We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center
Nearby Hotels
US$170
US$152
GardenInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$178
US$173
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Iowa House Hotel(Iowa City)
US$104
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
US$153
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
50
55
48
40
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
55
48
40
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice poolwafflesroom was cleanoff the highwayfront desk staffhot breakfaststayed one nightwould stay here againconvenient locationreclinercerealwhirlpool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2012

The staff has and continues to be exceptional. Will recommend this hotel to family, friends and co-workers. Thank you Clarion for letting us use your facilities for our church services and the pool area. The Hotel is beautifully decorated and has amazing personnel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwalker_detroit, Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Greetings Susan H:

Thank you for your great comments regarding our facilities. Our team appreciates the positive feedback.

Thank you
Richard Walker
Corporate Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Very clean, nice staff, great lounge and pool. Beds a little hard, no pillow top, otherwise everyting good. price was very good comparied to other hotels on game day and will let you stay one night......

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwalker_detroit, Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Greetings Haart:

Thank you for your feedback regarding our hotel's staff and facilities. I have gone ahead and shared your comments with our housekeeping manager who will look into the bed issue. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the area for a game.

Thank you
Richard Walker
Corporate Sales Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

There are so many nicer motels in the area! Stains on carpet, broken door handles, dirt everywhere, check in staff poor...oh and check your rates if you made an on line reservation..they changed our rate, with no advance notice, and we arrived too late to cancel the reservation without being charged. This motel should be reported to the board of health

Room Tip: there are no good rooms in this old un kept motel
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potique J, Director of Sales at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Dear Guest:

We value our guest’s opinions and greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your disappointment during your stay at the Clarion Highlander Hotel & Conference Center. I want to personally apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced because of the issues you have mentioned.
We encourage our guests to let us know during their stay if something is not up to their satisfaction, so we can correct it right away. We try to call each guest after their check in just so we can ensure that everything is up to their satisfaction. We are known in this area for our clean guest rooms and our attention to detail. Many guests choose our hotel just for this reason.
We want our guests to have the best stay possible where everything exceeds their expectations. I am truly sorry that this was not the case during your stay. Our guests are the most important part of our business and I am confident if you will give us another chance to prove to you how much we appreciate you as our guest you will not be disappointed.
Again, thank you for making the effort to share your thoughts with us. We value you as a guest, and I want you to know that your concerns are our concerns! We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

This hotel was super clean. The registering~front desk worker at check-in was super nice! We booked our room from priceline for a great deal!! The pool is actually really big and goes to 8 ft so you can swim in with without touching the bottom. The rooms had nice beds and was clean. Still has an older tv but it gets all the channels (all we were gonna to have on was the Olympics anyway). The breakfast was in a nice, separate area and had waffles, biscuits and gravy, coffee cake, cereal (the normal continental breakfast givings). It is just a little away from everything. It is about 6 miles to the shopping area, mall which is nice to have a quiet hotel. The parking lot is a little strange though. It looks like you are following the road but it is a dead end. I guess it is good parking if you were in a huge truck or such. Only downside, we left my son's blanket and didn't realize it until we got home and it is gone (we went from the hotel to the car and drove home so it had to be there because he slept with it there). So please double and triple check before you leave

Room Tip: they have rooms that open up to the pool and rooms that open out to outside garden-like area. we just had a normal room that didn't open. I wouldn't recommend being pool side but I have little kids who would bug me to swim the whole time
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilesLaBelle_Mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Not the newest or best equipped but still a comfortable stay. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. Check in went smooth and quick. As I made my way to the second floor corridor the smell of smoke was very strong. Either this hotel used to have smoking rooms and haven't been able to purge the smell or some inconsiderate smokers couldn't be bothered to take it outside. Once in the room I was pleasantly surprised that the smoke smell was not present. The room was comfortable and clean. Nice sized desk for doing some work and the tv was situated so that it could be seen from the desk. I would happily stay here again especially considering the ease of on /off I80 vs. the zoo down the road at Coralville.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
Thank The8racer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews