We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Earl's Regency
Nearby Hotels
Knuckles View(Tennekumbura)
US$19
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$9
Booking.com
View Deal
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Majestic Tourist Hotel(Kandy)(Great Value!)
US$22
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$20
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$16
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$13
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Town Hotel(Kandy)(Great Value!)
US$7
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$20
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$15
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kandy Holiday Home(Kandy)(Great Value!)
US$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,278)
Filter reviews
2,278 results
Traveller rating
1,045
757
305
116
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,045
757
305
116
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindian restaurantsri lankaluxury roommain restaurantour honeymoonfive star hotellovely hotelswimming poollarge hotelspecial thanksbuffet stylesmall balconydinner buffetnice poolrestaurant staffstayed here for two nightswelcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
1,531 - 1,536 of 2,278 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a few nights with my husband whilst on our honeymoon tour of Sri Lanka.
The hotel was lovely, the service great, room very clean and had all amenities needed. And the food was fab.
The only thing it was lacked was a little atmosphere, but it was very quiet the few nights we were here, so maybe that's why. Although having the pool to ourselves was lovely!

All in all a lovely hotel with a great view and nice distance to Kandy. I'd stay again!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Katy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Earls, General Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We take this opportunity to sincerely thank you for selecting Earl's Regency during your stay in Kandy. At the same time we very much appreciate your valuable time taken in placing your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to note that you have enjoyed the facilities and surroundings of the hotel during your short stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you & your distinguished guests at our hotel in the near future.

Many thanks in anticipation & warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights in this hotel as part of a tour of Sri Lanka.
On arrival our first impressions were fairly good. The staff were friendly and helpful. We were upgraded to a superior room with views of the pool.
The room was more than adequate we had a few teething problems with a leaky air con but this was resolved very quickly.
Food was average but service was good.
Prices were reasonable as hotel prices go.
Swimming pool was lovely and gym well equipped however would have been helpful it opened a little earlier.
Overall an enjoyable stay.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank darren l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Earls, General Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time in putting together a brief explanation of the problems you’ve experienced at our Hotel during your recent stay. Also at the same time I would like to sincerely thank you for bringing these valuable points to our attention and for the constructive criticism; as it is only through feedback from our guests that we are able to rectify and improve on our service.

At this stage, after having personally investigated the nature of your comments, I can only apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay with us.

Your feedback will go a long way in assisting us to analyze our operational procedures & service delivery with a view to improving upon the same; so as to ensure the hotel continues to deliver superlative levels of service, comfort & security that our guests expect when staying at our hotel.

Your concerns have been addressed with the relevant departments and corrective measures will be implemented to ensure that incidents of this nature do not re-occur, as this is not the standard of service we wish to promote at our Hotel.

Meanwhile, we do look forward to welcoming you & your distinguished guests at our hotel and to your sustained patronage & support ahead.

Sincere thanks in anticipation & warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Kandy was the final leg of our Sri Lanka tour. We stayed at the Earls Regency for 5 nights in early Nov. We chose Earls Regency because to be honest there were really only a choice of three 4/5 star hotels in Kandy and Earls Regency seemed the better option. They put us in a lovely, big room on the 6th floor with a great view. The breakfasts were excellent great variety and very tasty. We had the international buffet once for dinner once which was also excellent. Compliments to the Chef! The hotel has a lovely hilly location with amazing views, but is not hugely close to central Kandy.

My constructive points are..Whilst the lobby and restaurant were very nice the floor of the hotel (6th) we stayed in was extremely dated. Stained red carpets, slightly musty damp smell.. And very badly co-ordinated old tired looking furniture when you first come out of the lift.. Hopefully the hotel is budgeting to refurb these sorts of areas that are letting down the hotel soon.

We ordered room service once burger and chips. Although tasty it was a tiny burger with a very little amount of chips..didn't hit the spot.

Overall the customer service experience was excellent, from reception to house keeping. We just had one really strange experience in the Mountbatten lounge. The waiter that served us really struggled with English. We ordered two cokes, he brought them over to us, then split both bottles one all over me and all over the chair. Rather than take the cushion to be cleaned he just turned the cushion over to hide the stain.. In front of us!!. Then he later came to clear the glasses taking my glass away which was still half full!.. By this point we just gave up on him and let him take it away. Clearly he was either just having a really bad day or Earls Regency need to offer better training to their staff!.

Overall I would definitely stay here again, good food, good location and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mstraveller78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Earls, General Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time in putting together a detailed explanation of the problems you’ve experienced at our Hotel during your recent stay. Also at the same time I would like to sincerely thank you for bringing these valuable points to our attention and for the constructive criticism; as it is only through feedback from our guests that we are able to rectify and improve on our service.

After having personally investigated the details of your comments, I can only apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay with us.

Your detailed feedback will go a long way in assisting us to analyze our operational procedures & service delivery with a view to improving upon the same; so as to ensure the hotel continues to deliver superlative levels of service, comfort & security that our guests expect when staying at our hotel.

Your concerns have been addressed with the relevant Heads of Department and corrective measures have been implemented to ensure that incidents of this nature do not re-occur, as this is not the standard of service we wish to promote at our Hotel.

Meanwhile, we do look forward to welcoming you & your distinguished guests at our hotel and to your sustained patronage & support ahead.

Many thanks in anticipation & Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed at Earls Regency for 4 nights in November 2013. We were attending a Sri Lankan's friend's wedding held on the premises. The hotel lies in lush greenery and hills with fantastic views. It is around 10 mins away from the main city of Kandy by Tuk Tuk.
The hotel in general was very nice, highlights included the Spa and the Pool + Dive Bar. The restaurants were fantastic, as was the food, though obviously expensive by Sri Lankan standards (though affordable for a 5* hotel)
The layout of the hotel and structure are nice, though some of the corridors could do with refurbishment + paint jobs.
The room itself was very spacious, clean and comfortable with a nice balcony. We were staying in Room 216, which was a little walk from the main hotel, and didn't have fantastic views (though other rooms do). We had a slight problem as the toilets would not flush properly, which never seemed to get fixed despite several requests.

Wifi is free and quick on the entire resort.

The staff were very attentive and generally polite, though they initially declined to arrange a taxi for us and only begrudgingly accepted to do it after much insistence from our side.

The good was terrific, with varied options of western dishes and south asian cuisines, al.l very tasty

All in all, we thought it was a great place from which to explore the city, whilst being able to completely unwind by the pool after a busy day of sight-seeing.
Despite a few minor drawbacks, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms offer much nicer views than others. Those at the back of the second building, for instance, basically face some uninteresting hotel facilities whilst other rooms have a great view of the surrounding hills, the pool and even of a giant buddha from a nearby temple. Keep this in mind when booking a room.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank am2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Earls, General Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time in putting together a detailed explanation of the problems you’ve experienced at our Hotel during your recent stay. Also at the same time I would like to sincerely thank you for bringing these valuable points to our attention and for the constructive criticism; as it is only through feedback from our guests that we are able to rectify and improve on our service.

After having personally investigated the details of your comments, I can only apologize for any inconveniences you have experienced during your stay with us.

Your detailed feedback will go a long way in assisting us to analyze our operational procedures & service delivery with a view to improving upon the same; so as to ensure the hotel continues to deliver superlative levels of service, comfort & security that our guests expect when staying at our hotel.

Your concerns have been addressed with the relevant Heads of Department and corrective measures have been implemented to ensure that incidents of this nature do not re-occur, as this is not the standard of service we wish to promote at our Hotel.

Meanwhile, we do look forward to welcoming you & your distinguished guests at our hotel and to your sustained patronage & support ahead.

Many thanks in anticipation & Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Very good - fantastic location; excellent rooms - clean, spacious & very well equipped. Only gripe was that the hotel decided to have an alcohol free evening on our first night - apparently something to do with the Buddhist faith. I really fancied a glass of wine at dinner. No consultation or compromise. It was not legally determined within Sri Lanka. I am not a Buddhist so don't think it appropriate for a hotel with a very international clientele to impose a belief system on guests. Also I find it odd that a 'service charge' is added to EVERY item, even if they are all delivered at once ! 3 drinks delivered on one tray all attract 10% service charge .... logic?? It floored the staff ! Why not show the prices as they really are, i.e. 10% higher than shown?

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms at corridor end as far from reception as possible ... so very quiet and with amazing views. Only word of warning ... ask for ground floor if you suffer from vertigo. The high balconies are a bit scary !
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Earls, General Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We take this opportunity to sincerely thank you for selecting Earl's Regency during your stay in Kandy. At the same time we very much appreciate your valuable time taken in placing your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to note that you have enjoyed the facilities and surroundings of the hotel during your short stay with us.

However, we've noted the points of discomfort faced whilst at dinner. wherein, we would like to emphasize that Sri Lanka is a Buddhist country. Hence, on the appearance of a full moon this day is declared as a religious holiday. Whereby, by state law serving of alcohol and the opening of bars to public is strictly prohibited and against the laws of the country.

At the same time, your concern related to the service charge is highly appreciated and would like to state that it is applicable to all items served and accordingly calculated on the total bill. Nevertheless, we thank you for your suggestion and assure you that we would certainly look into implementing same at the earliest.

Meanwhile, we do hope that your concerns would not deter you from staying with us whilst on your next visit to Sri Lanka in the future, we assure you of our utmost and sincerely look forward to welcoming you back .

Many thanks in anticipation & Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews