We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Iowa City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A Bella Vista Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 Iowa City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I've been in town for a week for the Writing Workshop and I highly recommend A Bella Vista. Located in a pretty and quiet neighborhood, and just a 15 minute walk to everything. Gracious and entertaining host, tasty breakfasts, lively conversations with other guests -- and as advertised, an international flavor. Also, and very important to me -- excellent wireless access. Quite reasonable price, too. Chances are good that I'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonypress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    15
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
49
38
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We've attending the Iowa City jazz fest for 7 years now and stayed at A Bella Vista each time. It's one of the best parts about our trip. Daissy's a superb hostess and her place is so close to the festival grounds, and other destinations in town like Prairie Lights and John's Grocery.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barney_Bella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We had a wonderful stay at A Bella Vista in Iowa City. Daissy was a gracious host who shared many interesting stories about her worldly travels. Breakfast was delicious. The home was clean and cozy. Rooms and beds were comfortable. We recommend A Bella Vista to anyone looking for a nice, clean place to stay in Iowa City. Thank you Daissy for making our trip extra special! We hope to see you again soon.

Danny and Jess

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DannySF123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This was our first trip to Iowa City and we consider ourselves very lucky to have found the Bella Vista. Daissy is wonderful, as are her breakfasts, and she makes her guests feel very much at home. We've already booked a room for our next visit and will surely stay here whenever we are in town.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

This bed and breakfast in Iowa City is truly a treat. The proprieter has been doing this for 25 years and her experience shows. We stayed in the queen room with private bath, but everyroom looked charming and comfortable. Daissy says that she treats her guests as she would her far-away family and it's true! The house is clean and charming and the breakfast is world-class. The neighborhood is beautiful. My only advice is to avoid passing the place. Once you wind back into the culdesac, it is really hard to turn around. Look for her house right away on the left!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JadaJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I stayed at A Bella Vista on April 18th-19th. Daissy was warm and very interesting to talk to. The room was clean and comfortable, especially the bed. The bathroom was nice as well. The best part was Daissy's delicious breakfast in the morning!

I would HIGHLY recommend this B and B to anyone travelling to Iowa City. Daissy and her B and B are a real gem!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Clean, comfortable, great breakfast.

The best part was our host. Daissy is a fascinating person. I'm glad our family had some time to visit with her. Talking about her travels, Iowa City, really anything, was very enjoyable. I'm glad my daughters got the chance to meet her. Look forward to an opportunity to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hawkeyes4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iowa City
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
#2 of 7 in Iowa City
447 reviews
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center
1.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
1.6 mi away
Coralville Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Bella Vista Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Bella Vista Bed and Breakfast

Property: A Bella Vista Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2 Bella Vista Pl, Iowa City, IA 52245-5840
Region: United States > Iowa > Iowa City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Iowa City
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nineteen-twenties air-conditioned home, tastefully decorated with antiques and international artifacts. A Bella Vista provides three large comfortable suites with private baths and two rooms with shared baths. Guests can enjoy coffee on the back deck or front porch facing the garden and the quiet, private Bella Vista street. Conveniently located in the historical Northside. Within walking distance to the U of Iowa and downtown. Nice view of the Iowa River and Hancher Auditorium. This B&B was included in Rachel Ray's magazine in an article about Iowa City. Cable TV and free wireless access available. Breakfast with international flavor provided by well-traveled hostess, who in addition to English is fluent in Spanish and speaks some French. Her photographs of the Antarctica are the ones most appreciated by her guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
A Bella Vista Bed And Breakfast Iowa City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing