never went to a restaurant, got food from Fairway and fired up the grill. Laundry room at the motel is nice.
Cons- Nothing really to complain about. Sure the place looks old and the rooms are not modern but so what. Its a good bed, clean room and hot shower. I would stay here again if I was in the area, by myself or with the family.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MTT2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

We have stayed here several times for bike trips over to the Mississippi River. Not needing anything elaborate, it is a nice, clean, friendly place to stay. Economical, and comfortable, we loved it. Ignore the bad reviews, I would say these people didn't do their homework OR were expecting something a chain might offer. Clean, comfy, a place to lay your head and stay comfortably.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janesadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Council Bluffs
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We could not find a room in Dubuque so found a room here. There is no pool or work out area, but if those are not needed....this is a VERY clean place to stay. The manager goes out of his way to help you with anything you need. The breakfast is very basic, but for the price of the room, was fine. We would definitely stay here again. There are a number of neat things to see in Dyersville, so ended up being a very pleasant stay. There also is a great restraunt with wonderful home made pie just down the street.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CouncilBluffsTammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

This motel is a real authentic piece of Americanna! I would ignore the whiners prior to me. The price is extraordinary, and no one has any reason to complain. It more than delivers at that price. I have stayed at the Super 8 and the Comfort Inn in Dyersville, and this place in my opinion is better than the Super 8 and the Comfort Inn is better but at almost 4 times the price. What I want when I travel is a room that's clean, safe and has a bed that lets me get a good night's sleep. This hotel does it with a charm from the '60s. People who whine about the quality of breakfasts, etc., need to go pay 2-3 times more somewhere and shut up. I mean, really, what do you expect from a lower-priced establishment? Cheapskates seem to complain the most :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Blue_Grass_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

This place while fairly old, was a decent place to stay. The room was simple, yet clean and comfortable.

I only had one problem. At breakfast I asked the lady in charge for some Orange Juice as it was not in the fridge in the breakfast room. She said she would get some for me.

She went upstairs and several minutes later brought me the juice. When I tasted it, it tasted strange, quite bitter - in hindsight I think it had gone off. Anyway an hour later I was in Dubuque and I ended up vomiting in some bushes. I stayed sick the whole day and night as I drove to Chicago. I could not remember the last time that I vomited, but in this case it was clearly the bad orange juice that did it to me.

Stay away from the breakfast room and the stay will be OK, but the owners should be aware that old food and drink can cause food poisoning.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilUSA2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dyersville
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 3 in Dyersville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
18.7 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites Monticello
13.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Peosta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Dyersville
Super 8 Dyersville
#2 of 3 in Dyersville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
18.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Manchester
8.5 mi away
No photo provided
U.S. 20 Lodging
#1 of 1 in Earlville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Inn Dyersville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Inn Dyersville

Property: Colonial Inn Dyersville
Address: 1110 9th St SE, Dyersville, IA 52040-2309
Region: United States > Iowa > Dyersville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dyersville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Inn Dyersville 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Colonial Inn Dyersville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing