We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Passport to Paradise 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Palm Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cole Bay
Certificate of Excellence
mass
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Passport to Paradise 2014”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Travel Mar 16th to the 23rd.
Traveled with my husband and another couple. This was our 5th time to the Island and our friends 1st.
Got to the hotel alttle before check-in, they asked us to wait 15 minutes, not a problem got a drink and the bar. Our room was ready, I had requested a high floor, and was happy they gave us the 4th. They have an elevator in the lobby and it worked all week while we where there.

Went into the unit and was so very happy, it was super clean and the view is to die for. We had a 2 bedroom and it has everything, 3 TV's, hair dryers, etc. The air conditioner worked wonderful.

The beach is very nice, never had a problem getting chairs, the pool is small, but we knew that going there and we wanted to spend time on the beach. Took a couple of days trip to Mullet Beach which is nicer.

Little store on property if you need a few things prices higher than the big market.

We ate at the property a few times did breakfast and lunch food was good prices not bad.

We rented a car for the week so we where able to go shopping downtown, might want to see when ships are coming, a lot of people, but we went on a cruise day and I found it not to be too bad, I always go to the same jewelry store (Caribbean Gems) where I am always taken good care of, us girls bought ourselves some nice diamond earrings...:)

Took a ride to the French side, ate lunch and saw some of the beautiful beaches there...

At night we went to a couple of Casino's we did the Hollywood and the Princess.

There are places to eat at right across the street which where good, the pizza place and Skip Jacks, my favorite was Jimbo's missed going there always closed when I go in the fall, so was happy it was open this time.

We all had a wonderful trip, would stay at the Royal Palm again in a heart beat..

Room Tip: All rooms have an Ocean View...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank janko1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for this detailed review! We are delighted that you had a great time here, and we feel sure that other guests will really appreciate all the advice and feedback you’ve provided. We are really pleased that you would like to return to the Royal Palm Beach Resort, and we hope we’ll see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    371
    93
    34
    31
See reviews for
337
292
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

3 of us decided to spend 4 days in St. Maartin so I chose this hotel after reviewing in Tripadvisor. It is very good in general.

The location is pretty good, you can buy almost everything you need in the hotel or nearby. A lot of place to eat and have fun. Supermarket is nearby as well.

The hotel has its own beach and they said that every room has an oceanview. We paid for a 2 bedroom suite and got one in the 1st floor. So we can walk to the beach.. The room was comfortable with full kitchen but a little out-of-date, which is OK. The only annoying part was too many mosquitoes... Hotel can provide Radar spray but not so useful...

The staff was really nice. We encountered an issue with double charge. The front desk manager helped to fix it. Since it is in Caribbean, it is always good to keep your receipt and obtain the final bill.

There is a resort fee to 10.50 USD per day, which contains the wifi, parking, towels etc... Normally no housekeeping will enter the room for cleaning if you stay under 5 nights or a fee may occur if you insist on cleaning..

For the price, it is a little bit expensive but if you have more than 4 ppl, I think it is reasonable. I will return to this hotel if I have a chance back to St. Maarten.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Machilus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
We are really pleased that you chose the Royal Palm Beach Resort for your visit to St Maarten, and that you had a great time here!

With regard to our housekeeping schedule, as this is primarily a vacation ownership property we are only able to offer a mid-week clean as standard on stays of 7 nights or more, but additional cleaning can be requested for a nominal charge from the front desk.

We really hope that the mosquitos didn’t spoil an otherwise enjoyable stay here, and we’re really pleased that you would like to return in the future – we hope we’ll see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colonia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I have stayed at the Royal Palm 6 times in the last 3 1/2 years. First I love the staff, the best group of people in any timeshare I have stayed in! Always making sure you are fine and comfortable. Everyone is attentive from the front desk staff, to housekeeping, security, maintenance and activities!! Everyone always has a warm smile to greet you!! The rooms are spacious and what a view!! The location could not be better, if you do not want to rent a car so many restaurants within walking distance, along with grocery stores and bakeries. I love the location!! I have traveled there alone and have always felt safe!! I cannot wait to get back there!

Room Tip: Any room at the Royal Palm is a great room!! All ocean views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your most recent stay here at Royal Palm Beach Club Resort. Repeat business is very important to us, and we are very thankful for your continual visits here. We were very pleased to read that our accommodations, amenities, customer service, and location exceeded your expectations. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caro, michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We went in March 2014. My first impression was that the room (by the looks of the door to our room and some tile flooring) was in need of repair. However after that first impression everything else was very good. We hired a on shore fishing guide and come to find out the best tarpon fishing is right at our resort. We hooked many tarpon at the bridge and in front of the resort. The view from the room was fantastic. The staff was great. However , the two bars on the premises are not owned by Diamond and was disturbed to hear from that staff there of mistreatment by upper management. I hope diamond takes over that part too.
Everything you need for a great time is either at the resort or right across the street or down the beach. We rented the paddle boards and had a great time. We would definitely go back.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gdog42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We had an excellent time here as the beach was quite private and we we able to walk about the area safely and enjoy the wonderful restaurants and shops. Service was great and we never had any issues. The rooms were quiet and clean. This was an excellent experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wonderer_QueenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Royal Palm Beach Resort. The resort has a prime location, whether you enjoy spending time on the beach, visiting the local shops, experiencing new water sports, or dancing the night away with the Caribbean nightlife. We hope you return for many anniversaries to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed 9 nights and this is not a hotel/resort, it is a time share. We had to change rooms after 3 days ( we did not know when we reserved) as they did not have a room available for all days. Hotel is very old, swimming pool small, restaurant small and with pricy an very average food. Few beach chairs and very rocky sand with beautiful water.
Rooms are espectacular, like an apartme t. Easily for 4 people as it has 2 bedroom, huge kitchen and living room. If you divide the room price between 4 this is a very cheap option.
So, even all the bad comments about the hotel, i do reccomend it for the following reasons:
- excellent location, walking distance from several restaurant
- free parking
- good price
- in st martin you have to visit a different beach each day, so you will not use the hotel facilities
-rooms are fantastic with terrific view
If you want a hotel to rest and stay all day, this is not for you.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pato_River
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowmanville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We only stayed here one night while waiting to head to a condo we rented. Our room was great - I had booked a one bedroom suite with pullout couch but they upgraded us without having to ask to a 2 bedroom ocean view.
The location is great - Simpson Bay has everything you need and is close to both Phillipsburg and Marigot.
The beach is nice and the pool area pleasant, both are clean but neither is huge. We had great lunch at the restaurant by the pool.
This is a timeshare so all units are a good size and have a kitchen. Nothing extravagant but all very nice and good value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mom2mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cole Bay
0.3 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
5.1 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.8 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
5.8 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,804 reviews
2.5 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm Beach Resort

Property: Royal Palm Beach Resort
Address: 115 Welfare Road, Cole Bay 3035, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Cole Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cole Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palm Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, West Indies, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Palm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palm Beach Hotel Simpson Bay
Royal Palm St Maarten
Royal Palm Beach Club St Maarten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing