We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alexis Park Inn & Suites
Nearby Hotels
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iowa House Hotel(Iowa City)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
36
17
7
9
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
17
7
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchengranola barstwo queen bedsplace to stayjacuzzicereal
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I've stayed here at least a dozen times in the last year and a half. Whenever I come to iowa city always stay here. It's always been very clean. Huge rooms. Flat screen tv's and jacuzzi. Hanna and the whole staff has always been very polite and informative.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bgjnsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

http://www.kcrg.com/news/crime/Iowa-City-Police-Alexis-Park-Inn-Standoff-252393041.html , When we returned to our room after a concert, we entered a hallway filled with police & a tacticle defense team. Alexis Park Inn made no attempt to contact us or to remove us from pending danger. After several hours of screaming, banging on doors, K9s barking, etc. a window was broken & tear gas dispensed into the room directly below us. Obviously, we were very frightened and got no sleep. Not only did they knowingly place us in a VERY dangerous situation and expose us to tear gas, management refused to credit the charge. I understand that this incident was not fault of the facility, but that is NO way to do business. also note that this is on a very busy street with lots of truck noise.

Room Tip: stay as far away from the road as possible if you are willing to take a chance and try it al all.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelerCOTAPTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexis2009, Manager at Alexis Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

It is an unfortunate and uninvited incident that happened at our hotel and registration was under another person's name. The Guest wrote this review stayed on the third floor and the incident was on the 2nd floor. Guest didn't make any request to be moved or complaints until the next morning at check out time while asking for the credit. We did offered a partial credit. We do sincerely apologize for the incident. Authority had knowledge of occupied rooms but did not instructed us to evacuate or move Guest or any other occupied guests on the same floor. It was police works and we weren't told what their plans were. At least half of our guests are extended stay whom stay from a month to over a year. Our hotel is not noisy. Guest booked a standard room but was upgraded free to a 2 bedrooms suite because our standard rooms were all rented. Guest's room has a large balcony, as with all of our top floor rooms. We are located off of the main traffic road. If any traffic noise, it can be heard out on the balcony or if balcony door is open. We are one of the next closest hotels to downtown and the University of Iowa campus. Comparing the rate, the room size, and the noise to the downtown hotels, our rates are about 25% cheaper, rooms are larger and newly remodeled plus no constant noise of a college downtown but close enough that's within walking distance or a very short cab ride. We hope that this one time uninvited incident doesn't deter any guest from seeing what our hotel has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on our wedding night for our honeymoon and we really enjoyed ourselves and the staff was nice. We also received a nice room with a kitchenette for about 70 dollars a night. And since we enjoyed ourselves so much and got a nice deal on price we decided that we would go back for our first anniversary. We got there at about 3 or so and waited in the lobby for probably 20 minutes before someone finally came to the desk. A young man helped us after he helped the few other people that were already waiting when we arrived. We told him that we were here a year ago today and that we came back for our anniversary. He barely even acknowledge us talking, which we didn't exactly expect a party or anything but we would have maybe appreciated a thank you or congrats? He booked us for out room, we only stayed one night this trip, and we payed $95 dollars. I was very unhappy about that because we had not expected it to be that high. We get to our room and it is very very small with just a chair and a bed. There was a coffee maker at least, but no outlet high enough for the cord to reach. We ended up having to put the coffee maker on the floor just so we could use it. My husband had went down to the lobby, it was snowing and very very cold, to ask the teller for a different room because we were pretty disappointed in ours. And the teller was gone again. We tried calling from the room phone but there was no directory at all anywhere in the room so we had no idea how to get a hold of them. We had planned to make this an annual thing and return every year on our anniversary. But unfortunately I don't believe that we will be staying there next year.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whitneerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexis2009, Manager at Alexis Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

We thank you Guest for taking the time to write the review. However, none of our rooms are "small" and all of our rooms are newly remodeled. Guest stayed in our 1 King standard. Even in our standard rooms and to be specific, it comes with a King bed, 2 night stands and lamps, a flat screen TV, a desk, desk lamp and chair, a sitting area with 2 lounging chairs (please note that most standard rooms in a regular hotel has no sitting area for 2), a coffee table and a floor lamp, a mini fridge and a microwave and a large balcony that the room opens up to. Our outlets are in compliance and not lower than any normal outlets and the coffee maker is hooked up into the outlet. We do have a phone instruction underneath the phone and also in our room booklet directing guests to dial 0 to get to the desk. We certainly do have bigger rooms like 1 bedroom suite, 2 bedrooms suites, 3 bedrooms suites and townhouses. These rooms come with separate bedrooms, separate living room, mutiple flat screen TVs and a full kitchen with full-sized appliances. We do take time to train our new employees and we feel all of our staff do provide exceptional service to our guests so we do sincerely apologize that this desk staff showed lack of appreciation to Guest. We will bring it up to his attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Just came back from visiting and this hotel and it was a pleasant surprise. We had the 2 bedroom suite and the was plenty of room for the 4 of us and my 2 pets. Clean place and helpful staff. Still remodeling but I bet it will be nice when their done. $6.00 cab ride it the center of town. Would stay there again!!!!!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This na great hotel with all the comforts of home away from home, have stayed here for every hopital visit.Each room comes with refridrator stove dishwasher and coffee maker. most have wirlpool tubs . Close to shopping and hospitals.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews