We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Palm Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cole Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We have been there 6 times since 1996, the last time in 2013. Always a clean property and excellent staff. It also we'll centered between the Dutch and French sides. They have a great beach and pool. The pool bar is great.

Room Tip: Try to get a upper floor for the beautiful vistas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NYPD1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay here at Royal Palm Beach Resort. Repeat business is very important to us, and we feel much honored that you have chosen to come here so many times since 1996. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (963)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

500 - 506 of 963 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

This hotel is in a great location and the price is right!!! Got a rate for $140 a night and the condo was 2 bedrooms. The pool and pool bar are nice as well. Happy hour is buy 1 get 1 on certain drinks. The staff is friendly and things are clean. Don't expect 5 star service or pool waiters etc etc. We travel around the island a lot and rarely spend anytime at hotel or in room. It is nice for what it is and the price and location cannot be beat.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Check in process was slow and long.

We had a two bedroom suite, the rooms were nice.

kitchen items was clean and seem new.

Housekeeping only cleans once a week ( if your staying that long) but fresh towels can be exchanged.

No beach service , drinks and food at the pool bar only .

Check out is 10am and they mean it or they will charge $100.

Location is 10 dollars taxi from the Airport or 1.50 bus ride .
Lots of restaurants within walking distance .

Overall Tip: Bring groceries from the states , the groceries in St. Martin is very expensive .
The only thing cheap on the island is liquor .

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RYAN F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

We are sorry to note that your check-in at the Royal Palm Beach Resort was not as quick and efficient as you would have liked. We understand that a poor check-in experience can set the tone for an entire vacation, and we sincerely hope that this didn’t spoil your stay here. We are pleased to read that the rest of your stay here was a generally favorable one, though, and we hope you’ll consider us for future visits to St Maarten – we’d love to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Me and hubby's first time on the island..3/26 thru 4/1 - beautiful! First impressions: Dutch side hotel - clean rooms, a little dated, great staff, perfect location, great food. Hard to meet any travelers who hadn't been to the island and that resort multiple times. Peak island season/rates are Oct- early April.Off season May thru Sept. Heard most businesses close Aug-Sep. Our 2 bdrm rm rate - $223 p/day. French side beautiful but not as inviting + the euro to USD currency conversion is killing businesses on that side. My new BFF jeweler is Tony @ Ballerina on Front St - tell him Tina sent ya! And find Capt Rob's Scheffield Tall Ships Sunset cruise and book early...so much fun! Avoid the $40-60 bad beach massages - unprofessional and unsanitary! Do go see LaLita at Hair and Body Works for a great nail job. As other reviewers mentioned, the restaurant workers @the outdoor cabana rarely smiled and seemed to have perpetual bad days. Still, We will go again, and stay at Royal Palm...more than anything, it was a paradise dream vacation!.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tgen12_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Travel Mar 16th to the 23rd.
Traveled with my husband and another couple. This was our 5th time to the Island and our friends 1st.
Got to the hotel alttle before check-in, they asked us to wait 15 minutes, not a problem got a drink and the bar. Our room was ready, I had requested a high floor, and was happy they gave us the 4th. They have an elevator in the lobby and it worked all week while we where there.

Went into the unit and was so very happy, it was super clean and the view is to die for. We had a 2 bedroom and it has everything, 3 TV's, hair dryers, etc. The air conditioner worked wonderful.

The beach is very nice, never had a problem getting chairs, the pool is small, but we knew that going there and we wanted to spend time on the beach. Took a couple of days trip to Mullet Beach which is nicer.

Little store on property if you need a few things prices higher than the big market.

We ate at the property a few times did breakfast and lunch food was good prices not bad.

We rented a car for the week so we where able to go shopping downtown, might want to see when ships are coming, a lot of people, but we went on a cruise day and I found it not to be too bad, I always go to the same jewelry store (Caribbean Gems) where I am always taken good care of, us girls bought ourselves some nice diamond earrings...:)

Took a ride to the French side, ate lunch and saw some of the beautiful beaches there...

At night we went to a couple of Casino's we did the Hollywood and the Princess.

There are places to eat at right across the street which where good, the pizza place and Skip Jacks, my favorite was Jimbo's missed going there always closed when I go in the fall, so was happy it was open this time.

We all had a wonderful trip, would stay at the Royal Palm again in a heart beat..

Room Tip: All rooms have an Ocean View...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank janko1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for this detailed review! We are delighted that you had a great time here, and we feel sure that other guests will really appreciate all the advice and feedback you’ve provided. We are really pleased that you would like to return to the Royal Palm Beach Resort, and we hope we’ll see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

3 of us decided to spend 4 days in St. Maartin so I chose this hotel after reviewing in Tripadvisor. It is very good in general.

The location is pretty good, you can buy almost everything you need in the hotel or nearby. A lot of place to eat and have fun. Supermarket is nearby as well.

The hotel has its own beach and they said that every room has an oceanview. We paid for a 2 bedroom suite and got one in the 1st floor. So we can walk to the beach.. The room was comfortable with full kitchen but a little out-of-date, which is OK. The only annoying part was too many mosquitoes... Hotel can provide Radar spray but not so useful...

The staff was really nice. We encountered an issue with double charge. The front desk manager helped to fix it. Since it is in Caribbean, it is always good to keep your receipt and obtain the final bill.

There is a resort fee to 10.50 USD per day, which contains the wifi, parking, towels etc... Normally no housekeeping will enter the room for cleaning if you stay under 5 nights or a fee may occur if you insist on cleaning..

For the price, it is a little bit expensive but if you have more than 4 ppl, I think it is reasonable. I will return to this hotel if I have a chance back to St. Maarten.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Machilus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

We are really pleased that you chose the Royal Palm Beach Resort for your visit to St Maarten, and that you had a great time here!

With regard to our housekeeping schedule, as this is primarily a vacation ownership property we are only able to offer a mid-week clean as standard on stays of 7 nights or more, but additional cleaning can be requested for a nominal charge from the front desk.

We really hope that the mosquitos didn’t spoil an otherwise enjoyable stay here, and we’re really pleased that you would like to return in the future – we hope we’ll see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I have stayed at the Royal Palm 6 times in the last 3 1/2 years. First I love the staff, the best group of people in any timeshare I have stayed in! Always making sure you are fine and comfortable. Everyone is attentive from the front desk staff, to housekeeping, security, maintenance and activities!! Everyone always has a warm smile to greet you!! The rooms are spacious and what a view!! The location could not be better, if you do not want to rent a car so many restaurants within walking distance, along with grocery stores and bakeries. I love the location!! I have traveled there alone and have always felt safe!! I cannot wait to get back there!

Room Tip: Any room at the Royal Palm is a great room!! All ocean views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phyl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your most recent stay here at Royal Palm Beach Club Resort. Repeat business is very important to us, and we are very thankful for your continual visits here. We were very pleased to read that our accommodations, amenities, customer service, and location exceeded your expectations. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cole Bay
0.3 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
0.3 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
5.1 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
5.8 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,817 reviews
5.0 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm Beach Resort

Address: 115 Welfare Road, Cole Bay 3035, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Cole Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cole Bay
Price Range: £157 - £385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palm Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Palm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palm Beach Hotel Simpson Bay
Royal Palm St Maarten
Royal Palm Beach Club St Maarten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing