We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Iowa City
St. Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bad Hotel!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2007

Very dirty hotel. There was food in our room from prior guests. Nasty. Room next door had an all night party going on with all teenagers. Kept my family up all night long. Desk clerk was a complete jerk. He said he can`t stop a party. Didn`t even offer a discount or apolgize. Breakfast was a joke. No bowls, sour milk, and a few stale pastries. Just the way i wanted to start the day off.
Hotel looked like it hasn`t been cleaned since the 70`s..It needs major updates! Like new everything. (Including staff). I`d sleep in my car before I stayed here again...A much better choice is the brand new Marriott in Coralville. I would have stayed at the beautiful Marriott, but it was booked. Anyway, stay away from the dirty Highlander Inn. You`ll be glad you did!

  • Liked — Nothing at all
  • Disliked — dirty and noisy
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Soes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    49
    39
    37
    20
See reviews for
60
34
7
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, IA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2005

Had initial problem with check-in as room was not available, but the front desk staff quickly found another room. Banquet service was excellent - friendly waiters and waitresses. Pool area was clean; exercise room had basic equipment. Room was spacious and well-appointed.

  • Stayed June 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe_Martin516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2004

The front desk was very helpful in making our reservation and when we arrived the desk manager was very aware of our request. This is an older class hotel which has been updated. The suites are really super for a family with a TV, fireplace, wet bar, recliner, ref, and eating area.
The continental breakfast is not fancy but has the basics. Excellent pool area with pool side rooms available.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2004

We stayed here one night for a wedding. The motel is out of the town of Iowa City, and it is old with little renovations. The motel is dingy--dirty carpets, poor lighting, and lots of general noise. The smell of smoke hangs in the air throughout the hallways and rooms. Our A/C didn't work very well and was really noisy. There's also thin walls between rooms, so you can easily hear what's going on down the hall. When we left the next morning, a crushed beer can was propping open the "secured" door to the outside and pizza boxes were overflowing out of the trash cans. That about sums up the place.

Yes, there is an indoor pool, but all in all, this motel was way too expensive for a below-average roadside motel. I would recommend looking elsewhere because this hotel has little to offer.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geyser, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2004

I have stayed at this hotel in past. It has always been a great business hotel with good food, poolside pub, and conference rooms. My most recent stay revealed that all rooms have been completely renovated. They said all rooms have recliners. I got a two room business class suite with a large desk and desk chair, kitchenette, fireplace, recliner, sofa and new Serta mattresses. It is awesome and priced well. Will stay when traveling down I-80 to and from Chicago.

Helpful?
5 Thank Jmpstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2003

I came into Iowa City for a friends wedding, and was extremely impressed with the Highlander Inn. All of the rooms are newly renovated, and they have a very nice pool and hot tub area. The wedding reception was a blast, and the food is unbelievable. I would definately recommend this place.

Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iowa City
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
2.9 mi away
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
#2 of 6 in Iowa City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Iowa City
Travelodge Iowa City
#5 of 6 in Iowa City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
2.8 mi away
Iowa House Hotel
Iowa House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Iowa City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
3.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 2525 North Dodge Street, Iowa City, IA 52245 (Formerly Quality Inn Highlander Conference)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Iowa City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Iowa City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off Interstate 80, the Clarion Hotel® Highlander Conference Center hotel is less than four miles from the University of Iowa. Local points of interest like the Carver-Hawkeye Arena multipurpose venue, the North Dodge Athletic Club and Amana Colonies National Historic Landmark are all just minutes away from this Iowa City, IA hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Highlander Hotel Iowa City
Quality Inn Iowa City
Iowa City Quality Inn
Clarion Highlander Hotel And Conference Center Iowa City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing