We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Graduate Iowa City(Iowa City)
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Official Site
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Iowa House Hotel(Iowa City)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brown Street Inn(Iowa City)
Book now, pay at stay
US$140
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plum Grove Inn(Iowa City)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
51
56
50
40
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
51
56
50
40
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice poolwafflesroom was cleanbiscuits and gravyoff the highwayfront desk staffexercise roomhot breakfastwould stay here againconvenient locationreclinercerealwhirlpool
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 224 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Our family tries to get together at least once during the winter months. It is hard finding a hotel that we can all gather around the pool area to visit, and to keep a watchful eye on the kids. We had a very nice stay!

Room Tip: Love the pool side rooms!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parth D, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!

We loved having your family here at our hotel. We enjoy the chance to host such events. Our poolside rooms are very popular. Its nice to be able to offer it to guests.

We look forward to hosting your family again!

Thank you,

Parth Dholakia
Clarion Highlander Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We rented 6 rooms for a family outing in early Feb. The pool was good for all the kids to swim, but the whirlpool was too warm to sit in and enjoy. There was a dog in the pool area. We asked to have the overhead lights turned on in the pool area several times (because the day was cloudy) before they were finally turned on. The "hot" breakfast was anything but hot. The warming trays didn't seem to work so we had to warm up the eggs, sausage, and gravy for the bisquits in the microwave.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parth D, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

Firstly, I would like to apologize for your experience during your recent visit. Your concerns and issues are all valid and should have never took place.

I will be discussing your feedback in our next meeting to ensure that we don't repeat our mistakes.
Although we are a pet friendly hotel, Guests are informed at check in, about rules regarding their pets. Pets are not allowed in common areas like the pool. we will do a better job of enforcing these rules to allow a safer environment for other guests like your family.

Front desk agents should take charge in resolving issues like turning the lights on immediately after your initial notice. It should not have taken as long as it did.

We want to ensure that breakfast quality is at its best. Hot foods should be served hot, and we are checking to make sure that the warmers are working as they should and that breakfast attendants have the tools to be able to provide a good quality breakfast daily.

We would love another chance to accommodate your family once again, and to show you that we can provide a superior experience. Please contact me directly at pdholakia@globalvisionhotels.com during your next trip in the area. I will personally ensure you and your family have a pleasant stay.

Regards,

Parth Dholakia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

It was a decent hotel. The service was incredible. Parth was one of the most hospitable hotel managers I've ever met

Good price. Nice hot tub. I would certainly recommend it to anyone looking for a decent place to stay.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Allen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parth D, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. I really appreciate your kind words about our service.

It gives us pleasure to make sure that our guests have a comfortable, enjoyable stay. we are glad to know that we were able to have a part in making your trip a little more smoother.

Thank you for staying at the Clarion Highlander Hotel, and we hope to see you again.

Best Regards,

Parth Dholakia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Check in staff was friendly and efficient. Room was clean when I got there. Flat screen TV with cable. Had a good night's sleep. Some areas near the front desk were under renovation but this was not a problem. Check out was quick. Had a good stay and looking forward to more in the future!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Joe_Martin516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parth D, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay.

We are excited at the Clarion Highlander Hotel. We are in the process of renovating our new bar called Against the Grain. We are also renovating a brand-new fitness center. I am sure you will enjoy our new amenities on your next trip here.

We look forward to having you here again,

Thank you,

Parth Dholakia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Today Jeffrey was extremely helpful with our travel plans given the impact of the government shut down. Extremely professional and courteous!! I will always consider your property when traveling in the area. Appreciate your assistance!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Heartland T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parth D, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Hello,

Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate you for taking the time to give us your feedback on Trip Advisor.

Jeffery and all the staff at the Clarion Highlander Hotel in Iowa City are very happy to here that you had a great stay and enjoyed our service.

We look forward to your next visit to the Clarion Highlander Hotel.

Sincerely,

Parth Dholakia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews