We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent evening”
Review of Baroncini

Baroncini
Ranked #14 of 251 Restaurants in Iowa City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Chef Baroncini's philosophy of using fresh, seasonal, and local ingredients is represented in his contemporary Italian cuisine. Gianluca Baroncini graduated from the Italian national culinary institute in Verona, Italy, in 1991. He is the former Executive Chef of Terrazza Di Giulietta in Verona, Italy, executive chef of the Mauro's catering. He worked as Assistant chef at the Ristorante Il Desco, which received a two star Michelin guide prestigious award in Verona, Italy. Gianluca worked at the Tiberio's, Il Giardino, and as assistant chef du rang at the prestigious Galileo, fine dining Italian restaurant in Washington D.C..
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent evening”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We went for an early dinner at the restaurant before an early show nearby. We noted that we were under a little time pressure when the wait staff first approached. They were very accommodating. Two of us ordered lasagna, one ordered a dish of homemade macaroni with prosciutto and vegetables in a light cream sauce, and I ordered fresh line-caught Ahi tuna coated in sesame seeds and seared lightly, served on a bed of greens. This was one of the best tuna dishes that I have had anywhere. We ended the meal with several different excellent desserts in plenty of time for the show. The wait staff was very well-versed in both the menu items and the very extensive wine list. It was a very enjoyable evening.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abcox0324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    36
    13
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Solon, Iowa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Want to wait an hour for your food?”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Made reservations two weeks in advance. Our table was not ready when we arrived. Ordered and waited ONE HOUR for our food. Food was excellent but we had out of town guests and had raved about Baroncini's. A terrible disappointment.
It will be a very long time before we return. There are other great restaurants in Iowa City

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ldyluck2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Fine Italian dining in downtown IC”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Excellent Italian dining with an ever changing menu. Outstanding service in a cozy atmosphere. I have visited several times and have never left hungry. The bruschetta is a wonderful start and the entrees always delight the palate.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bobgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, WI
Level Contributor
405 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Must have been an off day, but still good”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We went for lunch during graduation weekend, and it was not crowded at all -- amazing. Very nicely decorated and pleasant wait staff. However, miscommunication between the hostess and waitress as we waited quite a while and had to ask for menus, for which waitress was very apologetic. We also noticed later that ours was the only table in the place without a white tablecloth. No biggie but odd. Appetizers of smoked salmon (smoke their own) and thinly slice steak was tasty, and the tiramisu was sensational presentation, small but delicious. My steak salad was very attractive, but my daughter's Pasticcio Di Lasagne Alla Bolognese was ghastly: looked like a ladle full of hamburger helper in middle of the plate with NOTHING else, not even garnish. It was frankly embarrassing compared to our other plates. To beat that, the waitress brought my wife the wrong meal; pretty quick turn around, but really. Write it down. I guess dinner is more predictable and far more pricey.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank occdocbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Top quality meal, pleasant surroundings”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent meal for a special occasion. Everything was perfect. A bit pricey but good for a special celebration.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KnitCatFit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baroncini also viewed

 

Been to Baroncini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing