We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Johnston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Found this location on-line with a good rate. Very clean and quite. Our room had 2 Queen beds, two nice chairs, a table to seat five, a kitchenette with frig, stove top, microwave and dishwasher. The hotel staff was good, the pool, excercise and breakfast areas were well kept. This location was convenient to where we needed to go. Places to eat and gas were very close by. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEM-AlexMackey, Manager at TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Martin K,
Thank you for giving us feedback on your stay at Towne Place Suites. We are happy that you and your family enjoyed our spacious rooms. And a big two thumbs up back to you for choosing us!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here this past weekend as we had a family dinner in Cedar Rapids and didn't want to do a 6 hour drive twice in the same day. Very friendly front desk help and met our request for first floor room even though it was handicap accessible - not a big deal for us. Very clean and spacious room. Close to several places to eat and easy access from the interstate. Breakfast could use a little variety, but found something to make due with. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thundrdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEM-AlexMackey, Manager at TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Thundrdawg,
Thank you for providing us feedback on you stay. We are very excited that you enjoyed your experience at The Towne Place & Suites. We would love to see you again on your next Des Moines area visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

After driving from Michigan to Des Moines in a straight shot and having a few stops in between, it was about 1:30pm and we'd been on the road since 6pm--I just wanted to sleep. Check-in isn't until 3pm. I decided to try anyway. They had a room on the main floor ready. I wasn't in a position to be picky, so we took it. It was a room that didn't share a wall with any other room and even being by the alternate entrance, still was a very quiet room. The continental breakfast is one of the best I've had (you can make waffles!) and the staff was always nice and helpful. (Thanks for the wrench so I could fix my taillight!). When staying in Des Moines, I stay here. It's clean, convenient and affordable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shannonbobannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEM-AlexMackey, Manager at TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the waffles, they are definately a guest favorite! Also glad that we could assist you in fixing your headlight. Thank you for choosing us on your Des Moines vists. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel was very modern and clean- probably no more than 3 to 4 years old. It is right of I-80/35 close to a variety of restaurants. We had two rooms, a Studio with a King Bed with sofabed and a studio with two Queen beds. The rooms were clean, modern and well appointed. The Studio with the King Bed w/ sofabed was pretty small though- when you pull out the sofabed there was only a very small space between the end of the King Bed and the end of the sofabed. The Studio with two Queens was much larger and also featured a good sized table with four chairs. The kitchen area is in the entryway to the room and is small but includes a fridge, microwave, stovetop and dishwasher. Nice free breakfast- although the only hot items are self made waffles and toast. Very pleased with this hotel and would stay again.

Room Tip: When booking a studio stuite, unless you absolutely need a king bed- go for the studio with two quee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimboboy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEM-AlexMackey, Guest Relations Manager at TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

We greatly appreciate all the feedback we receive and it helps us to learn about what we need to improve on and what we are already doing well. It's so nice when guest's reach out to us and express how they felt about our hotel. We value your feedback and look forward to a future visit from you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stayed here so I could attend a Women of Faith conference. Great room for 3 people; we each had our own bedroom and one person slept on the comfortable sleeper sofa. Very good breakfast; breakfast room was crowded, so we were thankful to have a nice table in our suite where we could eat breakfast together. Very helpful staff and great management; manager took care of a concern I had. :D

Room Tip: We used a 2 bedroom suite, which was in the corner. I am a light sleeper, so I LOVED this setup!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mopate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEM-AlexMackey, Guest Relations Manager at TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

It warms my heart knowing you had such an amazing stay here with us. That might sound a little hokey but I love what I do and when I read reviews such as yours it just reminds me why I love coming to work everyday. It shows me that we are doing what we are here to do and that's turning a possible trivial night of staying in a hotel, into a magical evening that completes the entire journey!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We needed a stopover on our way. The TownPlace Suites was perfect. I needed to change my reservation and they did this over the phone with no problems and sent me email. Even though the hotel was very busy with a national softball tournament, the staff treated us like their special guest.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor which was easy to get to all the hotel activities (pool, food, door).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEM-AlexMackey, Guest Relations Manager at TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! I'm so glad we were able to make your stay so wonderful. Don't hesitate to come see us again soon. We'll make sure you're well taken care of!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night on my drive home from vacation in Colorado.

The hotel was very nice and very clean. There are plenty of restaurants surrounding the hotel (Texas Roadhouse, Village Inn, etc.). The staff were very nice and welcoming. The room was very large and well appointed. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellyzcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEM-AlexMackey, Guest Relations Manager at TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you so much for the perfect review! It means a lot to me that our hotel is able to make someone's traveling a little bit better. We hope to see you again at our hotel!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johnston
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines
0.4 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - Des Moines
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Des Moines Urbandale
2 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale

Address: 8800 Northpark Ct, Johnston, IA 50131-3018
Region: United States > Iowa > Johnston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Johnston
Price Range: £66 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownePlace Suites by Marriott is an extended-stay hotel where you can balance work and life as you like, with the comfort, flexibility and affordability you require. Relax and feel at home with a fully equipped kitchen including full size refrigerator, microwave, cooktop, dishwasher and full complement of cookware, dishes and flatware; large work space, and complimentary wired and wireless high-speed internet access. Complimentary Continental Breakfast Daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townplace Suites Urbandale Hotel Johnston
Towneplace Suites Johnston
TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale Iowa/Johnston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing