We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect holiday spent in Chalets.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chalets d'Anse Forbans
Ranked #1 of 1 Anse Forbans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We`ve spent here in "Chalets" our best 14 days from 7-20.04.2013! We traveled with my wife and our 3 y.o. son. Before this place we visited many countries in Indian Ocean, so many, that there`s to compare with....We`ve never been in such a paradise before.....you forget everything and enjoy the Seychells in Chalets d'Anse Forbans! We`d like to thank the owners family for their hospitality and the way they organized our staying there! They were ready to help worthy with everything! The sea and the beach were fantastic, such an inhabited place we`ve never seen before.... of course for those, who wants to forget everything and relax ...relax...relax! Everyday we got fresh fish,fruits,vegetables from the locals,sometimes it took only 5 min to go by car....I advise everybody this place, here you find everything for your and your children relaxation , no matter how old they are....just try this place and never forget anymore! Our family will come back here in November to see the sea turtles and enjoy this lovely place once again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandrpetrov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forbans, Owner at Chalets d'Anse Forbans, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear Alexandrpetrov
It is so wonderful to read your review and we are really looking forward to seeing you all back with us in November. We will keep in touch and fingers crossed we have loads of turtles laying eggs on our beach this season.
Kind Regards,
Daphne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2013

We had the most amazing holiday staying in the Forbans chalets in Mahe.
Brigitte and Daphne were so welcoming and I enjoyed my little chats with Brigitte. The location of theses chalets is to die for. We sat on the verandah each morning eating breakfast whilst listening to the waves and watching the glistening of the sun on the ocean.
The chalets were well equipped, clean and had a massive bed!
If you like it quiet and friendly , then don't hesitate to go there!
My husband swam with a sea turtle whilst I relaxed on an almost deserted beach.
Amazing time, thank you to Brigitte and her staff for a fantastic holiday. We will return!
Sue and Steve Rudd

Room Tip: All the chalets are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deanne021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forbans, Owner at Chalets d'Anse Forbans, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear deanne021/ Steve and Sue
Thank you so much for taking time to do a review of the Chalets. We so enjoyed hosting you and really looking forward to your return to the chalets. Brigitte misses the chats as well!
Kind Regards,
Daphne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Imagine a place as far removed from everyday life as you can get, a place where the sky meets the sea, a place where the only person dictating what you do and when you do it is yourself.

Chalets d' Anse Forbans are located at the quiet, South end of Mahé island away from the hustle and bustle of the North and almost in isolation. The chalets themselves are basically furnished but still have everything you need. They are impeccably maintained and scrupulously clean. The daily maid service means that you don't have to worry about making the bed or cleaning. The kitchen has everything you need to prepare a descent meal and you can choose whether to eat on the terrace or in the chalet. A car is essential but the chalets can take care of that for you as they have their own fleet of well maintained hire cars. There are a few shops close by but realistically you need to drive a little further to find a reasonable one. When you bored of cooking for yourself there are restaurants close by but then nothing is too far away on this beautiful island. There is no television but why would you want it? Wifi is available in reception so you can keep up with what's going on at home if you really must!

The owners of the chalets, Brigitte, Daphne and family are always on hand to advise, offer assistance and help in anyway they can. For myself they booked a restaurant and arranged a taxi. They even dropped us off at the airport whilst we took a three day excursion to Praslin. The sea is but a few steps from your chalet. If your unlucky there maybe 3 or 4 other people on the beach too but that would be a busy day! The chalets offer exceptional value for the Seychelles which is an expensive destination and offer the perfect base for exploration of both the main island itself as well as the other islands.

Fortunately for me I've still got a few days left here but I have no doubt I shall return again in the future.

Overall I can thoroughly recommend the chalets for anyone who wants to immerse themselves in paradise and don't want the fuss, dictation or expense of a hotel. Bliss!

Room Tip: All rooms are good and there are so few of them that you'll be guaranteed peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SimonLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forbans, Owner at Chalets d'Anse Forbans, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Dear SimonLichfield
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Chalets. Please Please come back SOON.
Safe journey.
All the family and staff at Chalets d' Anse Forbans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I can't rate these chalets highly enough. We recently returned from our fourth visit over the last five years. There really can't be many places left in the world that allow for total and complete relaxation at your own pace, and this is one.

The chalets are well equipped with an air-conditioned bedroom, with numerous restaurants a short drive away. The beach is superb, snorkelling is great, every day is chilled and unpretentious - the perfect recipe to recharge after a busy year.

Brig and Daphne were perfect hosts, as always and helped us endlessly with our info requests and to organise freshly caught fish. We hired a car from them for most of our two weeks which allowed us the luxury of nearby restaurants and spas, as well as exploration of the multitude of gorgeous beaches (all public) around the island.

There is no better vacation on the planet! We miss it all already and can't wait for the next one!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forbans, Owner at Chalets d'Anse Forbans, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear Mark S
Thank you for your review of the chalets. It is always a pleasure to host guests who enjoy their time with us like yourselves.
Kind Regards,
Daphne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed here in October after 1 week in a hotel in Praslin. We were pleasantly surprised that we enjoyed the b&b more than the hotel, but this is a really nice place to stay. The bungalows are basic but have everything that you need. We rented a car and did daily afternoon trips around the island which was really nice. There are nice restaurants close by as well. The owners are very helpful with anything you need and have great advice on what to do in the area.
Will definitely go there again!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lollo81Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forbans, Owner at Chalets d'Anse Forbans, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Dear Lollo81Sweden
Thank you for your review of Chalets d' Anse Forbans we are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. We do hope you will visit again soon.
Kind Regards,
Daphne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

My wife and I stayed there in chalet no. 2 at end of August. We loved the secluded beach, the location. We did not particularly like Mahe overall compared to Praslin.
The chalet has no microwave, which is inconvenient. Also, totally self catering is not easy. Shops and supermarkets are close by if you drive. The host is very helpful and friendly. Wifi does not reach the chalet, but is in the reception area.
The beach is narrow and is unusable in the morning, being totally submerged. As the tide changes, it is usable in the afternoon. There are stones in the water and a strong current.
Swimming is a sport and snorkeling is sometimes a challenge.
The beach is almost always empty, as there is no real access from the road and the locals stay at one of the ends.
There might be a water pressure problem if you go in the dry season.
We booked a snorkel half day trip with them, but were disappointed by the actual outcome, as it was more a boat tour of 3 small islands off Victoria, and snorkeling with fishes was only half an hour. This is a general problem with things booked on site, as the locals do not seem to be very clear in what they actually offer for your money. I do not think it was the fault of our host, as we had same issues on Praslin - so just beware to be crystal clear on the commitments when booking activities.
After touring all the island and visiting all the beaches, none were better than the chalet's.
Buy fruits from the locals and spices from Kumar.
The host will give you the best tips for souvenirs and beaches.
Victoria is crowded and expensive and hard to park. Would not recommend more than a drive through.
Would recommend Praslin over Mahe in the end.
Also, location is not for parties, but for relaxation.

Room Tip: Any chalet will do. For wifi take something close to the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forbans, Owner at Chalets d'Anse Forbans, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Dear Dave07
Thank you for your review of our family run chalets. We are delighted that you feel our chalets are the best on Mahe and that no other beach can compare to the Chalets beach which is just steps away from your Chalet. Wishing you all the best for 2013.
Kind Regards,
Daphne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Recently we stayed 5 nights in Chalets d'Anse Forbans. After seeing almost all the places from Mahe we realised that this was the best place we could choose to spend our dream holiday in the Seychelles. It has an amazing peacefulness and the feeling you have while staying there is one of the best that you can have. Having the chalets exactly on the beach makes the difference between this place and many others on the island. The price - quality ratio it's perfect. And the owners are marvellous. They are very welcoming and provide you with the advice you need when you want it. Some of the reviews we read on Tripadvisor before selecting this place mentioned that the owners are very bossy. We didn't have this experience, on the contrary, they were very helpful and never intruded.
As the place is a bit removed from civilisation, which, as we mentioned earlier, is one of its biggest draws, we would recommend to rent a car. It will be easier to get to the shops and restaurants, and it will also enable you to visit the island, which we highly recommend. The owners provide cars for rental at very reasonable prices, so we recommend renting from them. They also allow you to drop the car at the airport, which is a big advantage.
Another matter : when we enquired about the Seychelles, we read that many places are infested with mosquitoes. We didn't have this nuisance at Chalets d'Anse Forbans. In the evenings we sat on the porch of our chalets and there were no mosquitoes, only some gekkos, but they are harmless.
Note that the beach is not for swimming but that you can do snorkelling there, preferably at high tide. The owners of Chalets provide snorkeling gear for free. Another plus is that you can rent a barbeque from the owners. Great for the evenings even though it is not easy to find quality meat in the supermarkets.
As for swimming, we recommend the beach at Port Launay, on the other side of the island. It is fantastic and the sunsets are great.
Also make sure you visit the Takamaka Bay rum distillery! They have a great restaurant in the old colonial house. We went there for our last evening and it was fantastic. They had a local band playing and they were simply stunning.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PaulL56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forbans, Owner at Chalets d'Anse Forbans, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear PaulL56
Thank you for your review of our Chalets. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and would recommend us on to others. We do hope to welcome you back very soon to visit us again.
Kind Regards,
Daphne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Forbans
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
13.3 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
14.5 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles
15.6 mi away
Bliss Hotel Seychelles
13.2 mi away
Hanneman Holiday Residence
Hanneman Holiday Residence
#1 of 6 in Beau Vallon
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalets d'Anse Forbans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets d'Anse Forbans

Address: Anse Forbans, Anse Forbans, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Anse Forbans
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Anse Forbans
Price Range: £128 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalets d'Anse Forbans 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalets d'Anse Forbans - the ideal Seychelles Holiday Self catering Accommodation located on the beach of Anse Forbans in the South of the main island Mahe. They offer modern and comfortable beach cottages/bungalow at reasonable prices. Whatever your needs the staff are always willing to accommodate you. They offer daily maid service to clean your chalets,Free Starter pack on arrival, all linen, beach towels and snorkelling equipment as well as FREE WIFI at reception area. An excellent choice for Self catering accommodation in the Seychelles just steps from the beach. Your Seychelles beach home away from home. A well established Seychellois family run business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chalets d'Anse Forbans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalets d`Anse Forbans Hotel Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing