We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Palm Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cole Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This hotel was amazing. Close to the Airport. Greeted immediately by the great staff. Special thanks to Nickerson at front desk he was always very helpful and tried his best to get us late checkout on the day of departure. The room was amazing and traveling with 2 young children age 2 and 6 it's very helpful to have the feel of being at home.with 2 large bedrooms..full kitchen stove, fridge , microwave, appliances, plates, utensils. Amazing view of pool and beach. Supermarket close by and liquor store. We filled up fridge on first day with breakfast foods and snacks. Little pricey but you are away and expect it. Very clean room, Sasha our housekeeper was amazing. Only downside is the room gets cleaned every 4 days of your visit. Tons of restaurants to choose from all outside of your hotel. . Overall I would come back and recommend this hotel. Great time

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    362
    88
    34
    31
See reviews for
327
286
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed at Royal beach palm last week. The resort was in the perfect location and walking distance from everything. I strongly advise guests to rent a car even if only for one day. The food at the hotel was wonderful. Also, all of the nearby establishments were also excellent. Book your tours directly, not through the ppl in the hotel lobby. They make a commission and that adds to the price. Also, stay away from "Fun time tours". They falsely advertise tours and add hidden fees. And one of their speed boats to Anguilla was leaking power steering. All in all i would go back to the Royal Palm and bring my family.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The hotel is beautiful, it is a bit on the smaller side but I preferred that! It is pretty close to the airport so the drive over wasn't bad. As soon as we arrived we were greeted with water, juice, and snacks. Our room wasn't ready yet, so they offered to store our luggage while we hit the pool! The pool was medium sized with a swim up bar which was awesome! There is also a restaurant on-site as well, we only had lunch there once and it was pretty good. The hotel is conveniently located in Cole Bay, so we were able to have a small beach right outside. It was beautiful and there were many beach chairs as well as cabanas. The room was stunning, and the great thing is that every room has a view of the beach which was a pretty great thing to wake up to! There is a mini grocery store downstairs right on the resort, but it can be pricey so I'd recommend walking a couple blocks down the street where there is a bigger grocery store which was more reasonably priced.
The staff was attentive and super friendly! We especially LOVED Gardenia who works at the excursions and activities desk! She was wonderful and help us book an AMAZING excursion through Blue Safaris! She is very friendly and helpful, she arranges taxis and activities around the island so if you are looking to go on excursions on your trip Gardenia is definitely the person you want to talk to!

Overall we had an amazing trip! There were so many restaurants that were so close to the hotel- we never had an issue finding a new place to eat! Thanks again to the wonderful staff for helping make our trip so special!

Room Tip: If you don't like noise, try to get a room that is located on the far left of the hotel. Rooms i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The Royal Palm is close to the airport but far enough that you will not hear the planes. Our room was very clean even under the dust ruffle haha. We had a 2 bedroom with 2 bathrooms and a balcony with relaxing view. A quick change & we were down in the swim up pool enjoying 2 for 1 happy hour. The food was very good there but if you want to mix it up there are several locations in walking distance with different events going on. I can't say enough about the staff everyone was pleasant & helpful. A real joy.

Room Tip: The higher floors have a better overall view but it doesn't seem like any room has a bad view al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weesp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We requested a ground level apartment in advance for our 1 year old. We had apartment 8112. This was a clean and well equipped room. Easy access to beach and pool as we requested.
Staff is very friendly and helpful. The pool and beaches were thoroughly checked every day and cleaned. We loved this placed as it was perfect for our family. We will definitely visit here again!

Only downside was " DRIven to fun" week when we stayed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_Anne_mijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crofton, Maryland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We were on the third floor which worked because we like the steps. Perfect location to strip of restaurants across the street, Captain D's bbq shack and the grocery store.

Master bed is very comfy includes safe
Housekeeping only comes every 4 days after check-in
Towels provided are great for beach and you can get new ones daily in the lobby
Located in a cove so you can watch the ferry to St. barths
beach umbrellas fill up by 10 so be sure to have an early riser go down and find a spot
They charge $.25 for ketchup at the pool bar even when you order from them
Happy hour gets a little lively so we stuck to the beach
beach is rocky at some points BEWARE
Do not keep food on kitchen counters because small white bugs are everywhere
Pullout couch needs to be replaced- my son struggled to no fall through the bars at the end of the bed
Wifi is spotty and they don’t seem to care at the front desk
Great local gym for free attached to the hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Our family rented two rooms on the second floor. The rooms had everything we needed and were very comfortable. There were more than enough chairs on the beach and cabanas to provide some shade. The water in front of the hotel was exceptionally clean. There were grocery stores within walking distance and it was easy to have breakfast and lunch prepared in the room. They had very nice grills if you wanted to grill anytime of the day. Our rooms were not ready the day we arrived (in fact they didn't complete the room prep until 10:30 pm). It was a difficult start, but Jessie James at the front desk did wonderful service recovery and got us a gift certificate for dinner at Pineapple Petes to compensate for the inconvenience.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. Away from the center of the hotel towards the ends are more peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cole Bay
0.3 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
5.8 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,782 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
741 reviews
2.5 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm Beach Resort

Property: Royal Palm Beach Resort
Address: 115 Welfare Road, Cole Bay 3035, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Cole Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cole Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palm Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, West Indies, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Palm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palm Beach Hotel Simpson Bay
Royal Palm St Maarten
Royal Palm Beach Club St Maarten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing