We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in a College Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Iowa City
Certificate of Excellence
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in a College Town”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Easy access with plenty of parking located far enough from the college to keep the peace. The service is excellent and the hotel is very clean. Nice breakfast and lobby area with decent choices for food and drink in the morning. Our room was very clean with a comfy king size bed. Another nice touch here, in consideration of smokers, was a heated outdoor smoking area. Overall, a very nice choice when in Iowa City.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chitown73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    128
    25
    7
    10
See reviews for
192
77
25
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Will stay again. Staff was very friendly and helpful when needed. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. This hotel is an extremely short drive to the campus and old capital area. It is also far enough away that you don't have to deal with the noise of campus activities when the students are still in session. If your looking for a quiet hotel in IC that doesn't charge an arm & leg for you to be close-ish to campus. This Hampton is for you!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank danising13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kearney, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

upon arriving we had a king suite and wanted to see if we could switch to a double queen. The staff member that helped us with our check in was extremely helpful, switched our room and even asked what floor we would prefer. It was a very nice way to start our weekend!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

You can't go wrong here. We stayed after driving 12 hours and were welcomed by the friendly staff. Our room was very comfortable as this is a fairly new property. It was easy to get to and conveniently located.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T2ABQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Located very close to downtown area and campus. Is our 'go-to' hotel when visiting our son at school. Very clean, always kept up, great facilities for a quick swim or workout, and good breakfast too! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank MaryBethG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This new Hampton Inn right near the University of Iowa campus, sporting arenas and hospitals was just fantastic. Very nice clean room. Nice complimentary buffet breakfast. Helpful staff. We live only a mile away and was staying for an anniversary getaway and left saying to each other, 'everyone who comes to visit us needs to stay here'. You cannot go wrong.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Katie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winfield, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This hotel was a great place to stay while we visited the University of Iowa. It was clean, comfortable, and affordable. The staff was very helpful and the breakfast was great. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are ever visiting Iowa City and the University of Iowa.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Karla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iowa City
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
#2 of 7 in Iowa City
447 reviews
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
2.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center
2.5 mi away
Coralville Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Iowa House Hotel
Iowa House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Iowa City
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area

Property: Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
Address: 4 Sturgis Corner Dr, Iowa City, IA 52246-5617
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Iowa City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Iowa City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing