We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Palm Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cole Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We had an Excellent time at the Royal Palm Beach Resort, the room was big and clean, 2 bedrooms, kitchen, living room, 2 bathrooms, it was an ocean front room with beautiful views. The Gym downstairs was good, they made some good protein shakes. The bar pool served some great Guavaberry coladas and the food was delicious. The beach was a 2 minute walking distance from the room and was quiet and peaceful. Royal palm is located right over the bridge a 10 minute ride from the airport to paradise.

Room Tip: choose an ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felix B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (965)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

542 - 548 of 965 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

Dirty and outdated and poor management of the resort. The room smelled so bad and so did the linens and towels. The elevators hardly worked and when they did you'd get stuck in one for a few minutes with no air conditioning. My vacation was ruined by this stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bearacubby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This was our first visit since purchasing a Diamond Resort International Time Share. We stayed for two weeks (Sept 2013) with another couple in a two bedroom two bathroom. Weather was humid, sun hot but we didn't complain! Beach, pool, activities, staff, top notch! Condo (5th floor) nicely furnished, kitchen well equipped, bathroom same with extra towels, bedding etc. you can pay extra if you want every day cleaning or if you are staying 5 days or more the cleaning staff came in twice to clean & change linens etc. laundry facilities are on main floor & front desk provides tokens for you to use washer & dryer. Towels for beach & pool are in your room & these can be changed at pool area every day. Mini vans/buses are readily available for $1.50/passenger that will drop you off anywhere I.e. Grocery store to pick up groceries or down to the main Front Street for shopping. Could go on and on but we found it to be very nice especially at this time of year as it was quiet. Some locals close their restaurants and shops for renovations/vacations. This was not a deterrent still lots to see & do! Highly recommend it!!

Room Tip: 5th floor top floor everyone has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your first stay here at Royal Palm Beach Club Resort. We were delighted to read that you and your party had a wonderful time, and that our accommodations and amenities met, if not exceeded, expectations. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you and your family/friends for many years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My wife and I spent a week at the Royal Palm in August 2013 and were very pleased with the accommodations and service. We rented a car in order to explore the island, so we didn't need to deal with a taxi from the airport, but I can't imagine that would be an issue because the resort is all of about 2 miles from the terminals. There is on-site parking at the resort; they give you a pass to put on the dashboard, and they advise removing it when off-property, to avoid flagging your car as a tourist vehicle.

Check-in went smoothly, and we were soon in our two-bedroom unit overlooking the beach. The unit was fully equipped, except for washer and dryer, but that was not an issue. The only complaint we had was that the lighting was not very bright. That, however, is not something that management could fix -- it's just the way the light fixtures are set up and the type of bulbs specified.

We went to both the on-site market and a nearby market, the name of which escapes me (turn right out of the driveway and it's about 1/2 mile or less on the right). Both had a decent selection of basic necessities at what seemed reasonable prices.

The on-site restaurant served good meals, also at reasonable prices; at one time or another we ate all three meals on-site. One of the advantages of visiting in mid-August is that it's low season, so the resort was not at all crowded. Most of the time we were either the only customers in the restaurant or one of only two or three occupied tables.

The pool bar has daily happy hour specials, and is presided over by Kenya and Rasha, both of whom are friendly and fun. Even at full price, the drinks are not as expensive as one might expect at a Caribbean resort, when it's 2-for-1 it's a great deal.

We didn't make use of any of the activities, like water aerobics or anything like that, since this was a total relaxation trip.

Checkout was also pain-free, aside from the pain of leaving St. Maarten.

Almost directly across the road from the resort is a strip of restaurants. We went to Skip Jack's, where we had Caribbean lobster, fresh fish, "volcanic" (spicy -- but not really), and fresh scallops. Service was good. The Harbour Queen also has good fresh fish and service.

For a slightly less mainstream experience, go out of the resort lot and turn left on Welfare Rd., cross the little bridge and go maybe another quarter-mile to the Old Wife Restaurant. It's a little hard to spot: stand facing the statue, then look about 30 degrees to the right, and you'll see it semi-hidden under an awning. There are only maybe two or three tables, but the food is very good. The staff is from the Dominican Republic, so Spanish is appreciated, but I think they also speak English.

Finally, Islet Pinel (a small island off the French side) is worth a trip. See my separate review of the restaurant called Karibuni

Room Tip: If I remember, all of the units are on the beach side; the corridors are on the road side. Rooms rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank singflysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was a return trip to complete some business. We have never stayed at the Royal Palm but each time we passed by said we should. We got a great deal for the 7 days we were, back thru cheap tickets. We upgraded to t 2b/r and the first room had a view of a Palm. Mother nature playing jokes, but they moved us to another room that had a great view. The rooms were spacious and clean. The staff was friendly and always wanting to help. We were there during the off season (our choice) but there wasn't much to do there. The only thing bothersome was at the beach having the locals coming up trying to sell clothes, massages or conversation. The other place we normally stay have banned them from the property. Your trying to relax and they come by several times trying to get work. Overall we would go back and stay there. It was a great location and very nice.

Room Tip: We were in room 8428. Its on the end and it had a washer dryer. Very nice view. Just a little far t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I have just returned from holiday at the Royal Palm Beach Hotel in St Maarten. I agree with a lot of the other reviews that the customer service was second to none. We had a 3 bedroomed apartment for the first week and the second week we were moved to the penthouse. 3 bedrooms 3 bathrooms 2 jacuzzis, one on the balcony (sadly it had a leak so we were unable to use it). We also had our own laundry room. The balcony was amazing and the views from it unbelievable.

St Maarten is my favourite island and we found the people so friendly. We usually go in May and found September to be a lot quieter but the weather was very very hot.

The only downside to the holiday and it was only minor, was one or two of the bar staff at the pool area and the kareoke bar just didnt look interested and were not very friendly. I think this could do with addressing. One person in particular will know who I mean.

We did two trips one to St barths and one to prickly pear. The prickly pear was great. St Barths would have been better left to the high season.

All in all a thoroughly brilliant time was had by all.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PirateHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Customer Service is superior. Everyone exceeded our expectations. Martin greeted us when we arrived later in the evening. He gave us a room that was not quite ready, but when we mentioned it, he gave us a new room immediately. The new room was great. We had a 2 bedroom/2 bath and it was very roomy. It appears the kitchens have been upgraded and were very nice. The view cannot be beat. The resort is right on the beach and close to lots of stores and restaurants. However, we did have a rental car and was able to visit various places on the island. Our cousin stayed with us and she rode the local shuttle to see the island. It was veryyyy inexpensive and she enjoyed speaking with the local people. I highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: We were in room 8426 and it was fine. I believe all rooms have a water view. This room is away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schnauzerlvr0630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Thank you for sharing you and your cousin’s thoughts about your most recent stay here at Royal Palm Beach Resort. We regret that your unit was not completely prepared for you upon arrival. We are happy, however, that your request to move to a different unit could be fulfilled and you were been able to enjoy the rest of your stay. We were also delighted to hear that our staff went above and beyond in providing exceptional customer service and exceeded your exceptions.
We appreciate your comments regarding our newly updated and fully stocked kitchens- we are very proud of them! Your recommendation is sincerely appreciated, and we hope to see you and your family coming back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cole Bay
0.3 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
0.8 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
764 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
3.3 mi away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
Horizon View Beach Hotel
#7 of 12 in Philipsburg
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm Beach Resort

Address: 115 Welfare Road, Cole Bay 3035, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Cole Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cole Bay
Price Range: £107 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palm Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Palm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palm Beach Hotel Simpson Bay
Royal Palm St Maarten
Royal Palm Beach Club St Maarten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing