We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect relaxation spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zuber's Homestead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Homestead
Certificate of Excellence
Western North Carolina
Level Contributor
146 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxation spot”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We were in the area to visit relatives and tour Amana Colonies. Zubers is an old building originally built in the late 1800s. There are 15 rooms, all different and all with local themed designs. We were in what used to be the Geranium Room. It was on the first floor, close to the back door so we could unload our car. Our room was huge with comfortable spaces to sit. Also had free wifi, which was welcomed. Breakfast was spectacular. We were there three days and each day, the hot dishes were the best. Lots of fresh fruits and homemade breads every day.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so a downstairs room was best for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    24
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
33
62
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

A friend and I stayed there recently for a girls weekend in the colonies. This place is a perfect mixture between a hotel and a bed & breakfast. We originally were staying in room 7, but not long after getting there we were very aware of the two families with children above us. I called the front desk and he immediately offered to switch us to another room at no charge. We ended up staying in room 10, which is UNI themed. The room ended up being bigger and a bit nicer than the one we originally booked, other than the college theme décor (haha!) The homemade breakfast in the morning was delicious! Overall, this was a wonderful stay!! Next time I will try a couples getaway with my husband!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpine, Utah
Level Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Zuber's Homestead Hotel. Our only problem was finding it - our GPS had us in a corn field off a dirt road, so be sure you get directions before you go. It isn't that hard to find - just don't follow your GPS. Once there, we found it to be a very quiet and pleasant place. It's certainly not a cookie-cutter hotel. The rooms are all different. Ours was the Wild Rose, on the 2nd floor. My only concern there was the very steep staircase up to the 2nd floor, but take your time and you're fine. The window AC was turned on when we got there, and in addition we turned on the table fan, which made the room very comfortable. The room itself was large and nicely decorated. The bathroom was very large. I found the whole room/suite to be very clean, down to the corners. We were greeted in the morning by owners Brian and Bonnie. Bonnie was in the kitchen making breakfast - fruit, raisin bread, assorted muffins, french toast and an egg/cheese casserole along with juice. Brian sat down with us, and Bonnie joined us and we had an enjoyable time getting to know each other.
The hotel is in a very quiet area - we went out walking in the evening and totally enjoyed the solitude. I was concerned about the train tracks very close, since our room was in the front and looked out toward the tracks. We did hear the trains go by in the evening, but once we went to bed we didn't hear the trains again until the morning. If you're sensitive to noise, just ask for a room not on the front.
If you're looking for a charming, relaxing hotel that doesn't fit the chain-mold, stay at Zuber's. You'll enjoy it

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebraJeanne52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, IL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had the pleasure of staying in this lovely fifteen room bed/breakfast. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Their breakfast was filling, good till late in the afternoon when we ate at the restaurants in Amana. Our room was The Trumpeter Swan. It was very spacious. The bathroom was huge!! The hosts have refurbished the property well. The other colonies are very close by. We will definitely stay at this b/b when we return to this area.

Room Tip: WIFI is available, but it doesn't work well in the rooms farther from the common areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClanMac4248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Have stayed here several times over the past few years. Most recently a week ago. The rooms are comfortable and quiet. The dining area is very nice. Very accommodating staff.

I'd rate this excellent, but the breakfast seemed a little spartan last week, and even last November, compared to previous ownership. It was good, and I know they can't put out a spread like the Ox Yoke or Ronneberg, but something for eggs other than hard boiled and a little meat would be up to what I think of for a country B&B, especially in the Amanas.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hawkeyes4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

the pluses - nicely refurbished rooms although some have the bathroom sink in the bedroom instead of the with the shower. some of the rooms can easily accommodate families and larger groups. short driving distance to all of the amana villages. tanger outlet mall nearby as well as the fireside winery which has very nice wines.

the minuses - breakfast each day is one note - always included some kind of egg casserole, with sweet rolls or coffee cake, a terrible oatmeal that is overly sweet and has the tiniest blueberries i've ever seen (i think it is made from a mix rather than from scratch) and fruit. with all of this if you get there late you will end up with what is left - when it's gone it's gone. another annoyance is the night clerk who takes over the breakfast room and watches tv. never felt like you could go sit there in quiet and read a book or surf the web. the tv is on 24/7. lastly, the local train rumbles by about 300 feet from the hotel though we never heard it running during the night.

Room Tip: pick a room away from the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mr_maizeblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The inn has been beautifully restored. My fear was small rooms and bathrooms, but the rooms are very large as are the bathrooms. The decor is beautiful. We looked at many of the rooms. All of them are beautiful and impeccably clean. The breakfast was delicious. The train tracks are close but we love the sound of the train. The noise was very brief and probably could not be heard if the window is closed. We are going to do a return visit.

Room Tip: There is not a bad room so choose by the décor you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Homestead
5.3 mi away
Heritage Inn Amana Colonies Hotel & Suites
5.6 mi away
Ramada Williamsburg
Ramada Williamsburg
#3 of 8 in Williamsburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
11.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in North Liberty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
8.8 mi away
Cozy House & Suites
Cozy House & Suites
#5 of 8 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
14.9 mi away
The Hotel at Kirkwood Center
The Hotel at Kirkwood Center
#2 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zuber's Homestead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zuber's Homestead Hotel

Property: Zuber's Homestead Hotel
Address: 2206 44th Ave, Homestead, IA 52236-8545
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Homestead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Homestead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Zuber's Homestead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the feel of a bed and breakfast in our historic hotel. Our lovely hotel has a rich history! It was built in the 1860's as a hotel. Then transformed into the well-known Zuber's Dugout Restaurant and is now once again a 15 room hotel. Each guest room is tastefully decorated with a unique Iowa theme. All rooms include comfortable furniture, private bath, cable TV, and Internet. Many of the rooms have a small refrigerator and microwave. We also have a full-size refrigerator and microwave for guests to use in the Wagon Wheel Room. We offer a range of bed sizes - full, queen or king. The Wagon Wheel room is host to our complimentary hot buffet-style breakfast and check-in sweet treat! Guests are welcome to relax and enjoy the Wagon Wheel Room any time. We offer board games, TV, and a piano for your use and enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Zuber's Homestead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zubers Hotel Homestead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing