We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glimpse of Amana”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Zuber's Homestead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Homestead
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2012

we spent 3 enjoyable nights here. the room was comfortable and very clean, the staff was very helpful and friendly. The morning breakfast buffet was very good, just the thing to start your day in the Amana's. The location is perfect for exploring the villages and close to the restaurants in Amana. the hotel was quiet, with the occasional train going by. the room we had was large and comfortable, with all the amenities one expects, wifi, refrigerator, large tv, comfortable bed and furniture. The hotel helped make our visit to the Amana's enjoyable, we definitely will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sub1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2012

Being innkeeper's ourselves, we know some of the "secrets" to choosing the best lodging. Our Anniversary visit to The Amanas kept our record in tact. We loved the curb appeal of the Zuber's Hotel, and the interior of the historic building. What David and Yana have done to transform this into a delightful lodging establishment is amazing! We were lucky enough to stay in 2 different rooms, and we peeked at all the others, which are all unique in decor. From the bed choices, to ensuite baths, there is a choice to please anyone's desire. Some have tubs, while others feature the perfect shower. We loved the history of the building and imagining the folks who had preceeded us more than 100 years ago. Amenities are modern, but the feel of historic character and charm remain. The coffee was good, and the breakfasts were delicious and plentiful.

Thank you David, Yana, and your staff, for making our getaway to relax a success. This will be an anniversary to remember.

Room Tip: Just look online and make your choice. The rooms all look exactly as they are online!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eighty88eight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We would highly recommend Zubers for anyone planning a stay in the Amanas. We were warmly greeted by the lady at the front desk, and given a tour. We arrived in the early afternoon, before most of the guests arrived, and almost all of the rooms were open, inviting a quick peek at the wonderful decorating themes. I was a little worried about bringing our 11 year old, and 17 month old to a bed and breakfast. I had always perceived B&B's being for older folks looking for a quiet atmosphere. I was afraid the 11 year old would be bored and the 17 month old would be squawking and earning lots of disapproval. The opposite was true. The 11 year old enjoyed staying someplace historic, and the 17 month old charmed everyone she met. There was a very easy-going atmosphere at Zubers - and whether that is a testament to the place itself, or the guests that were staying, I'm thankful either way. We stayed in the Grand Oak suite, which had two queens beds in one open room. There was also plenty of space to set up our play pen. I had read some of the previous reviews on here that mentioned a moldy or musty smell. I have allergies, and was well prepared for the worst case scenario, but there was honestly nothing moldy or musty in our room. Other reviews also said they skimped on breakfast. Not so - we had quiche, oatmeal (not packets - it was in a crockpot), homemade bread, fresh fruit, and various other goodies. All the hotel staff were very friendly too. We did have a train pass through in the middle of the night, but it didn't wake our 11 month old, and I think I only noticed because another review said the trains kept them up all night, so I was listening for it. I honestly woke up and asked my husband if a train had really passed through in the night, or if I had just dreamed about it - so I wouldn't call that a big deal unless you are a really light sleeper. Overall, a very pleasant experience. And we're thinking about making a winter trip down to that area so we can see it in the Christmas season. We'll be staying at Zubers. No doubt.

Room Tip: The Grand Oak was a great family room. The Deer one was nice too. If a family was looking for a sepa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I stayed at Zuber's with two friends for a long weekend. We were very impressed with the decor and roominess of our suite. The building is old but everything is updated. We were there on one of the opressively hot weekends and because of the age of the building there was no central A/C. Howevee, each window had an air conditioner and there were two strategically placed fans. They were not noisy and kept us extremely comfortable. It was very quiet there and the beds were comfortable. The breakfast on each of the three days consisted of a hot
breakfast casserole, toast, hard boiled eggs, a nut bread, juice and lots of fruit. The eating area was charming and in keeping with the rest of the hotel's decor. We would really love to go back.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are different so it is best to go to their web site and look at pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maginnisone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We would highly recommend staying Zuber’s Homestead Hotel!!! We spent the night in the Clubhouse Room and LOVED it!!! The room was wonderful, breakfast was outstanding & the staff was awesome! I wish we could have stayed longer. We only have positive things to say about this place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We just returned from our second stay at Zubers. We were there in July 2011 and enjoyed our stay so much that we planned another weekend with another couple for Oct. The first stay was in the Trumpeter Swan room. Very pretty room that was tastfully decorated and painted anice shade of red. Bathroom was large with a walk-in shower and a separate tub with jets. Breakfast that weekend was lots of bread---a type of cinnamin bread casserole, three types of bread for toast, danish, hard boiled eggs and cantelope. This past weekend we stayed in the red geranium room and our friends were in a taste of Amana room. There room was large and appointed with nice antique touches like and old sewing machine. They said the bed was very comfortable and a great shower. Our room was wonderful----an iron bed--nice sitting area with leather couch and chair---at table and two chairs--microwave and refrigerator. We had a jacuzzi and a nice bathroom with walk-in shower---a very large room. All rooms we saw had flat screen t.v. and a window air conditioner. All three rooms---the air worked fine. I did not wake up when the train went by but some folks did. Breakfast this time was eggs benedict---very good, fruit, pastry and assorted breads. Will we go back?---You bet we will---Everyone working there were very friendly. We felt at home and comfortable----lots nicer than staying at a hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Illinois-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

What do you think of when you hear the words bed & breakfast? Does a home cooked breakfast come to mind especially when you are paying over $100 for one night and an employee named Aaron tells you a full breakfast is included? Well, you can forget about that. Breakfast consisted of water, orange juice, coffee, banana bread, bread, orange slices, Quaker oatmeal in packets, and a breakfast pizza. No biscuits & gravy, no bacon, no cereal, no sausage, no waffles, no pancakes, no milk, no eggs. Oh, wait a minute. There were some scrambled eggs on the breakfast pizza. Whoop-di-doo.
Now for a review of the room. The window a/c unit was moldy and dirty so we did not turn it on. We opened a window and the train track is literally 100 yards from the room. If you like the blaring of a train coming through your bedroom, this is the place for you. This happened about 3-4 times during the night. The shower curtain was dirty. There was a small frig in the room which made a horrendous sound until I opened it and discovered the freezer on it had never been defrosted so there was about 3 inches of ice built up and the door was making the noise. The tv is outdated and the only way to use the remote to flip the channels was to lean on the right side of the bed and hold the remote way up high. There is no one on duty at night. So, in the morning I pointed these things out to the lady at the front desk upon check out and she did not apologize or say anything. Compensation for a sleepless night and a starving morning would have been appropriate.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theheims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Homestead
5.2 mi away
Heritage Inn Amana Colonies Hotel & Suites
5.6 mi away
Ramada Williamsburg
Ramada Williamsburg
#3 of 8 in Williamsburg
832 reviews
8.5 mi away
Best Inn Cozy House & Suites
Best Inn Cozy House & Suites
#5 of 8 in Williamsburg
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville
13.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids Airport
11.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in North Liberty
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zuber's Homestead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zuber's Homestead Hotel

Address: 2206 44th Ave, Homestead, IA 52236-8545
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Homestead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Homestead
Price Range: £83 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Zuber's Homestead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the feel of a bed and breakfast in our historic hotel. Our lovely hotel has a rich history! It was built in the 1860's as a hotel. Then transformed into the well-known Zuber's Dugout Restaurant and is now once again a 15 room hotel. Each guest room is tastefully decorated with a unique Iowa theme. All rooms include comfortable furniture, private bath, cable TV, and Internet. Many of the rooms have a small refrigerator and microwave. We also have a full-size refrigerator and microwave for guests to use in the Wagon Wheel Room. We offer a range of bed sizes - full, queen or king. The Wagon Wheel room is host to our complimentary hot buffet-style breakfast and check-in sweet treat! Guests are welcome to relax and enjoy the Wagon Wheel Room any time. We offer board games, TV, and a piano for your use and enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Zuber's Homestead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zubers Hotel Homestead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing