We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fort Dodge
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Fort Dodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here for one night and the rooms were big and clean. Clean building overall. Service was pleasant and the hotel was pretty quiet for being busy. Ft. Dodge is a small town, so the location was as good as any there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manwithmoviecamera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    46
    20
    4
    7
See reviews for
63
15
3
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manteno, IL
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights while in town for a funeral. Our extended family booked three rooms and were were looking forward to relaxing at the pool on our final night. We arrived to find the pool packed with people, coolers and lawn chairs at what appeared to be a child's birthday party. After inquiring at the front desk we were assured that they do not rent out their facilities for parties. We waited for almost an hour for the pool to clear during which time a staff member did go in and break up the party. From the looks of things, the father of the birthday girl was not pleased and complained at the front desk, but guests packed up and headed out. Other than that the hotel was comfy and staff nice. I would stay again as long as the pool was for guests only.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollyJepsen, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fort Dodge, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send this review. I am sorry about the situation during your stay with us. As you stated the staff did take action once we were aware of the party we were not asked or informed about. I am sorry you had to wait for them to leave, but am hopeful the rest of your evening was relaxing. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We've stayed here several times while in Fort Dodge visiting our son and will return again. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was clean, beds average. Nice to have a refrigerator and microwave in room.Breakfast average for Country Inn, one day staff was busy talking at front desk and very slow to refill, but other days was fine. Price same as most other hotels in the area. Located in a convenient to find spot, close to the "strip" of restaurants.Haven't used the pool or exercise areas, but there have been people in each while we've been there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familytraveler812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollyJepsen, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fort Dodge, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Grove, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

For most of May & June I traveled weekly back & forth between my home and my office till I was able to move. I stayed here 2x during the month of June and it was quite nice. Overall service was pleasant and the rooms were great. I booked the king standard room which was a decent size to comfortably move around. Rooms included a microwave and a dorm-sized refrigerator which helped with keep expenses down on meals. Will stay here again or recommend it to others!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetCat73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

First time here on a business trip. Rooms were comfortable, warm, and clean. Breakfast was good. The staff were courteous and prompt. I usually stay in Hilton's and Marriott chains and was pleasantly surprised with this country gem. Already booked here again for my return, this time for a 2 month stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DitaEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The staff at Country Inn always make us feel very welcome. There's nothing like a cozy lobby, sincerely friendly smiles and helpful local advice to make a stay enjoyable. Leanna, Holly, and Jason make a great desk team. Each room was clean and neat. Refrigerators, microwaves, and fast wi fi are welcome perks, and the pool is beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
455 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

We have had an annual Thanksgiving gathering in Ft Dodge for the last 13 yrs. After trial and error at the other hotels in FD the rest of the group settled on this hotel and have stayed here for at least the last 10 yrs. The hotel is clean and neat--it got a makeover in recent years and now has updated linens. The pool area is clean as well, not huge but perfectly fine for us. Breakfast is hot and plentiful. What really sets them apart however is the staff--they are SO friendly! Some of us stay at my parents' house, and the staff doesn't blink an eye when we go over to the hotel to swim with the rest of our family. All in all this is a reliably great hotel--the best in FD for sure!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Coby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Dodge hotels
0.7 mi away
Cobblestone Inn & Suites
Cobblestone Inn & Suites
#1 of 11 in Fort Dodge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fort Dodge
3.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Fort Dodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Fort Dodge IA
Super 8 Fort Dodge IA
#4 of 11 in Fort Dodge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites Fort Dodge
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn Fort Dodge
Quality Inn Fort Dodge
#7 of 11 in Fort Dodge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fort Dodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fort Dodge

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fort Dodge
Address: 3259 5th Ave S, Fort Dodge, IA 50501-6403
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Fort Dodge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Fort Dodge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fort Dodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fort Dodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Fort Dodge
Fort Dodge Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing