We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort in cul-de-sac”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Iowa City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A Bella Vista Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 Iowa City B&B and Inns
Talkeetna, Alaska
Level Contributor
142 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Comfort in cul-de-sac”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

A Bella Vista B&B is in a great location, nice neighborhood, in cul-de-sac. Comfortable main floor room with two beds, big roomy bathroom, lots of travel photos taken by gracious hostess Daissy. Would definitely recommend to anyone who enjoys staying at a B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ontheroadsince64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    15
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
49
37
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

My husband and I stopped in Iowa City to visit friends after a Labor Day visit with our daughter in Denver. We were pretty tired and it was hot! A Bella Vista was the perfect antidote for worn out travelers.....comfortable and Daissy was wonderfully welcoming. Daissy, who is from Colombia, has travelled the world. The artifacts from her travels (the bed in the first floor room is amazing!) are displayed throughout the house with style and wit along with books and mementos. It could have been overwhelming and overly full of 'chatchkas', but it wasn't. Daissy was also helpful about where to eat dinner and made reservations for us. Since we were meeting friends in Swisher, Iowa, for breakfast, we missed Daissy's breakfast, but I expect it was wonderful.

Room Tip: We had trouble with stairs so were able to have a room on the first floor...pricier than others, I t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terry p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

My husband, 15 year old daughter, and I had the good fortune to spend the night and experience the graciously hospitality of the owner, Daissy. She is a beautiful adventursome lady who has mastered the art of providing a bed and breakfast that makes one feel right at home. The home sets on a quiet wooded cul de sac overlooking the river and boasts a lovely front porch and deck in the back of the home. Hummingbirds were buzzing about and many birds were singing their songs. The interior is gorgeous with character and displays personal photos that Daissy has collected from around the globe. Breakfast was delicious and coffee was plentiful! It certainly was a welcomed treat after moving our older daughter into college. We plan to stay again in November when we attend the University of Iowa vs. Purdue football game. Thank you Daissy for your kindness and open heart!

Room Tip: The back room we stayed in had direct access to the deck in the back overlooking the river. Parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandfamilyIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

My mom and I stayed here on a spur-of-the-moment for a little getaway. The location of the house is great, and cozy, and the house itself is very homey. The host, Daissy, was very polite and welcoming, and takes great pride in it. She was very flexible with our plans and made us some very nice breakfasts, even accommodating my vegan diet. However, I was disappointed in the price for the value; our room was small, and dated, and we had to use a shared bathroom in the hallway. This did give a discount from the other rooms in the house with private baths, but I think the price could have gone down by about $30/night. Other than that, the house was mostly clean, and if you're into the bed & breakfast thing, it could be worth a try.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed at this unique B&B in mid August, just before the University was to open. Daissy is great—full of stories of her travels and her life and friends, generous with advice and ready to call a friend of a restaurant for you if more information is needed. The house is lovely and the location quiet and residential, but still very close to downtown and the University.
We ended up with two spacious rooms, each with private bath, for us and our two teenagers. We were asked our preferred breakfast time, beverages, and dietary restrictions, and the result was great, with wonderful coffee!

Overall, it was a bit expensive because of our two rooms, but was worth it. Making a reservation was a bit of a challenge, and Daissy could make this easier and a little less stressful, but it was worth it once we got there. Now I feel I have a friend to stay with in Iowa City and I want to go back because the town is interesting and Bella Vista is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timfrometown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

My husband and I stayed at A Bella Vista B&B in early August as we were passing through Iowa. It is in a nice quiet location near a university and only a few blocks from restaurants and shops. Our room was quiet, comfortable and spacious with an eclectic decor from the owner's travels. Breakfast was delicious and there is a very welcoming atmosphere. I would definitely stay here if were in Iowa City again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

I found this place on my GPS and i was a bit skeptical, but the lady was so nice and friendly I had a pleasant stay. The house is clean and beautiful, the breakfast she gives you in the morning is to die for! I will definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iowa City
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
#2 of 6 in Iowa City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
1.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
0.7 mi away
Iowa House Hotel
Iowa House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Iowa City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Bella Vista Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Bella Vista Bed and Breakfast

Property: A Bella Vista Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2 Bella Vista Pl, Iowa City, IA 52245-5840
Region: United States > Iowa > Iowa City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Iowa City
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nineteen-twenties air-conditioned home, tastefully decorated with antiques and international artifacts. A Bella Vista provides three large comfortable suites with private baths and two rooms with shared baths. Guests can enjoy coffee on the back deck or front porch facing the garden and the quiet, private Bella Vista street. Conveniently located in the historical Northside. Within walking distance to the U of Iowa and downtown. Nice view of the Iowa River and Hancher Auditorium. This B&B was included in Rachel Ray's magazine in an article about Iowa City. Cable TV and free wireless access available. Breakfast with international flavor provided by well-traveled hostess, who in addition to English is fluent in Spanish and speaks some French. Her photographs of the Antarctica are the ones most appreciated by her guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
A Bella Vista Bed And Breakfast Iowa City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing