We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gluten free friendly B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Iowa City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A Bella Vista Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 Iowa City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed for 5 nights and it was very comfortable. I enjoyed many conversations with Daissy over breakfast. She is accommodating for gluten free and other dietary needs.
I would highly recommend this space to anyone coming to the area.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank travelerererere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

Enjoyed the get away with friends at A Bella Vista. The setting was quiet and relaxing. Nice area to walk around. Handy to downtown yet easy to get back on the interstate. Her home was clean and comfortable. Loved her pictures

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weekend_Traveler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed at A Bella Vista for two nights. Daissy made us feel welcome and at home away from home.Her home and stories were beautiful. We will definitely stay there the next time we go to Iowa City. The only discomfort was the early construction start on Hancher Auditorium.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed at A Bella Vista for two nights and was very impressed. Daissy was a wonderful host and made me feel right at home. Her breakfasts are delicious and the conversations delightful. The house was clean and the bed comfy. I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Staying at A Bella Vista B&B felt like staying at home, and I mean this in a very good way. We can't write about the B&B without first writing about Daissy, the hostess. She was absolutely lovely, welcoming and accommodating. The house itself was warm, charming and tastefully decorated with items from all over the world as well as photos taken by Daissy herself. She really did her best to make our experience as comfortable and pleasant as possible. The room we stayed in was clean, spacious and well taken care of. The bathroom was equally as clean and well-kept. Breakfast was served according to our schedule and it was definitely one of the highlights of our stay. Rarely do we enjoy breakfast when on the road, but at Bella Vista B&B it was tasty and delightful. (Apparently the breakfast menu changes daily, but on that particular day we each had a delicious freshly cooked omelet served on a tortilla shell). We had actually heard about Daissy's famous breakfasts before we arrived there so we were looking forward to breakfast time in the morning, and it certainly exceeded all expectations. A Bella Vista B&B really has everything a traveler might want in terms of accommodation. Daissy is also a delight to talk to. She is genuinely a warm person who is living a very interesting life, and the B&B reflects her warmth and character. If you ever come through Iowa City, we highly recommend you to stay at A Bella Vista B&B.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed at A Bella Vista for about a week and couldn't have been happier with the experience. Daissy was a lovely hostess, very warm with wonderful stories of her wold travels. Every morning was a different creative breakfast- all very tasty! The house was clean and cozy, we will definitely be back next time we're in Iowa City.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere at Bella Vista. Our room was neat and homey and Daissy was warm and welcoming. Daissy planned breakfast around our morning plans and provided varied, healthy and delicious breakfasts. We enjoyed spending time in conversation while still appreciating the freedom to come and go at any time. Bella Vista is close enough to campus to walk downtown yet far enough away to be quiet and peaceful on Friday and Saturday nights. The only thing keeping us from rating the Bella Vista as excellent is the tiny shower in the private bath. Thank you Daissy, you will definitely see us again.

Room Tip: Great place to stay while visiting the university.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iowa City
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
1.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
1.6 mi away
Coralville Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
#2 of 7 in Iowa City
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Bella Vista Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Bella Vista Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2 Bella Vista Pl, Iowa City, IA 52245-5840
Region: United States > Iowa > Iowa City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Iowa City
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nineteen-twenties air-conditioned home, tastefully decorated with antiques and international artifacts. A Bella Vista provides three large comfortable suites with private baths and two rooms with shared baths. Guests can enjoy coffee on the back deck or front porch facing the garden and the quiet, private Bella Vista street. Conveniently located in the historical Northside. Within walking distance to the U of Iowa and downtown. Nice view of the Iowa River and Hancher Auditorium. This B&B was included in Rachel Ray's magazine in an article about Iowa City. Cable TV and free wireless access available. Breakfast with international flavor provided by well-traveled hostess, who in addition to English is fluent in Spanish and speaks some French. Her photographs of the Antarctica are the ones most appreciated by her guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
A Bella Vista Bed And Breakfast Iowa City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing