We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Earl's Regency
Nearby Hotels
Knuckles View(Tennekumbura)
US$19
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$9
Booking.com
View Deal
Riverside Villa(Tennekumbura)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Casa Del Rio(Tennekumbura)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Hotel Salido(Tennekumbura)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
La Casa M(Tennekumbura)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
West 41 Kandy(Tennekumbura)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (2,281)
Filter reviews
2,281 results
Traveller rating
1,046
757
307
116
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,046
757
307
116
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindian restaurantsri lankaluxury roommain restaurantour honeymoonlovely hotelfive star hotelswimming poollarge hotelspecial thanksbuffet stylesmall balconydinner buffetnice poolrestaurant staffstayed here for two nightswelcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
1,408 - 1,413 of 2,281 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This was my second visit to this hotel and it was a good as memory allowed from my first visit. The staff were very friendly and had the air and competence that you would expect from any 4 or 5 star hotel in the world. The rooms in the older part of the hotel are larger than the modern part but, although I was on the Executive Floor it was a little disappointing to find that the room safe was not large enough for a lap-top and the shortage of electrical plugs in the room was annoying. However, the quality of the service and the view from the wide balcony more than made up for this minor inconvenience.

Room Tip: If you want a larger room and larger balcony ask for a room in the old part of the hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Earls, General Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We take this opportunity to thank you for selecting Earl's Regency and for the time taken in sharing your valuable feedback with us.

We are pleased to note your appreciation on the services and friendliness of the staff to be that as the same as of your last visit. However, at the same time we are disappointed to note that certain areas have not been to your expectation and we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused.

Your constructive criticism has been taken very positively with regards to the in-room safe and shortage of electrical points in the room, please be assured that your feedback will be closely reviewed and necessary corrective measures would be implemented where ever possible.

We do hope that this would not deter you from choosing Earl's Regency during your next visit and we sincerely thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Many thanks in anticipation and warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights during our honeymoon in early May.

We had a wonderful couple of nights stay here, the room was immaculate and had great views over the surrounding hills and main part of the hotel.

On our first night we were escorted to our table in the restaurant which had been decorated with pretty pink flowers because it was our honeymoon, we were then given a complementary giant cocktail for two! It was really lovely and made us feel very special. I am not overly keen on curries but my husband absolutely raved about the curries here and said they were the best he'd tasted!
During mealtimes there is usually someone playing music of some description, one night there was an older lady playing the piano, I didn't actually notice and thought it was a CD! My husband noted she had no music at all, she was just brilliant.

The staff were really friendly and polite and nothing was too much trouble for them.

The hotel is not directly in Kandy, but we had our own driver so this was not a problem for us. The surrounding area is very beautiful, with great views especially from the green outside the restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Earls, General Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We take this opportunity to thank you for selecting Earl's Regency and for the time taken in sharing your valuable feedback with us.

We are pleased to note that the property has met your expectations and that you and your Husband have enjoyed the surrounding, facilities, food ans services during your stay. Your valuable feedback, appreciation of services and the entertainment is greatly appreciated and would certainly be a source if inspiration to the entire team in our drive to deliver superlative level of services to our guests at all times.

We sincerely appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back at Earl's Regency during your next visit. On behalf of the entire team wishing you both all the very best and wonderful years ahead.

Many thanks in anticipation and warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed here in April as part of a tour of Sri Lanka and onwards to the Maldives, on arrival we were greeted by attentive staff . Our room was very comfortable and modern. The bathroom amazing with a large jacuzzi bath and invigorating shower very impressive. We were presented with a cake and card to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The food was excellent , great selection to suit all tastes well presented and of a high standard. Would recommend this hotel highly perfect in every way.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank sno-sno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Earls, General Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We take this opportunity to thank you for selecting Earl's Regency and for the time taken in sharing your valuable feedback with us.

We are pleased to note that the property has met your expectation and that you have enjoyed the surroundings, facilities, food and service during you stay.

We sincerely appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you and your family back at Earl's Regency during your next visit.

Many thanks in anticipation and warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Friendly Staff, Good dinner and breakfast, large rooms, good for business meetings and functions, luxurious hotel, expensive but value for money. easy to reach the temple of tooth relic and royal botanical gardens

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rasika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Earls, General Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We take this opportunity to thanks you for selecting Earl's Regency and for the time take in sharing your valuable feedback with us.

We are delighted to note that the property has met your expectations and that you have enjoyed your stay with us. You feedback is highly appreciated and would certainly boos the moral of the entire team in continuing to deliver superlative levels of service to our customers.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back at Earls Regency during your next visit in the near future.

Many thank in anticipation and warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My husband and I toured Sri Lanka and the Maldives for our honeymoon in April 2014. We stayed at the Earls Regency for three nights. When we arrived we were greeted which a great choice of fruit juices. We were led to our lovely, spacious room (On the fourth floor) The room was very modern and was very clean. We had lots of items in our mini bar and these were reasonably priced.
The hotel had a nice dining area and we especially enjoyed listening to a lady play the piano one evening, whilst we had our dinner. The dinner was nice, they had a BBQ on one evening and a great selection of food and drink available. One night we ate in the Indian restaurant and as we were half board we were given a 20% discount off our bill.
The staff were some of the most friendliest people we have ever met, very easy to talk to and very keen to help.
The only points or areas i feel could be different at this hotel is for the pool bar to have a till point. When paying for our lunch, it took the poor waiter ages to walk such a long way to bring us back our change. We also used the room service which was great and gave more choice than the snack menu, in the bar or at the pool. We used the laundry service too, but found this to be pricey. Be mindful of the shower leaking over the bathroom floor, simply taking out the filter seemed to be the trick, after talking to other tourists we were not the only room with this problem.
It was a shame not to have had a Jacuzzi room upgrade as another couple on their honeymoon did, but never the less we had a great stay. We were also able to change our complimentary bottle of red to a white and the staff really were so lovely. Thanks for making our stay so enjoyable.

Please be mindful that this hotel is not directly in the town part of Kandy and I would not advise leaving the hotel on foot for a walk into the town!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Earls, General Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We take this opportunity to thank your for selecting Earl's Regency and for the time taken in sharing your valuable feedback with us.

We are pleased to note that the property has met your expectations and that you have enjoyed the facilities, service and of most appreciated the friendliness of our staff. At the same time we have taken your constructive criticism very positively and would like to address them accordingly. Kindly note with regards to the settlement of bill at the pool side, please be informed that we have already made necessary arrangements for a separate billing system to be implemented in order to avoid such inconveniences and this would be in place in due course.

Your concerns in regards to the laundry pricing and the excessive water flowing out of the shower cubicle will be closely studied and necessary measures would be implemented wherever possible.

With regards to the room upgrade, we wish to inform you that upgrades are conducted on a case to case basis and granted subject to availability. We sincerely apologize for the unfortunate circumstances of you not having this privilege during your stay.

We sincerely do hope that incidents of this nature would not deter you from choosing Earl's Regency during your next visit in the near future. On behalf of the entire team wishing you and your wife all the very best.

Many thanks in anticipation and warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews