We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sandwiches in Fort Madison!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sub Arena Sandwich Shop
Ranked #18 of 35 Restaurants in Fort Madison
Cuisines: Soups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Best Sandwiches in Fort Madison!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My husband and I have lived in the area for a few years but somehow only discovered Sub Arena a few months ago. The meat and cheese are thinly sliced, veggies plentiful and the bread...it's all about the bread, it's delicious! You can have a quarter, half or whole sandwich, hot or cold. They have a nice selection of chips, soups and desserts. The owner has been friendly from our first visit and regularly remembers our names (which must be hard with so many regulars). The place is always busy, it seem like the locals know a good place when they see one.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gingertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, Iowa
Level Contributor
95 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Something different than Subway!”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This is a 'Mom and Pop' sub shop. The food is average, the parking could be a little better, but if you want something other than Subway, you can't go wrong going here!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank WeLuvCollegeFootball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Iowa
1 review
“Best Sandwiches Around”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

I've been eating there since I was a kid, and I'm here to tell you, no matter where I go I will always make time to come back to Fort Madison and get a Whole #1 Cold on White. With a Vanilla Mountain Dew no less. By far the best, quality sandwiches you'll find around. Real Cheese, real meat, real bread. Anyone who says it's overpriced should look at the quality and quantity of food you get there. Just gives me a warm fuzzy feeling thinking about how good these sandwiches actually are. I'm not a soup person, but i've heard they have pretty good soup too. Check it out.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, IA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great option when you want something fresh”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Sub Arena is a local sub shop that has really fresh soft bread for the subs. There is a lot of subs to choose from when you eat here. It is so much better than Subway. It is a little more expensive than Subway but tastes so much better.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carrie4785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Madison, IA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Some of my old friends and I met here to have lunch and catch up. It was wonderful, food was great and the service was wonderful!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelTravel1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sub Arena Sandwich Shop also viewed

 

Been to Sub Arena Sandwich Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing