We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and relaxing week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Palm Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cole Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at The Royal Palm as first time owners. We bought this sight unseen, and were so thrilled with our purchase. The room was beautiful and updated. Immaculate, with a view to die for. Pretty beach and adequate pool. The best location around! We didn't even need a car, we walked everywhere, and took a cab if we wanted to go over to the French side. The staff was friendly and helpful. We loved it so much we just purchased another week and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MairCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, General Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for deciding to become an owner with our resort. We are really pleased and delighted to hear that our accommodations, amenities, location, and customer service either met or exceeded your expectations here at The Royal Palm Beach Resort. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated! We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Mervin LeBlanc
Interim General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    355
    86
    34
    30
See reviews for
320
280
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at the Royal Palm at the end of June for a week. Our stay at this resort was nothing to write home about. Our 2-bedroom unit, booked for 6 adults, came with broken pullout couch that had no mattress and a piece of plywood. The front desk offered to send up a cot, to which we explained there were two adults who needed a bed, not one. Then the maintenance person who came up to look at the situation stated they would find a mattress but we would need to sleep with plywood under the mattress. We finally convinced them to move us to another room. The next room, the lock kept breaking and we required security to get into the room any time we returned from exploring the island. To top it off, we went to the Cabana Restaurant one night (separate review to come in that location) and the food and service left much to be desired.

The good news about this resort is that it is centrally located in Simpson Bay. Convenient to the airport and a decent beach. I recommend looking into other alternatives as there are far better choices on the island.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAX1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback. We genuinely regret that your stay with us fell short of your expectations and sincerely apologize for the service quandaries revealed throughout your visit. Please be assured that these are rare service quandaries here and they will be addressed further. The mechanism in your room’s sofa was replaced by our team prior to your stay however; the mattress was not replaced at the same time. The mattress was replaced to prevent this from happening to any future guests of the resort after we relocated you. As for the door locks of the second room, we were installing completely new door locks on new entrance doors, therefore some locks need adjustments.
We have had continuous discussion with the Cabana owners concerning guest complaints about service. They informed us that they are recruiting a new team who will be trained extensively on customer service. Thank you for allowing us an opportunity to address some of your concerns and for providing your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I had travel difficulties and found out I'd have to stay the night in St Maarten on our way to Dominica. We were all tired so I booked the best room Royal Palm offered on a popular travel website. When we arrived so travel weary, we asked for our room and offered the confirmation number. They said they were full!They said we would have to stay at their "sister" resort the Flamingo. They would not refund any of the $254 I had paid ($100 more than their standard rate) and took us to an inferior hotel with an inferior room. Beware; this is not an honorable resort.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank liwanaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
We are sorry to read that you gave us such a poor rating although we truly understand why given you had to be relocated to a comparable resort. As our location is often in extremely high demand because of our fun for the whole family atmosphere, great location and unsurpassable customer service, we found ourselves at the edge of room inventory at the time of your arrival. Please accept our apologies for this inconvenience and feel free to contact the third party you dealt with regarding a refund for any overcharge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, NJ
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed here for a week in a 2-bedroom corner unit. The staff was very helpful and friendly in every interaction with them. We had a conrer unit so it was a little bigger than all the other 2 bedroom units as we had a "bonus sun room" which gave the unit 3rd TV and 2nd pull out sofa for the 5 of us. There was always fresh juice and water waiting in the lobby and getting chairs at the pool and beach was never a problem. There are places to eat within walking distance but recommend getting a car. The island is very easy to drive and the hotel was very easy to find from the airport.

Would fully recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NJSundevil55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for recommending the Royal Palm Beach Resort. We are very glad to have been able to provide you a pleasing vacation experience. Should our guests want more information about possibly receiving the type of room you did, we recommend they discuss this with the Front Desk prior to check-in. We believe our guests should be comfortable, and we are happy to hear that the refreshments and lounging opportunities helped to deliver the comfort you deserved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Great condo in a wonderful cove, centrally located in the heart of it all. Walk to groceries, dining and bars. Every condo has a great view , pool was nice. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Gardenia at the activities desk is very friendly and helpful . Would definitely say the condo looked just like the pictures on web.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Billiee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We spent 4th of July week there in a 4 bedroom, 2 bath unit on the fourth floor. Check in was quick and in no time we were sitting at the pool bar with a drink ordering food. Food choices at the restaurant were limited, but adequate. We enjoyed eating breakfast there several mornings, and found their prices to be very reasonable. There are lots of excellent restaurants across the street, and many more within a few blocks. There is a mini-mart onsite which has a wonderful selection of groceries, wine, and beer. They have an extensive liquor selection and the prices were much cheaper than Bach home and in some cases half of what we pay back in the states. They do have larger groceries stores close by. I found grocery prices to be much higher than back home in all the stores.

The room had been nicely upgraded with granite counter tops and nice appliances. Ours was fully equipped cuisinart small appliances and cooking utensils. Everything you could need to prepare and serve meals was available.

Both bathrooms were clean and large. Beds were comfy and each bedroom, along with the living area, had nice flat screen televisions. You have great ocean views from the living area and the master bedroom. Several reviewers complained about noise from the resorts across the bay, but we had no noise issues during our stay. The entire staff was friendly and responded quickly to any request.

The beach area is rocky and there seemed to be lots of debris from other guest who just left their drink and food containers to blow in the wind. There were also lots of cigarette butts everywhere. I picked up what garbage blew my way, but it did bother me how many people just left trash behind. They have lots of lovely beaches on the island to choose from. If you snorkel, don't expect to see anything in front of the resort. They have a nice but small pool considering the size of the resort. We did enjoy the free wi-if at the pool bar and in our room.

We took a taxi into Phillipsburg for shopping. They certainly have lots and lots of jewelry stores! After spending the day going through all their jewelry stores, I ended getting my best deal at the Splash Jewelry Store across the lobby in the resort.

This is definitely not up to the standards of the resorts we usually stay at, but we liked it and will probably return.

Room Tip: They have ground floor rooms, but higher floor rooms have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TennesseeTravelQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Gorgeous and clean rooms!! Fully furnished and well stocked. WiFi in the rooms wasn't the strongest but it was nice to disconnect. Friendly staff and very accommodating. I highly recommend GRABBING A CITRONELLA CANDLE FOR THE BALCONY. The Mosquitos were crazy but we grabbed a candle at the grocery down the street. Bring bug spray. We were in the middle of everything so walking places was super simple. Do not go to the first grocery store to the right. It was crazy over priced and I was told later by locals that it is the most expensive grocery on the island. Take a drive to find one a little closer to Philipsburg. I love that we were able to get massages on the beach courtesy of a few ladies and fresh Aloe. Eva is fantastic. $20 US for 30 min foot and leg $40 for full body for and hour.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cole Bay
5.8 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
0.3 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
5.0 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
5.1 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
2.0 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm Beach Resort

Property: Royal Palm Beach Resort
Address: 115 Welfare Road, Cole Bay 3035, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Cole Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cole Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palm Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, West Indies, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Palm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palm Beach Hotel Simpson Bay
Royal Palm St Maarten
Royal Palm Beach Club St Maarten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing