We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not sure it's worth the little bit you save compared to super 8!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Delux Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ida Grove
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Delux Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ida Grove
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not sure it's worth the little bit you save compared to super 8!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We were disappointed with our stay this last time at Delux Motel. We had a room in the older section, the smell was pretty bad in the room, the bed, furniture and decor were very old, and it just seemed dirty. Other family members stayed in the newer section and thought the room was okay "if you don't mind the bare minimum for decor." I wouldn't mind staying in the older section with the older decor and even smell if they charged a lower rate for our room, but they did not. I am done staying at Delux Motel in Ida Grove. If the Super 8 is booked, we'll try staying in Cherokee, Iowa.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marko23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    3
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
Couples
0
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sd
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

I've stayed here several times. If you book early enough to get into the upper tier of rooms, they are very nice, roomy, and quite new; they do cost a bit more than the lower tier, where rooms are smaller. There is a refrigerator and microwave, but coffee is not provided. I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rheino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morton, Illinois
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

We made a booking with the Deluxe motel for 2 triple rooms and 1 single room. We called again a couple of weeks ahead of our trip to confirm the rooms. Nothing is quite like a very long car ended with the blank look when you ask the person at the desk about your booking. They had the 2 triple rooms - no single on the books for us. What made it particularly irking is that the lady behind the desk simply stated she had no single room for us under our name, and kind of left it at that. Finally my husband asked "Well, do you *have* a single room available?" At which we were provided a smoking room, which we were assured did not smell of smoke. Well, one step into the room and we were greeted with wall of smoke stench. After returning to the office to inform the lady this was not going to work, we were finally given a non smoking room - the keys of which did not work. After much ado, we were shown how to finesse the lock. We were expecting to be put in the newer - renovated section - but this was perhaps our fault for not confirming that. The room was basic and served it's needs. A bed, a bathroom and tv. The lamp was stained that the room was stuffy. On the second day I came back to find our bathroom half-cleaned and a rag with a huge clump of hair on it sitting on the sink. Yuk. All in all, it served our needs, but between the service and cleanliness - we will not be returning.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here, make sure you are put in the newer, renovated section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

I have been staying at the Delux in Ida Grove for just over 10 years. It provides accommodation for workers, visiting seasonal hunters, overnight travelers and families. It has two tiers of accommodation, the first tier in the older section at the front of the hotel which charges a very low rate and the newer section at the rear which has a small surcharge. It is not a luxury hotel or ideal for a romantic getaway, but it is basic, clean and functional accommodation in a very small country town - at real value prices.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimothyFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2010

I tried to book the B&B in town, but they didn't take credit cards. That only left the Super 8 and the Delux, so I decided to check it out. The place is old, but VERY CLEAN and quiet. The room's interior had been updated, with everything in good shape - counters, carpet, paint, etc. Everything worked well - Cable TV, good shower, very good wireless internet. Typical cold breakfast - juice, coffee, cereal, pastries. Front desk very friendly and eager to help. The low price almost scared me away, but I'm glad I checked it out. My only complaints were the cheap mattress (in good shape) and the shower head was low - about neck height. I still got a good shower and a god night's sleep.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Firewalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ida Grove
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Ida Grove
Super 8 Ida Grove
#1 of 2 in Ida Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
22.5 mi away
Historical Park Motel
Historical Park Motel
#3 of 5 in Denison
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
11.0 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites Holstein
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delux Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delux Motel

Property: Delux Motel
Address: 5981 State Highway 175, Ida Grove, IA 51445-8089
Region: United States > Iowa > Ida Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ida Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Delux Motel is locally owned and operated for over 30 years, a bit of nostalgia in a small community. Ample sized rooms with vintage decor and modern amenities including a personal fridge, microwave, cable television and free wireless internet. Smoking and nonsmoking rooms are available and we are pet friendly, for an extra fee. We have an updated wing that was built in early 2000, pet-free and smoke-free with 14 rooms. 1 of which has a hot tub and 1 that has a kitchenette with the same vintage charm and modern amenities. Our motel may be a little older than some but they are as clean as can be!! Feel free to ask the staff any questions you may have. We are all willing to help out our customers :)Our Lobby hours are from 6:30 am til 11:00 pm daily but if you are driving late and need a room please ring our doorbell or call our phone number! We have posted additional ways of contacting us on our front door. Please be patient, management WILL be with you! We do not want anyone missing out on a good nights rest!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing