We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Southeastern Iowa Epicure”
Review of Ivy Bake Shoppe & Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ivy Bake Shoppe & Cafe
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating
Hamilton, IL
1 review
“Southeastern Iowa Epicure”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

The Ivy Bake Shoppe made our 2012 “Dozen Restaurants to try” list. Much to our chagrin, we have lived but 22 miles away for three years and we hadn’t sampled their fare until earlier this year.

Sue and her team present outstandingly friendly, patient and prompt service every time. From our fist visit, they won us over. Their fresh-made food and in-house baked goods draw us back about every other Saturday. They produce desserts so tasty that we find it difficult to leave with just one each. And a full dessert portion is typically less than the price of one cupcake at one of those transient trendy bakeries.

Their breakfast and lunch menus offer limited daily specials which are found listed on the chalkboard at the right end of the ordering counter. They are open once each week for dinner and occasionally for special dates.

When they are not serving, attending to customers or preparing food, the team seems to be constantly cleaning. The restaurant is located in an historic building in downtown Fort Madison. (Please note that the Tripadvisor picture shown is that of their Burlington, IA location, inside an auto dealership. The Fort Madison location has the better character.) Indoor and screened outdoor seating is typically available. We have always been able to find seating but have noticed that more by-way travelers and tour groups have discovered the Ivy Bake Shoppe. We do hope that the extra attention does their business well but that they retain their homey, small-town appeal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    8
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Burlington, Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“MMMMM good”
Reviewed 17 December 2012

I love going here. It is in a car dealership. The food is made to order and fresh. They make their own desserts and goodies and they are to die for, they are so very rich and delicoious.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank oma52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“I love this place!!”
Reviewed 27 October 2012

If you like a nice quaint place that has a wonderful reputation for great food and homemade desserts, this is the place! Everytime I visit Ft.Madison, I spend the majority of my eating at the Ivy Bake shop. The owners have a location in Burlington, IA, also, it is so nice to have a nice place that everyone gathers from the town and you catch up on the news. No one is a stranger and they always enjoy a good conversation. If you are ever in Ft.Madison, stop by the Ivy for lunch, or coffee and a dessert, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Iowa
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

This is a quaint little restaurant inside of a car dealership. All the food is made from scratch. Love going here for a light meal with a dear, dear friend where we solve all the worlds problems with Martha's cooking. Love this place.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank smkymtngrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
115 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Tri-State Rodeo parade must!”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Every September we hit up this bakery for something warm to drink and a sweet treat while we wait for the start of the rodeo parade. This small town goes all out every year for the rodeo and this little shop works overtime to keep us all satisfied.

Everything we have snacked on from this place over the years has always been great. And the staff is friendly and helpful even when the line is out the door and around the corner. It takes a lot of work to keep that many people happy and we are so glad you guys do it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thiery688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ivy Bake Shoppe & Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing