We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Earl's Regency
Nearby Hotels
Knuckles View(Tennekumbura)
US$19
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$9
Booking.com
View Deal
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Majestic Tourist Hotel(Kandy)(Great Value!)
US$22
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$18
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$16
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$13
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Town Hotel(Kandy)(Great Value!)
US$8
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$20
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$15
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kandy Holiday Home(Kandy)(Great Value!)
US$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,280)
Filter reviews
2,280 results
Traveller rating
1,046
757
306
116
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,046
757
306
116
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindian restaurantsri lankaluxury roommain restaurantour honeymoonfive star hotellovely hotelswimming poollarge hotelspecial thanksbuffet stylesmall balconydinner buffetnice poolrestaurant staffstayed here for two nightswelcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
1,406 - 1,411 of 2,280 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

This is my forth stay in this hotel. This is no doubt one of the most beautiful hotels in Sri Lanka.
I came with my family to watch the Bradby Shield match. This is one of the most happening events in Kandy.
The service was as usually good. The food was average.
During the Bradby day the hotel charges an extra fee for the rooms, the so call Bradby supplement. But it's sad to say they had no entertainment event happening that night. They only had a BBQ dinner with a cheap Calypso band.
Most of the other top hotels had dinner dances with live bands.
The hotel really should change their entertainment manger.
Our stay would have been so much better if they had some entertainment events happening in the hotel. I really hope the management thinks about this at least next year without only jacking up the room rates.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Danushka J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Earls, General Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We take this opportunity to thank you for selecting Earl's Regency and for the time taken in sharing your valuable feedback with us.

We are disappointed to note that we have not fulfilled your expectations and sincerely apologize for any inconveniences caused during your stay.

Your constructive criticism has been taken very positively with regards to the regular entertainment and we would certainly look in to the possibility of enhancing this for the next year. However, we would like to draw your attention to dinner dances which are externally organized events held on site and not conducted by the individual hotels. Unfortunately this year we did have another big event that evening which was booked prior hence, we were not in a position to accept any other events for the same day.

We sincerely appreciate your sustained patronage and do trust that incidents of this nature would not deter you from selecting Earl's Regency once again for your next stay. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

Many thanks in anticipation and warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This was my second visit to this hotel and it was a good as memory allowed from my first visit. The staff were very friendly and had the air and competence that you would expect from any 4 or 5 star hotel in the world. The rooms in the older part of the hotel are larger than the modern part but, although I was on the Executive Floor it was a little disappointing to find that the room safe was not large enough for a lap-top and the shortage of electrical plugs in the room was annoying. However, the quality of the service and the view from the wide balcony more than made up for this minor inconvenience.

Room Tip: If you want a larger room and larger balcony ask for a room in the old part of the hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Earls, General Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We take this opportunity to thank you for selecting Earl's Regency and for the time taken in sharing your valuable feedback with us.

We are pleased to note your appreciation on the services and friendliness of the staff to be that as the same as of your last visit. However, at the same time we are disappointed to note that certain areas have not been to your expectation and we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused.

Your constructive criticism has been taken very positively with regards to the in-room safe and shortage of electrical points in the room, please be assured that your feedback will be closely reviewed and necessary corrective measures would be implemented where ever possible.

We do hope that this would not deter you from choosing Earl's Regency during your next visit and we sincerely thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Many thanks in anticipation and warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights during our honeymoon in early May.

We had a wonderful couple of nights stay here, the room was immaculate and had great views over the surrounding hills and main part of the hotel.

On our first night we were escorted to our table in the restaurant which had been decorated with pretty pink flowers because it was our honeymoon, we were then given a complementary giant cocktail for two! It was really lovely and made us feel very special. I am not overly keen on curries but my husband absolutely raved about the curries here and said they were the best he'd tasted!
During mealtimes there is usually someone playing music of some description, one night there was an older lady playing the piano, I didn't actually notice and thought it was a CD! My husband noted she had no music at all, she was just brilliant.

The staff were really friendly and polite and nothing was too much trouble for them.

The hotel is not directly in Kandy, but we had our own driver so this was not a problem for us. The surrounding area is very beautiful, with great views especially from the green outside the restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Earls, General Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We take this opportunity to thank you for selecting Earl's Regency and for the time taken in sharing your valuable feedback with us.

We are pleased to note that the property has met your expectations and that you and your Husband have enjoyed the surrounding, facilities, food ans services during your stay. Your valuable feedback, appreciation of services and the entertainment is greatly appreciated and would certainly be a source if inspiration to the entire team in our drive to deliver superlative level of services to our guests at all times.

We sincerely appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back at Earl's Regency during your next visit. On behalf of the entire team wishing you both all the very best and wonderful years ahead.

Many thanks in anticipation and warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed here in April as part of a tour of Sri Lanka and onwards to the Maldives, on arrival we were greeted by attentive staff . Our room was very comfortable and modern. The bathroom amazing with a large jacuzzi bath and invigorating shower very impressive. We were presented with a cake and card to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The food was excellent , great selection to suit all tastes well presented and of a high standard. Would recommend this hotel highly perfect in every way.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank sno-sno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Earls, General Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We take this opportunity to thank you for selecting Earl's Regency and for the time taken in sharing your valuable feedback with us.

We are pleased to note that the property has met your expectation and that you have enjoyed the surroundings, facilities, food and service during you stay.

We sincerely appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you and your family back at Earl's Regency during your next visit.

Many thanks in anticipation and warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Friendly Staff, Good dinner and breakfast, large rooms, good for business meetings and functions, luxurious hotel, expensive but value for money. easy to reach the temple of tooth relic and royal botanical gardens

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rasika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Earls, General Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We take this opportunity to thanks you for selecting Earl's Regency and for the time take in sharing your valuable feedback with us.

We are delighted to note that the property has met your expectations and that you have enjoyed your stay with us. You feedback is highly appreciated and would certainly boos the moral of the entire team in continuing to deliver superlative levels of service to our customers.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back at Earls Regency during your next visit in the near future.

Many thank in anticipation and warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews