We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Earl's Regency
Nearby Hotels
Knuckles View(Tennekumbura)
US$19
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$9
Booking.com
View Deal
Riverside Villa(Tennekumbura)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Casa Del Rio(Tennekumbura)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Hotel Salido(Tennekumbura)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
La Casa M(Tennekumbura)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
West 41 Kandy(Tennekumbura)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (2,315)
Filter reviews
2,315 results
Traveller rating
1,066
764
308
116
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,066
764
308
116
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindian restaurantsri lankaluxury roommain restaurantour honeymoonlovely hotelfive star hotellarge hotelswimming poolspecial thanksbuffet stylesmall balconydinner buffetnice poolrestaurant staffstayed here for two nightswelcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 2,315 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed in Earl’s Regency on a half board basis for our visit to Kandy recently.

The hotel is located approx. 10 minutes from central Kandy and the hotel is surrounded by lush greenery. We even spotted a civet cat casually roaming in the hotel ground one morning.

We stayed in a spacious deluxe room with a balcony which overlooked the pool. The rooms are located from the main hotel building where the restaurants are situated. Wifi reception and speed in the room was reliable and fast (by local standards).

There were a wide variety of different cuisines available during breakfast and dinner including a handful of dishes which are cooked to order (including grilled fish and meat during our stay).

Overall, we had an enjoyable and relaxing stay at Earl’s Regency.

NB: The hotel appears to be popular venue for weddings as we were moved to the bar area for breakfast for one morning as the main restaurant was being prepared for a wedding.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nipuni S, Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Valued Guest,

We really appreciate your keenness in sharing your genuine experience with us.

Please let us know when you are planning for your next trip to Kandy with your loved ones and we are waiting to welcome you again.

Yours Sincerely, Buwaneka Bandara, General Manager, Earl's Regency, Kandy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here with our 3 kids aged 4-9. The hotel is amazing and so picturesque. The pool was nice. We were concerned about food with the kids but the buffet restaurant was brilliant. Massive selection with changes to the specials every night. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank prg1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nipuni S, Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Valued Guest,

We are truly impressed to see that you have nominated us as a luxury hotel for the relaxing environs with cozy amenities. We really appreciate your keenness in placing an insightful review on TripAdvisor.

Please let us know when you are making arrangements for your next trip to Kandy with your loved ones and we are waiting to welcome you again.

General Manager, Earl's Regency, Kandy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Upon arriving at the hotel, we thought we had nailed it. It looked lovely from the outside, a staff member took our bags for us and we were greeted with mango sorbet while we were getting checked in. A member of staff escorted us to our room and explained the room to us, while our bags were brought up separately.

We noticed a couple things in our room which for us, meant it wasn’t quite the 5star luxury hotel as advertised. There was a burnt out plug socket in our room, ants crawling round the mirror, sink and wall in the bathroom. There was mould on the ceiling by the AC and a small hole in our ceiling. The bed was hard. The pillows however light and fluffy which were great.

The hotel prices for food and drink were certainly that of 5star hotel, but not necessarily 5star quality.

The pool area was nice, but we only used it on our last day.

The spa was really nice, we enjoyed a couples massage (15k rupee for 60mins) which left us feeling relaxed.

There was a lot of choice at the breakfast buffet. Which was good as it covered most options.

We ate at the Royal Spice Indian restaurant which was lovely, there was a little incident where a mouse ran across the restaurant while we were there but that didn’t bother us too much.

Personally, I would not say this hotel is 5star by western standards, maybe a good 3 star, however we had a comfortable enough stay.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nipuni S, Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Valued Guest,

We really appreciate your keenness in sharing your genuine experience with us.

We have taken your constructive criticism very positively and would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused.

Please let us know when you are planning for your next trip to Kandy with your loved ones and we are waiting to welcome you again.

Yours Sincerely, Buwaneka Bandara, General Manager, Earl's Regency, Kandy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We didn't like this hotel - it was probably the worst of the hotels we stayed at during our 2 week tour of Sri Lanka.

It's a large hotel and gives the impression of being modern. However, our room was very tired and dated and not clean (although the bathroom was good) - there were stains on the chairs and the rug wasn't clean. Maintenance/cleaning is clearly an issue. These points were made in the 'survey' handed out at the end of our stay.

Some of the staff are complacent and the service is patchy - some staff are very good (restaurant) and some are hopeless (front desk). We stayed 2 nights and on the second night they moved the dinner service upstairs to a function room in order to accommodate a wedding in the main restaurant. This was awful and we couldn't wait to leave. Everyone was complaining but they're not interested in the opinions of regular guests. Apparently it happens regularly.

We had a room across the elevated walkway. Be aware that a troupe of monkeys regularly visits the hotel and crosses this bridge - we encountered them and they weren't particularly pleasant. To be expected as this hotel is in a jungle area, but just be aware.

The hotel is some distance from Kandy and traffic was slow between town and hotel.

Wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Straightalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Greeted on arrival with a refreshing towel and a glass of sorbet! Large rooms that are clean and comfortable with all the amenities expected. The banana smoothies were excellent and made a pleasant change from juice. A wide selection of food available in a restaurant with a view I never got tired of seeing.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
Thank Redwitchhants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nipuni S, Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Valued Guest,

We really appreciate your keenness in sharing your genuine experience with us.

Please let us know when you are planning for your next trip to Kandy with your loved ones and we are waiting to welcome you again.

Yours Sincerely, Buwaneka Bandara, General Manager, Earl's Regency, Kandy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews