We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Iowa City
Burlington, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very Roomy”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was a wonderful stay for 5. The rooms are extremely roomy. Our room overlooked the pool area. Nice to have a small patio area to sit on and watch the kids swim. The pool area was very large with plenty of area around it to walk and socialize (didn't get overly loud). The staff was very nice and accomodating. Great place to stay when staying with a large group.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parth D, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hello,

Thank you so much for your feedback. we were delighted to host you. You are absolutely right. Our poolside rooms are very popular for large families and groups. It makes for a great social atmosphere.

We would be delighted to host you again.

Thank you,

Parth Dholakia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    52
    44
    38
    23
See reviews for
66
38
7
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Thank you! Very nice facilities and friendly staff. Pool was clean though I didn't have time to jump in, but my friend's kid loved it and I was glad to have a room with a balcony to watch her. Thank you again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parth D, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We were delighted to have you stay with us. It gives us pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay.

We would love to host you again.

Thank you,

Parth Dholakia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

While the hotel facilities were very good and the pool excellent the entire experience was ruined by two things.

1. We went to the Great Grains restaurant at the suggestion of the desk clerk. While waiting 40 minutes for our meal (there was only one other couple ahead of us), we were subjected to the worst loud voices and profanity (f-bombs and cursing) by three men at the bar.

It shouldn't take 40 minutes to cook and deliver a meal. If the kitchen is short-staffed, then hire another cook. No one should have to be subjected to such insensitive, rude, boorish behavior while waiting for their meals.

2. Although our room was in back of hotel away from traffic noise, we were subjected to noisy children running up and down the hallways and shrieking. I opened door once and told them to either play outside or go to their rooms. At 9:30pm, I called the front desk to complain; at 10:15, the children were still running up and down the hallways.

After having driven all day and expecting to drive all day the following day, we wanted to SLEEP! We had been traveling for 12 days and this was the worst night we spent anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Muguvian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parth D, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I would like to apologize about your experience. Even though you may have enjoyed our hotel, a couple of things went wrong that ruined your stay.

I can understand how annoying it can be to have noise from the hallways disturbing you late into the evening. Also, 40 minutes to wait for your meal is excessive. We will be taking the appropriate action to make sure that we can work on our service speed in the restaurant.

We hope that you will give us another chance to give you a superior experience.

Parth Dholakia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2014

the service was excellant. You don;t have ro wait to get a room. The hot tub needed some work, but at least it was hot. The rooms are very comfortable and the maid service is very efficient. Great too

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parth D, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our service. Our staff works hard to take care of every guest. Your feedback will empower them to continue giving excellent service

Thank you,

Parth Dholakia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Ranchos de Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We had a coupon from those Motel Coupon books you find at the visitors centers. Extremely reasonable price for a very nice king room. Clarion is part of the Choice Hotel chain and they have recently updated all of their bedding. The pillows are especially soft and inviting.

We got there about 8pm. There are a couple of restaurants very close by.

The fitness room was really good- elliptical, bike, and treadmill with a tv with all the channels. The pool was actually large enough to swim laps!

Very clean, good service, quiet. Breakfast was decent. Coffee good. Satisfied all of our needs.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane_E_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parth D, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel All of the staff at the Clarion Highlander would like to thank you for staying with us.

We are so glad to know that you enjoyed our amenities. We look forward to hosting you again.

Thank you,

Parth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albion, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This hotel looks like, (from it's exterior), a completely remodeled Howard Johnsons, (this isn't a bad thing, just an observation). Everything was fresh and clean. The room was exactly as reserved. The staff was courteous. We left before the restaurant opened, so didn't eat there at all. The pool area looked very decent.
The only thing that wasn't appealing was that previous guests hadn't cleaned up after their pets and both rooms our foursome stayed in had pet feces left on the outside patio and surrounding grass area. It's tough to ask the maids to clean up after that - as I'm sure they didn't hire on for that. It's too bad that some dirtbag lazy people won't even pick up after thier own pets, (or probably themselve's either). Sorry for that little rant - lazy people are just a pet peeve of mine).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parth D, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the time you took to give us feedback regarding your stay. We are sorry to hear about the cleanliness in the patio and surrounding areas. We will make sure that that the outside areas are clean.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed our service. We hope to host you again soon.

Thank you,

Parth Dholakia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

we stayed in this hotel one night. it is the very very good hotel for their price.
our room was very nice and clean, almost everything was new and so there weren't any problems neither in bathroom nor in the room.
on the breakfast we have had omlet, boiled eggs, sausages, yogurt, cakes and fruits (apples and bananas).

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TerenyukTatiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parth D, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We love your feedback. All the staff at the Clarion Highlander Hotel work hard to make sure that all guests enjoy their stay. We all feel appreciated by your words. Thank you for uploading some pictures from your stay also

We look forward to hosting you again.

Thank you,

Parth Dholakia
General Manager
Clarion Highlander Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iowa City
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Iowa City
Travelodge Iowa City
#4 of 7 in Iowa City
594 reviews
3.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
#2 of 7 in Iowa City
453 reviews
2.8 mi away
Iowa House Hotel
Iowa House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Iowa City
99 reviews
2.8 mi away
hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 2525 N Dodge St, Iowa City, IA 52245-9556 (Formerly Quality Inn Highlander Conference)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Iowa City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Iowa City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off Interstate 80, the Clarion Hotel® Highlander Conference Center hotel is less than four miles from the University of Iowa. Local points of interest like the Carver-Hawkeye Arena multipurpose venue, the North Dodge Athletic Club and Amana Colonies National Historic Landmark are all just minutes away from this Iowa City, IA hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Highlander Hotel Iowa City
Quality Inn Iowa City
Iowa City Quality Inn
Clarion Highlander Hotel And Conference Center Iowa City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing