We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, charming stay!”
Review of Hotel Greenfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Greenfield
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greenfield
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great, charming stay!”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Highly recommended! This is a special hotel in a special part of Iowa. Just a few miles from Roseman Bridge and a lovely drive from Winterset. A pristine, well appointed hotel. Great big, clean, modern, yet classic room with lovely furnishings. Very pleasant, accommodating staff. What a value...easily a $200 to $300 a night hotel near any metro area. Restaurant next door is good. Wish we could have eaten there on "Greek Night." Thanks for a great surprise and fantastic memories.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    10
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
19
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, TX
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This is our second stay in the rennovated Hotel Greenfield. It's small but magnificent. The lobby is beautiful and the rooms are very, very nice. Beds are the best - you can sleep for days. Plenty of counter space near the sink, which is not in the bathroom but in the room. It works, though. A nice little refrigerator is in the room, but there is only one community microwave located on the 1st floor. This hotel does not have an elevator - that is a problem that cannot be solved due to the historic designation, or so I was told. However, there are 2 rooms on the 1st floor for those who cannot climb stairs and they are setup for handicapped persons. We've stayed in both types of rooms and the 2nd floor rooms are a little larger. Nice flat screen TVs on the wall and an armoire for your hanging clothes (no closets - this is an old hotel). Extremely nice people run the place. A computerized grand piano is in the lobby for your listening pleasure. Next door is the Olive Branch restaurant. See that review under "restaurants".

No pool or spa. No fitness room. But you can climb the stairs to the 3rd floor for exercise ;-)

We love this place and have already reserved our rooms for next year!

Room Tip: If you can't climb stairs, get one of the 2 rooms on the 1st floor. 108 is the best bottom floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silvervalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mc Callsburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Pleasant, relaxing, home-like ambiance. The staff are very friendly and helpful. They take delight in our delight. The rooms are spacious, very clean, nice furniture. Our room has a large balcony (like!). The town has a "nice" feel to it. There are a few shops on the square with at least two more planned to open soon. Ed and Eva's features high-end, Iowa-made products. Above Ed and Eva's is the Opera House - you can take a guided tour or look around on your own. The Olive Branch is the restaurant attached to the Hotel. The owners are Greek and the heritage shows in the food. Their homemade pizza is very good and unique. Long's Market also on the square sells homemade jams and fresh baked breads and rolls. Across from the Hotel is a building housing (maybe 20) classic cars. To enter the building you must call for an appointment. The bowling alley is a step back in time and that includes the cost to bowl. The Henry Wallace birthplace is a 8 miles south. They serve meals made from fresh produce grown on the farm. A wonderful experience. I believe this one time I can speak for the others in my family -- we enjoyed our weekend tremendously. Kudos to all these hard working folks for making the Greenfield area so appealing.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEC7686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Enjoyed the feel of the town and the delights of this hotel and attached restaurant. The only challenge was the lack of an elevator. The 3rd floor parking lot view rooms are quiet and spacious. Love the fact that they use family sized body wash and shampoo containers in the shower area and greet guests with a yellow rubber duck on the tub. Dinner next door was better than expected with outstanding service and pricing. We'd stay again!

Room Tip: Those with limited mobility or difficulty carrying bags need to seek a first floor room as there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scgalinsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina, Usa
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

From the staff to the room to the facilities the Hotel Greenfield is a winner. The place has history, and good ambiance. Our room was very clean and spacious. And after a day of driving it was very good for us that there is an attached restaurant. A no-brainer if you're planning to stay in Greenfield.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadMode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My wife and I stumbled upon this quaint little hotel from a Living Social deal that I received in my inbox. Being only one hour outside of Des Moines, it made for a perfect one-night getaway.

The hotel itself is a historic building situated in the heart of Greenfield. A movie theater, bowling alley, and local shops surround the hotel, so there are a few entertainment options available if you decide to leave the hotel. The staff was friendly, the rooms were clean, and the lobby had an atmosphere that was perfect for enjoying a book and a drink.

The highlight of the trip for us was the adjoining Olive Branch Family Restaurant. It was extremely inexpensive and the food was pretty solid. They specialize in Greek food, but we saw many different styles of food coming out of the kitchen....it all looked good. We left full and happy.

The hotel serves a complimentary breakfast in the morning, but we were fairly disappointed by the quality of the food and limited options......but then again, it was complimentary.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Greenfield and we will most certainly make our way back there soon. It's close to Des Moines, provides a good value, and has a very relaxing atmosphere.....great little getaway.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fiveyard81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelgreenfield, General Manager at Hotel Greenfield, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Thank you for visiting Hotel Greenfield! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback helps us continue to improve guest experience and we appreciate you taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013 via mobile

When was the last time the front desk "clerk" or in the case Hotel Greenfield the Inn Keeper, prior to arrival warmed or cooled your lodgings? Hotel Greenfield has each time I have checked in, matter fact the hotel staff goes out of their way to make your stay more comfortable. The Hotel is newly renovated, with a well executed finish out leaving no detail untouched. The bathrooms are hygienic, spacious, and bright. The hotel Has gone to great lengths to make your accommodations stress free. From wfi to a make-up removal towel, clean sheets and comfortable bed to the leather chair, and not to forget the FLOATING RUBBER DUCK at the bathtubs edge.

Best accommodations in a 100 miles.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenfield
14.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Stuart
18.3 mi away
Supertel Inn and Conference Center
15.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Stuart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Cobblestone Inn & Suites
Cobblestone Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Winterset
30 reviews
18.3 mi away
Super 8 Creston
Super 8 Creston
#1 of 2 in Creston
182 reviews
16.3 mi away
Budget Inn Adair
Budget Inn Adair
#1 of 2 in Adair
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Greenfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Greenfield

Property: Hotel Greenfield
Address: 110 E Iowa St, Greenfield, IA 50849-1225
Region: United States > Iowa > Greenfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greenfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Greenfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Greenfield has been beautifully renovated for the modern traveler. All rooms are spacious, clean, and have a private bath. Hotel Greenfield is on the National Register of Historic Places so it also retains its charm with original woodwork, windows, lobby area, phone booth, winding stair case, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Greenfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing