We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not in a million years”

Knights Inn Fort Madison
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Knights Inn Fort Madison
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Fort Madison
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Wow! I can't say enough negative reviews about this roach motel. I booked through hotels.com and that turned out to be my first mistake. When we did that, the hotel owned our money. We booked for two nights and as soon as I stepped foot in the room, I knew I had to cancel the next night.

My family arrived at 10:00 pm. The third shift desk worker was their daughter. They live on the premises. She was easy to work with and promptly got us into our room. When we got to our room we noticed how out dated this hotel was. The beds are uncomfortable, and was unbearable for my wife. There was traffic coming in and out of my neighboring room, and I can only assume what the business was there.

We were too exhausted to go anywhere else and spend additional cash as the hotel refused to refund our money.

According to hotels.com this is a pet friendly hotel. In the morning when I let my dog out, the owner called my room five minutes after I got back in the room to advise me she would be charging me a $30 penalty for having an animal in the room. I was pissed.

I decided to check out immediately and told the owner I was not going to pay the $30 penalty and she advised me it would be $60 for both nights. Even after check out I was charged over $200 for my one night stay at this terrible hotel.

I decided to call hotels.com to complain and stayed in the hotel parking lot to make the call. I couldn't believe my eyes when I saw my family get surrounded by local police. The owner called the police stating the I was trespassing on the property. After spending a few minutes sorting things out with the local police department, we were on our way. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to a person I don't even like. And now the lady named Priti, who is the owner of this flea bag hotel, is officially on my $hi+ list!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Marandjacsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2013

Old hotel in need of up dates. Bed was only a little softer than the floor. Paint w as peeling off the tub. The place was fairly clean. When I checked about staying another night the hotel owner told me she would check but the rate would be $20 more for the next night and no discounts. Went to the Super 8. Should have gone there the first time. Breakfast consisted of cereal and juice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goshawk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed here when came to visit Historic Nauvoo. The room was roomy and clean. I loved that there was a ceiling fan in our two double bed room, because I am used to sleeping with one at home. The beds were comfortable, and the hot water pressure was great. There were also a mini fridge and microwave in the room. We got a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenniferLarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I found this hotel online and booked it because I wanted to visit Nauvoo, Illinois and didn't really book in time to get into a better place.

The property was generally run-down on the outside. Our room was at the back of the property and it was quiet enough. The room had mismatched furniture and seemed clean. There was a wooden accordian door between the room and the dressing/bath area, but it was broken. It should have been repaired or removed.

Breakfast was definitely a cold continental breakfast. There were a couple of plastic dispensers of cereal that were hard to operate (be sure to remove the cover from the bottom), packaged cinnamon rolls that were quite tasty, and a small fridge on the table that had milk for the cereal and sometimes orange juice and yogurt. There was no place to sit to eat except on the tiny sofa in the very cluttered office with a tiny cluttered coffee table to set your food on.

I didn't experience the unpleasantness of the owners that others have mentioned, but wouldn't say the owners went out of their way to be helpful, either.

There is no on-site guest laundry, but I was directed to a laundry connected to a gas station that is near the Illinois side of town. It was clean, big, and well-lit, with reasonable prices.

Nauvoo is about 15 miles away, but it is an easy drive. Be aware that the bridge over the river from Ft. Madison to Illinois is a toll bridge. I believe the toll is $2 that direction, then it is free on the return trip.

Th

Room Tip: The back side of the hotel was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArizonaKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

I was at this hotel this past week in town for work and I will never return!! The owner was so hateful, she hollered at me when I checked in, then midway through my stay she told me they had to move me to a different room and when I got in from work I went to the front desk to get my new keys, she was yelling at me again. All I did was ask for my new keys!!! These people need to learn that in OUR COUNTRY, USA, you don't treat people that way!!! Worst hotel experience of my life!!! And the breakfast was pathetic. Don't stay here!

Room Tip: Rooms are decent for the price, if you don't care about getting hollered at every time you go in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yankee3136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Never in my life would I expect to be yelled at when speaking to the owner/front desk lady but that's exactly what happened! I ask a simple question regarding housekeeping and the owner flew off the handle screaming at me so bad that her husband came from the back and told her to calm down. She was also yelling at some other guests when i went to check out. The maintenance man was also very rude. UNBELIEVABLE!!!!!! Its an older establishment but very clean and cozy, however, all of that is ruined by the way the owners treat their guest. I would never stay here again, I can't believe they have stayed in business with that kind of customer service. I would not ever ever ever recommend anyone stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jene Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

If you are looking for an affordable place to stay and don't care about any extras then this is the place for you.
The family of owners who apparently live on-site seemed nice enough, but the customer service skills displayed were lacking. I asked for an extra pillow and blanket and they could not produce an extra blanket but begrudgingly gave me the pillow. This type of attitude was kind of the theme for our entire stay.
Breakfast was almost a joke. Nothing fresh and the food was nothing more cereal and yogurt with packaged muffins.
The room was very basic with brick walls. There was no fan or ventilation in the bathroom, but there was a vent between the bathroom and the bedroom so the aroma from the bathroom found its way into the bedroom. Room was spacious and clean for the most part.
As a final note, don't stay here if you are planning on going to Nauvoo, IL. The hotel's website and the operator on the phone said it was six miles to Nauvoo, but we found it to be nearly 15 miles to get to the attractions in Nauvoo.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank applevalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Madison
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in Fort Madison
84 reviews
14.4 mi away
Super 8 Keokuk
Super 8 Keokuk
#2 of 6 in Keokuk
273 reviews
1.0 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites Fort Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Kingsley Inn
Kingsley Inn
#1 of 2 in Fort Madison
85 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Fort Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Fort Madison

Address: 3440 Avenue L, Fort Madison, IA 52627-3455
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Fort Madison
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Fort Madison
Price Range: £55 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn Fort Madison 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Knights Inn Fort Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Madison Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing