We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a quick trip back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Palm Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cole Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was a return trip to complete some business. We have never stayed at the Royal Palm but each time we passed by said we should. We got a great deal for the 7 days we were, back thru cheap tickets. We upgraded to t 2b/r and the first room had a view of a Palm. Mother nature playing jokes, but they moved us to another room that had a great view. The rooms were spacious and clean. The staff was friendly and always wanting to help. We were there during the off season (our choice) but there wasn't much to do there. The only thing bothersome was at the beach having the locals coming up trying to sell clothes, massages or conversation. The other place we normally stay have banned them from the property. Your trying to relax and they come by several times trying to get work. Overall we would go back and stay there. It was a great location and very nice.

Room Tip: We were in room 8428. Its on the end and it had a washer dryer. Very nice view. Just a little far t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (963)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

545 - 551 of 963 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

I have just returned from holiday at the Royal Palm Beach Hotel in St Maarten. I agree with a lot of the other reviews that the customer service was second to none. We had a 3 bedroomed apartment for the first week and the second week we were moved to the penthouse. 3 bedrooms 3 bathrooms 2 jacuzzis, one on the balcony (sadly it had a leak so we were unable to use it). We also had our own laundry room. The balcony was amazing and the views from it unbelievable.

St Maarten is my favourite island and we found the people so friendly. We usually go in May and found September to be a lot quieter but the weather was very very hot.

The only downside to the holiday and it was only minor, was one or two of the bar staff at the pool area and the kareoke bar just didnt look interested and were not very friendly. I think this could do with addressing. One person in particular will know who I mean.

We did two trips one to St barths and one to prickly pear. The prickly pear was great. St Barths would have been better left to the high season.

All in all a thoroughly brilliant time was had by all.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PirateHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Customer Service is superior. Everyone exceeded our expectations. Martin greeted us when we arrived later in the evening. He gave us a room that was not quite ready, but when we mentioned it, he gave us a new room immediately. The new room was great. We had a 2 bedroom/2 bath and it was very roomy. It appears the kitchens have been upgraded and were very nice. The view cannot be beat. The resort is right on the beach and close to lots of stores and restaurants. However, we did have a rental car and was able to visit various places on the island. Our cousin stayed with us and she rode the local shuttle to see the island. It was veryyyy inexpensive and she enjoyed speaking with the local people. I highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: We were in room 8426 and it was fine. I believe all rooms have a water view. This room is away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schnauzerlvr0630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Thank you for sharing you and your cousin’s thoughts about your most recent stay here at Royal Palm Beach Resort. We regret that your unit was not completely prepared for you upon arrival. We are happy, however, that your request to move to a different unit could be fulfilled and you were been able to enjoy the rest of your stay. We were also delighted to hear that our staff went above and beyond in providing exceptional customer service and exceeded your exceptions.
We appreciate your comments regarding our newly updated and fully stocked kitchens- we are very proud of them! Your recommendation is sincerely appreciated, and we hope to see you and your family coming back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Vacationed in SXM since 1990...our favorite Carribean Island because of its diversity. We have stayed in many resorts on SXM on both the French and Dutch side. Royal Palm is a favorite pick especially for first time visitors, families and seniors. A car is necessary to truly enjoy the 32 natural beaches, Grand Case, Oliver's, Maho, Orient, Marigot, Phillipsburg and other hidden gems. Royal Palm is convenient...there is a man-made beach... restaurants within walking distance...great 4 PM happy hour ... minimal entertainment at night. Always a great view of Simpson Bay. You can watch the cruise ships as they sail away. A short walk for morning french pastries...small shops on the premises. It's a safe bet if you need to avoid natural bathing. Rooms are spacious & clean...guest service responsive. If you are renting a car the drive around the island is less congested because you do not need to go through Phillipsburg. Pack light...you can also do your own laundry. Most guests are repeat visitors. Rentals are available for any number of days. We will be back again on November 6th for 2 weeks.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side....all rooms have a ocean view, but the bedroom on the street side may expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Femmkn42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay at Royal Palm Beach Club Resort. We were extremely pleased to read that our accommodations, amenities, restaurants, and location met if not exceeded your expectations. The tips you have provided about our resort and the surrounding area are truly appreciated and really helpful for future guests. We sincerely appreciate your recommendation of our resort, and can’t wait to see you coming back again in November!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The customer service was superior. I had sinusitis and they provided lemons for my tea. My friend had really bad blisters from mosquito bites and they provided her with fresh aloe vera that they had security to cut for her. Their service was beyond my expectations. The resort is clean, we stayed in 8112 and we loved the location. It was right off the lobby and our balcony was less than 10 ft from the pool. The resort was quiet so it is nice for families. The suite was two bedrooms, two full baths, separate full sitting area with pull-out couch, and a complete kitchen with dining set. I was on an all-girl trip and we loved the location. We were in walking distance to the nightlife and we were right across the street from a great outdoor grill. I will be returning in April and I will be staying here. By the way, out of all the Carribean islands, St. Maarten is my favorite.

Room Tip: We stayed in 8112 and we loved the location. It was right off the lobby and our balcony was less th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Traveled Fri 8/23 - Fri 8/30/13 with my mom, 63, and my grandparents, both 81. Good food on site at Cabana beach bar & restaurant. Convenient and close to casinos, restaurants and activities. Staff is very friendly and helpful. I loved Xavie at the front desk and Ram. Accommodations very nice, very comgortable, and the view is beautiful. Rental cars and excursion planners on site. Maintenence came fast to resolve the following issues: A/C not at full capacity, DVD player not hooked up, shower knob loose & leaky. Although beach looks lovely, part of it is super rocky and painful on your feet. Stay towards the left side of the beach which was calm, less rocky and warmer. The resort oddly ran out of beach towels one day so we had to reuse ours, which was a tad bit gross. The 2 for 1 drinks was a nice part of happy hour at the beach bar. Overall a great stay

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShanJay82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

My family of 4 had a great stay at Royal Palm and will def be coming back. We rented a car and it was a great home base.
The 2 bedroom had an amazing view and was super comfy.
The drinks by the pool were awesome.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Courti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cole Bay
0.3 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
5.1 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.8 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
5.8 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,816 reviews
2.5 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm Beach Resort

Address: 115 Welfare Road, Cole Bay 3035, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Cole Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cole Bay
Price Range: £111 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palm Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Palm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palm Beach Hotel Simpson Bay
Royal Palm St Maarten
Royal Palm Beach Club St Maarten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing