We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Iowa City
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Iowa City
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst hotel ever!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

When we arrived they didn't have a room available, even though we had already booked one, because there weren't any clean. There is no hot tub like it shows in the pictures. The beds were so hard and uncomfortable. The ceiling was leaking water all over in various places throughout the hotel. They had no towels for swimming and refused to tell me when they would be done drying. The hot water for the shower ran out in a couple minutes. So we had a cold shower and no clean towels. The tv was ancient and the remote wouldn't work. The breakfast selection was very limited and not very good. Overall, a horrible experience I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 113Morgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    123
    127
    128
    124
See reviews for
242
113
54
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Worst hotel stay ever. Charged $84.00 Got a receipt in the morning for $64.00
Bathroom door would not shut. Could not flush toilet. Had to remove tank cover reach in and pull hard to get it to flush, gross. Rooms are very antiquated. They said they had continental breakfast, phbbpphbb. I usually look forward to that. Went to breakfast all there was, was cold cereal milk orange juice and these mini bagels and mini muffins. Coffee so nasty no one could drink. I watched people try they threw it away. All in all the rooms appear clean and can at least sleep. The hotel still has old dinosaur CRT Televisions

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dadmomdaughterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larwill
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

For paying $83.00 I certainly expected better.The beds felt as if they were 30 years old,found a long black hair on a "Clean" towel in the bathroom which did not belong to the rooms current occupants,initially the toilet didn't want to flush,and I woke up with a slightly sore throat.If your single it could be tolerable,but if you have children,prepare to wash their hands frequently and don't let them touch the floor without shoes on.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WanderingSunlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

They weren't welcoming to begin with. We've been here a day and they acted like we didn't need to be there. Our toilet was clogged and wasn't even going to fix it. The room is nasty. Free WiFi? Forget that! They said they would have it fixed by four p.m. this evening, we came back at 9:30 p.m. and they said NO! Its still down! They also said they have a hot tub and heated pool, LIE, we asked the girl if the was one and she shouted "NO!" Will never stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Notahappycamper07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponce Inlet, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We're on our way to Colorado to visit family. My husband & I are retired & travel with our 2 small dogs. It is difficult to find pet-friendly motels that don't charge an arm & leg pet "cleaning" fee which is usually non-refundable. Normally I do my homework before booking; read reviews, check policies & fees, etc. This was a short notice trip so, here I sit, on a lumpy mattress, shoes still on because floors are so dirty, swatting flies which are plentiful in this room, and trying to figure out how I am going to sleep without touching the sheets!! Thankfully I have a small blanket in the car. I have no internet as tech support told me it has been suspended here due to lack of payment! My complaints re: lack of wifi & filth of room have fallen on deaf ears. If I thought we could get a refund, I'd be out of here in a flash! Disgusting!!! Do NOT stay here unless you're a fan of The Bates Motel!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvilMomFromHell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Everything is very old an outdated. The carpet was worn and stained with a huge wet spot outside the bathroom door. It appeared that the shower leaked. The sink/counter hung at a strange angle and looked like it would fall off the wall. There was a roach in the bathroom. The whole place was creepy and dirty. I couldn't wait to leave in the morning!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iowa City
3.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
0.5 mi away
Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
#2 of 6 in Iowa City
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville
Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville
#13 of 20 in Coralville
424 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
2.3 mi away
Iowa House Hotel
Iowa House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Iowa City
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Iowa City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Iowa City

Property: Travelodge Iowa City
Address: 2216 N Dodge St, I-80,Exit 246, Iowa City, IA 52245-9593
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Iowa City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Iowa City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Iowa City 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Iowa City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Iowa City Hotel Iowa City
Travel Lodge Iowa City
Iowa City Travel Lodge
Iowa City Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing