We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Birthday Breakaway”
Review of Kiwiesque

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kiwiesque
Ranked #1 of 2 Eskdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Big Birthday Breakaway”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We are a large group of friends so Justine and Baden vacated the premises for us to celebrate 4x 60th and 2x 65th birthdays this year.

What a fantastic venue to kick back and relax and just chill for 4 days. Local attractions included golf, markets and shopping.

It was a repeat visit to the region so although the vineyards and restaurants were available we had seen most of them before and revelled in wining and dining on site using the magnificent kitchen (pictured). It also meant we did not have to worry about delegated drivers.

We just relaxed in general with reading, knitting, board and card games, and the odd diversion into the spa pool, (a winter trip for us, the lap pool remained un-sampled apart from the odd toe) The magnificent fires were great to sit around.

The environment was luxurious and comfortable and entirely suitable for our celebration and for many others as well..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonja0573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiwiesque, Owner at Kiwiesque, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Hi to you all. I have just seen a few of my responses haven't been sent through so I am sorry. We just wanted to say thank you for the review and I hope one day you can return. We seem to have had a couple of cold weeks so it will be nice to see the sun and some warmth back again. Lovely though to see all the lambs running around the vineyard
All the best
Kind Regards
Justine and bayden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
39
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mammoth Lakes, California
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This was the first place we looked at for our wedding venue and we didn't need to look anywhere else. As soon as we met Justine & Bayden and saw their beautiful property, we knew it would be a perfect place to have a small, unique, stress-free wedding. The grounds are perfect and the house is perfect for accommodating family and wedding guests.

Justine & Bayden were extremely helpful with the planning process and were able to recommend many local vendors that we ended up using. Overall, the entire process was extremely relaxed and easy and we had a great wedding day!

The rooms are all beautiful, the kitchen and living areas are all extremely well equipped and well decorated and the BBQ/patio area is great for entertaining. Our caterer was able to use the BBQ area for food prep while we had our guests on the deck for dinner.

We booked the entire property for three nights and even though we didn't have the best weather, the views were still amazing and we have some stunning wedding photos by Melissa Thorburn.

On a complete side note, it is worth mentioning that we had some bad experiences with taxi services in the area. They can be pretty poor, especially on busy weekends. So if you need transport, we would recommend arranging this in advance - Justine & Bayden were very helpful with this.

The only other bad thing - three nights wasn't quite long enough, we wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiwiesque, Owner at Kiwiesque, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Hi Cassie, I was sure I responded but see nothing has gone through so I am so sorry. Thank you for your comments and I hope you are having a wonderful first year of your marriage with plenty more years to come. If you are ever back this way don't hesitate to pop in a say hello
Kind Regards
Justine and Bayden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Kiwiesque is truly beautiful. The rooms are comfortable and plush, and the showers are some of the best we had in New Zealand. We loved having breakfast on the porch outside the room. You make you own breakfast, which suited us just fine. The hosts are very nice and accommodating, never intrusive. The only caveat, and this really depends on how close you want to be to the main town area, is the distance from town. Restaurants are a 15-30 minute drive away depending on where you want to go. Since we wanted to have wine and weren't that comfortable with the roads we took a taxi, which can cost around $50 each way. Otherwise this spot is a great place to rest your head if you're looking for a romantic and comfortable vineyard setting.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank WITravellingDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiwiesque, Owner at Kiwiesque, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hi There. Thank you for your comments. Yes we do say we are 15 mins from Napier but maybe we need to make it clear that restaurants next door and close by are only open Thursday to Saturday night otherwise you need to drive 15 minutes to town.
Kind Regards
Justine and Bayden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masterton, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We absoulutely loved our stay at Kiwiesque. Everythng you could want was provided in the beautiful rooms. Great attension to details, space and room. Justine and Bayden are wonderful entertaining hosts. We will definately be back with a corporate group
.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rurallou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiwiesque, Manager at Kiwiesque, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your comments and we would love you to come back with your corporate group. Its a great place to relax and unwind as well as talking business .Look forward to seeing you again
Kind Regards
Justine and Bayden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eketahuna, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Amazing location and accommodation, everything is beautifully appointed with all you need and more, we couldn't help but feel relaxed in such lovely surroundings. Kiwiesque is a credit to Justine and Baydens' vision, hard work, and amazing eye for detail. We enjoyed Dinner and wine at Linden Vineyard, a short walk down the drive, convienence plus! Fabulous linen and furnishings makes for a very sumptuous stay. We went as a couple but will be back with family, and friends!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marktracey8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiwiesque, Owner at Kiwiesque, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. We loved having you hear and we'd love you to come back :) The leaves have all gone now off the vines but the sun is still shining with lovely mild weather . I hope you are having the same
Kind Regards
Justine and Bayden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed two nights at Kiwiesque and really loved it. Nestled amongst the rolling hills and peaceful vineyards of Hawkes Bay, it is the perfect place to stop over on a wine-tasting road trip. Justine and Bayden were great hosts - they provided a welcome drink on arrival and gave us some great tips on local restaurants and wineries. The accommodation is very classy - all high end appliances and understated decor with a great pool and hot-tub. When the autumn weather kicked in we hunkered down in comfy leather sofas, got the log fire roaring and cracked open a couple of local vintages - bliss.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAMES A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiwiesque, Owner at Kiwiesque, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you so much Jamie and Fiona for your kind words. We loved having you stay and again love it when those who do stay go away happy and had a relaxing time. Autumn has truly set in with pretty much all the leaves off the vines now. All the best and we'd love you to come back sometime.
Kind Regards
Justine and Bayden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Island
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We chose Kiwiesque as our wedding venue, and never looked back! We booked the entire property for the weekend so our family could stay with us, and also to enable us to spend the weekend celebrating, not just our wedding day! The stunning vineyard location provided the perfect settings for fabulous photos and the large property provided loads of space for people to mingle. The expansive deck and living/dining areas gave us ample room to set out food, drinks etc, and the BBQ was great to use. The modern spacious kitchen had everything we wanted with plenty of large platters and loads of wine glasses. The self-contained suites were beautiful and our guests that stayed in them only had great things to say. The luxury suite was divine, complete with gorgeous views and a fabulous ensuite with bath and dual shower. The bunkrooms provided a perfect retreat for the kids and they had a ball playing with the games provided and watching DVD’s. The other big hit with the kids, and adults was the pool. Justine and Bayden went out of their way to accommodate our wants/needs and were always very responsive. If we had to do it all over again we wouldn’t change a thing! Thanks Justine and Bayden for providing such a superb venue!!! We definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiwiesque, Manager at Kiwiesque, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Hi there, Emily you were a beautiful bride and we are so glad you had a wonderful few days. Again that's what its about bringing family and friends together and making it a very special day. We would love to see you both again and we wish you a very, very happy future.
Regards
Justine and bayden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eskdale
21.4 mi away
Greenhill Lodge
Greenhill Lodge
#3 of 18 in Hastings
57 reviews
0.9 mi away
Esk Valley Lodge
Esk Valley Lodge
#9 of 41 in Napier
94 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tequila Sunrise Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwiesque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwiesque

Property: Kiwiesque
Address: 18 Linden Close | 347 State Highway 5, Napier - Taupo Road, Eskdale 4182, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Eskdale
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Eskdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kiwiesque 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiwiesque is a new luxury vineyard accommodation retreat situated in Hawkes Bays, Esk Valley wine region. Featuring 4 double self catering suites and an option to rent the whole venue with additional rooms, indoor and outdoor living areas, lap pool, spa pool and a large modern kitchen (sleeping 14 - 18 guests). Kiwiesque also offer conferencing facilities as well as exclusive venue hire options. Hosts Justine and Bayden offer guests the best of what is on offer in the Hawkes Bay whether it be relaxation, wine, cuisine, scenery, architecture or action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kiwiesque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing