We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$152
GardenInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Graduate Iowa City(Iowa City)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iowa House Hotel(Iowa City)
Free cancellation until 04/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brown Street Inn(Iowa City)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alexis Park Inn & Suites(Iowa City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 04/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveller rating
51
57
50
40
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
51
57
50
40
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice poolwafflesroom was cleanbiscuits and gravyoff the highwayfront desk staffexercise roomhot breakfastwould stay here againconvenient locationreclinercerealwhirlpool
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 225 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Reservations made by friends. We had a small group (10) in town for an Iowa football game. We were able to have a cook-out in the parking lot, but didn't have any place inside to gather as a group, except poolside. Rooms were nice, clean and comfortable. Pool area busy and the noise echo'd throughout the night (past 3:00 a.m.) with people having fun. Didn't bother me, but bothered others. Staff was pleasant and polite. Poor value because room prices were jacked up for the football weekend (doubled), and that is always annoying. We slept through breakfast, so I can't comment. I would stay here again if we could get a better rate next time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miami1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parth D, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Due to the busy events in Iowa City such as football home games. The Hotel room prices tend to be higher. However, there are some other great Iowa city events when the rates are lower. and we would to host you again.

Thank you for your review!

Parth Dholakia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

One night for business. They have a nice pool, gym and a quant little Bar and Grill that have the best wings (with bourbon sauce). The room was very nice, clean and quiet. Nice place for business or family and the cost was very reasonable but I was on a government rate.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Philcoleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parth D, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Hello,

Thank you for staying at the Clarion Highlander Hotel. We are so glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. Also, We are happy to know that you enjoyed Against the grain Bar and Lounge. We are proud to provide a quaint dining experience right in the hotel.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Thank you,

Parth Dholakia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I have stayed in multiple hotels around the Iowa City area when friends and family come to visit. The Clarion has honestly been my first disappointment. Upon arrival it looked well put together, we stayed in a king suite and it was huge, facing the pool. The first disappointment was that we could not get the fireplace to function. We called the front desk, they tried to give us instructions but they were just as lost as us, they didn't seem to know the setup of it at all. We eventually found the power button and "setting" button but neither of them worked.

Then as we were looking through the room, we found leftover ketchup packets and napkins in one of the bedside table drawers. Clearly housekeeping didn't do too well that morning.

The pool was big, a lot of room in the area. The hotub was nice and slightly elevated which was also nice because you didn't have little kids running around and splashing you in the face. The noise level was loud but tolerable, I could see where someone on business may not have enjoyed having a pool-side room.

The worst part was the next morning when we wokeup to gather our things. We went to grab some clothes that were thrown on the floor and to our surprise there were ANTS crawling all over them. We had to wash them off in the sink but there were still ants crawling around on the floor. It was near the mini-fridge but we did not have any food or crumbs on the floor.

When checking out, the front desk asked us how the room was. We immediately complained about the ants and then went on to the trash in the drawers and the non-functioning fireplace. The man working at the front desk looked up our reservation. He apolagized for the "inconvenience" but said that since our room was pre-paid (through Southwest rapid rewards) they could not do anything about it. Needless to say, we do not plan on going back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renae J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parth D, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We will be discussing your review in our next meeting. We hold a higher standard of service and cleanliness that what you experience.

Our staff at the front desk should be more informed about the room amenities so that they can answer and help guests. Housekeeping associates should be detail oriented and ensure a clean comfortable room.

Please contact me directly to discuss further about your stay at 319-354-2000 or pdholakia@globalvisionhotels.com. I would love the opportunity to provide a superior experience to you during your next stay in Iowa City.

Thank you,

Parth Dholakia
General Manager
Clarion Highlander Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Our family tries to get together at least once during the winter months. It is hard finding a hotel that we can all gather around the pool area to visit, and to keep a watchful eye on the kids. We had a very nice stay!

Room Tip: Love the pool side rooms!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parth D, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!

We loved having your family here at our hotel. We enjoy the chance to host such events. Our poolside rooms are very popular. Its nice to be able to offer it to guests.

We look forward to hosting your family again!

Thank you,

Parth Dholakia
Clarion Highlander Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We rented 6 rooms for a family outing in early Feb. The pool was good for all the kids to swim, but the whirlpool was too warm to sit in and enjoy. There was a dog in the pool area. We asked to have the overhead lights turned on in the pool area several times (because the day was cloudy) before they were finally turned on. The "hot" breakfast was anything but hot. The warming trays didn't seem to work so we had to warm up the eggs, sausage, and gravy for the bisquits in the microwave.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parth D, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

Firstly, I would like to apologize for your experience during your recent visit. Your concerns and issues are all valid and should have never took place.

I will be discussing your feedback in our next meeting to ensure that we don't repeat our mistakes.
Although we are a pet friendly hotel, Guests are informed at check in, about rules regarding their pets. Pets are not allowed in common areas like the pool. we will do a better job of enforcing these rules to allow a safer environment for other guests like your family.

Front desk agents should take charge in resolving issues like turning the lights on immediately after your initial notice. It should not have taken as long as it did.

We want to ensure that breakfast quality is at its best. Hot foods should be served hot, and we are checking to make sure that the warmers are working as they should and that breakfast attendants have the tools to be able to provide a good quality breakfast daily.

We would love another chance to accommodate your family once again, and to show you that we can provide a superior experience. Please contact me directly at pdholakia@globalvisionhotels.com during your next trip in the area. I will personally ensure you and your family have a pleasant stay.

Regards,

Parth Dholakia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews