We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grinnell
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Grinnell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Hotel is in a great location, it is clean, recently updated, and quiet. Breakfast was hot, great variety and real plates and silverware are used. The pool and hot tub were relaxing and the hours worked with our schedule.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
Thank Russ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grinnell, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank You for your kind words and taking the time to give us a review as we like to hear from our guests. We so enjoy having you and look forward to future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

Very comfortable, clean, nice staff, good beds, nice little pool and hot tub. convenient location, just off 80. We always stay at this hotel when we visit our family in Grinnell, IA. We will continue to stay there when we come again. Also, at least three other families that attended our reunion staye at the Country Inn also.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
1  Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grinnell, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank You, we appreciate that you took time to write us a review. We are glad to have you every time you visit. Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The room was very clean and comfortable. I loved the bedding; it was so soft and plush. My grandkids loved the pool and spent as much time as they could in it. The hot breakfast was excellent and offered many varieties of food. The staff was friendly and we arrived early but were able to check in right away.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
Thank Elizabeth Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grinnell, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly enjoyed having you and look forward to seeing you again when travels bring you our way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My family and I stayed at this hotel while visiting Grinnell. It was clean and convenient, and the amenities (pool, breakfast, wi-fi) were great. The hotel staff was excellent. I would not hesitate to stay here again when in Grinnell.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
1  Thank Kent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grinnell, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank You sdo much for staying with us we truly enjoyed having you and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Loved this place. Great room friendly staff economical. Easy on and off from the highway. Clean rooms and common areas. Breakfast was very good. Also, had cookies and cereal bars for grab and go abilities. All in all, a very positive experience.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Thewholefamndamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grinnell, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you so much for your great comments. We are here to serve you and hope you have safe and great travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I recently stayed here for 4 nights. I stayed at the property next door last time and was fairly happy. Why would anyone give this hotel a high rating is beyond belief. The employee was not welcoming when I checked in. I asked for a 2nd floor room, and she said one was not available. Hard to believe when the hotel is basically empty.

I had a room facing the main road and could here trucks all night. I could also here people in the room upstairs walking hard on the floors .. .the insulation is poor.

The water was very very slow in the sink and toilet. I told the front desk said they would contact maintenance, but the problem was never resolved.

The breakfast variety was good.. waffles, fruit, oatmeal, preformed omelettes and meat. But the quality was poor.

Would I stay here again. Absolutely NOT....

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkline62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grinnell, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

We would like to sincerely apologize for your dissappointment in your stay with us. We do try very hard to make our guests happy. As far as the hotel not being full it may not have been clear full but your type of room that you requested was not available on the first floor . Once again we sincerely appologize and would truly like you to know we do feel badly for this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Clean, comfortable, well-lit rooms. Very friendly and helpful staff - helped us find a good meal even though we arrived late. Location good, near interstate, but just a couple of minutes from downtown Grinnell.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Panstik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grinnell, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

We would like to take the time to say thank you. We truly appreciate your business and it was definitely our pleasure to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grinnell
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 6 in Grinnell
112 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Grinnell
Hotel Grinnell
#3 of 6 in Grinnell
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Pella
14.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Newton
14.3 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites Newton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grinnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grinnell

Address: 1710 West St S, Grinnell, IA 50112-8158
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Grinnell
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Grinnell
Price Range: £73 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grinnell 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grinnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Grinnell
Grinnell Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing