We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday Visit”

Museum of Natural History
Ranked #6 of 26 things to do in Iowa City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore our world at the University of Iowa Museum of Natural History- Iowa’s gateway to the global environment for over 150 years. Walk through 500 million years of our natural and cultural heritage, culminating in the landscape we see today and how it affects the story of agriculture. Discover the adaptation and diversity of birds and mammals around the planet.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sunday Visit”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Took my wife and daughter had a wonderful time we will be going back very soon. We just loved the birds.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cardinalkid1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    38
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Muscatine, Iowa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Place to Kill Time!”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I originally took the kids I babysit during the summer here just to kill time. There is no parking available on site, however you can park on a street nearby for up to 5 hours with a parking meter which was a fair deal. I was afraid the kids would be bored, but I was pleasantly surprised. They spent so much time looking at all the animal displays, and the older one even enjoyed reading all the plaques. It is right in the middle of downtown Iowa City and a fun way to spend a summer day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Always magical!”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had our first date here. A year and a half later, he proposed to me in front of the hummingbird display. The bird island simulation is lovely. A bit of the old world on a campus that's constantly trying to be on the cutting edge.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DeniseJarrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, IA, USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing Surprise”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The museum of Natural History on the University of Iowa Campus is an amazing surprise. Although small it has a quality collection that is exceptionally well displayed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An Old Favorite.”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Been going there since my childhood. Took my kids there, and now the grandkids. Small, and quaint; but the kids really like it.

Helpful?
Thank Hartshor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of Natural History also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Natural History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing