We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Iowa House Hotel(Iowa City)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Graduate Iowa City(Iowa City)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Brown Street Inn(Iowa City)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
51
56
50
40
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
51
56
50
40
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice poolwafflesroom was cleanbiscuits and gravyoff the highwayfront desk staffexercise roomhot breakfastwould stay here againconvenient locationreclinercerealwhirlpool
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 224 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was a wonderful stay for 5. The rooms are extremely roomy. Our room overlooked the pool area. Nice to have a small patio area to sit on and watch the kids swim. The pool area was very large with plenty of area around it to walk and socialize (didn't get overly loud). The staff was very nice and accomodating. Great place to stay when staying with a large group.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parth D, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Hello,

Thank you so much for your feedback. we were delighted to host you. You are absolutely right. Our poolside rooms are very popular for large families and groups. It makes for a great social atmosphere.

We would be delighted to host you again.

Thank you,

Parth Dholakia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Thank you! Very nice facilities and friendly staff. Pool was clean though I didn't have time to jump in, but my friend's kid loved it and I was glad to have a room with a balcony to watch her. Thank you again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parth D, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We were delighted to have you stay with us. It gives us pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay.

We would love to host you again.

Thank you,

Parth Dholakia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

While the hotel facilities were very good and the pool excellent the entire experience was ruined by two things.

1. We went to the Great Grains restaurant at the suggestion of the desk clerk. While waiting 40 minutes for our meal (there was only one other couple ahead of us), we were subjected to the worst loud voices and profanity (f-bombs and cursing) by three men at the bar.

It shouldn't take 40 minutes to cook and deliver a meal. If the kitchen is short-staffed, then hire another cook. No one should have to be subjected to such insensitive, rude, boorish behavior while waiting for their meals.

2. Although our room was in back of hotel away from traffic noise, we were subjected to noisy children running up and down the hallways and shrieking. I opened door once and told them to either play outside or go to their rooms. At 9:30pm, I called the front desk to complain; at 10:15, the children were still running up and down the hallways.

After having driven all day and expecting to drive all day the following day, we wanted to SLEEP! We had been traveling for 12 days and this was the worst night we spent anywhere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Muguvian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parth D, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I would like to apologize about your experience. Even though you may have enjoyed our hotel, a couple of things went wrong that ruined your stay.

I can understand how annoying it can be to have noise from the hallways disturbing you late into the evening. Also, 40 minutes to wait for your meal is excessive. We will be taking the appropriate action to make sure that we can work on our service speed in the restaurant.

We hope that you will give us another chance to give you a superior experience.

Parth Dholakia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

the service was excellant. You don;t have ro wait to get a room. The hot tub needed some work, but at least it was hot. The rooms are very comfortable and the maid service is very efficient. Great too

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parth D, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our service. Our staff works hard to take care of every guest. Your feedback will empower them to continue giving excellent service

Thank you,

Parth Dholakia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We had a coupon from those Motel Coupon books you find at the visitors centers. Extremely reasonable price for a very nice king room. Clarion is part of the Choice Hotel chain and they have recently updated all of their bedding. The pillows are especially soft and inviting.

We got there about 8pm. There are a couple of restaurants very close by.

The fitness room was really good- elliptical, bike, and treadmill with a tv with all the channels. The pool was actually large enough to swim laps!

Very clean, good service, quiet. Breakfast was decent. Coffee good. Satisfied all of our needs.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane_E_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parth D, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel All of the staff at the Clarion Highlander would like to thank you for staying with us.

We are so glad to know that you enjoyed our amenities. We look forward to hosting you again.

Thank you,

Parth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews