We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a B&B -- a destination”
Review of Brown Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brown Street Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Iowa City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2007

We've just returned from our second happy stay with Mark and Bob. Our time at the Brown Street Inn is one of the things we especially look forward to on visits to family in Iowa City. They're perfect innkeepers -- warm, helpful, thoughtful, funny, knowledgeable, but not at all intrusive. And they attract interesting guests; in addition to great food, we've had some very interesting conversations around their table. And yes, the Inn is lovely, clean, attractively decorated, within walking distance to town, with inviting public spaces inside and out. We're looking forward to our next visit.

Stayed: May 2007
1  Thank jalrose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2007

Pleasant, can-do co-owners, crisp and comfortable accommodations and delicious breakfasts made my short stay in Iowa City a happy and memorable one. A truly wonderful stay at this B&B.

Stayed: April 2007
1  Thank madawaska2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2007

I spent a night at the Brown Street Inn while in Iowa City on business and am definitely glad I did! The inn is a beautifully restored historic home in a quiet residential neighborhood, but just minutes from downtown. The very friendly innkeeper Mark met me at the door and helped me up the stairs with my luggage. Mark also offered to have breakfast ready for me a few minutes early so I could eat before rushing off for my meetings. And breakfast was wonderful ... warm frittata, fresh fruit, scones, juice, and tea. I only wish that I could have lingered a few more minutes to enjoy it all. I will definitely stay here again when I return to Iowa City!

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NewBhamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2006

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank traveler55g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2006

Stayed: November 2006
1  Thank DC4JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2006

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Mummu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
chicago, illinois
13
Reviewed 8 June 2006

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Iowa City hotels
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
#2 of 7 in Iowa City
463 reviews
0.8 mi away
hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Iowa House Hotel
Iowa House Hotel
#7 of 7 in Iowa City
104 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Iowa City
Travelodge Iowa City
#5 of 7 in Iowa City
621 reviews
2.1 mi away
Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown Street Inn

Address: 430 Brown St, Iowa City, IA 52245-5805
Region: United States > Iowa > Iowa City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Iowa City
Price Range: £104 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brown Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 1913 Gambrel Cottage style mansion is on a quiet street in the Brown Street Historical District. Contemporary but yet timelessly elegant appointments can be found throughout the Inn. We are walking distance to downtown Iowa City, and the University of Iowa Campus. Where hospitatality means coming home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Brown Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Street Inn Iowa City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing