We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel -- Great Customer Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hampton Inn Keokuk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Keokuk
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Keokuk
Certificate of Excellence
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel -- Great Customer Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

I checked into the Hampton Inn in Keokuk, Iowa, on a recent business trip. The desk clerk, Melissa, was not only very welcoming, but she took the extra time to personally make sure that my key would open the back door to the parking lot. She also phoned the room later in the evening to make sure that I had everything I needed. The room was comfortable, clean and had everything needed for a business traveler. The choices for a hot or cold breakfast were more than adequate, but nothing outstanding. All in all, you know what you're going to get at a Hampton Inn, in terms of the accommodations, and Melissa put a smile on my face after a long drive.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sdt410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbruner7, General Manager at Hampton Inn Keokuk, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
I just want to say thank you for staying with us and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Hampton Inn! As you mentioned that all Hampton Inn's are great, however I like to believe that what sets us apart from other hotels is our wonderful staff, which you have noticed! We really hope to have you stay with us again in the future!
Thank you so much :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    92
    35
    12
    10
See reviews for
118
62
18
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

By all means stay at the Hampton if you find yourself having to stay in Keokuk. Compared to other hotels in the area this deserves 5 stars.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank al007jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbruner7, General Manager at Hampton Inn Keokuk, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Thank you so much for that awesome comment! We really do try out best to make our hotel number #1 !
We hope to have you stay with us again in the future!
Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

I have never been disapointed when staying at a Hampton Inn. They are clean, quite and comfortable. The staff is accomodating and friendly. We had a trailer with a couple motorcycles on it and they let us park it under the awning near the entrance because bad weather was moving in. Very much appreciated! Thank you

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpeck93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbruner7, General Manager at Hampton Inn Keokuk, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Just wanted to say thank you for staying with us and giving such a great response of our Hotel! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you and your friends stay with us again if you are ever in the area!
Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

Stayed here last spring, review below, suffice it to say there some customer service/staff issues and minor cleanliness issues back then in what otherwise was a good Hampton as most Hamptons are.

Figured I would comment that after my last, most recent stay, the staff, many to most of whom were different, were excellent. We had a nice room, no subtle mildew or anything of the sort and smaller things are good like the hot tub works again and the pool is a comfortable temperature. Exercise room has treadmills which is nice.

It is a nice drive to Nauvoo from this hotel, 25ish minutes and I am very pleased such a nice hotel exists in Keokuk. Definite thumbs up.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamptondragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbruner7, General Manager at Hampton Inn Keokuk, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Thank you for updating your previous response! We are constantly working hard to improve our hotel and accomodations to better fit our guests needs!
We really hope you will stay with us next year in 2012 as we will be newly renovating the Lobby and Fitness Center / Pool area this year! I think you will be very excited to see all the new improvements that we will be placing in our hotel, and I am very excited to share them with you too!!!

Thank you so much for choosing Hampton Inn as your preferred hotel in Keokuk Iowa! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keokuk, IA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2010

We stayed at the Keokuk Hampton Inn on a recent trip to Nauvoo, IL (20 minutes across the river). We looked at places in Nauvoo and decided on the further hotel because of the Hampton Inn and because Keokuk was a larger city with more to do. We would go to Nauvoo during the days, and then dine/order pizza and play around in Keokuk at night. Hotel was clean and good, internet worked fine. Breakfast was pretty good as well, as well as the beds being comfortable. The drive everyday to Nauvoo along the river was breathtaking! If traveling to Nauvoo, would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midwest_sales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2010

Our family stayed at this hotel and we had two rooms, using Hhonors points, for 3 nights. Overall a thumbs up like any Hampton, with only a few issues.

This is definitely a Hampton with the very comfortable beds, great breakfast (although I wish they hadn't run out of chocolate muffins), good housekeeping service and an adequate pool which is nice for my young kids. The person in charge of of the breakfast was always very helpful, friendly, and attentive. Our room was cleaned promptly and well (with one exception, see below). Except for our first day, the staff at the front desk were very helpful and friendly. On our last day as we were about to check out, a staff member brought some items we'd forgotten in our room. Very kind.

The hotel is a huge bargain being a category 1 in the HHonors program and that is a huge plus. Our purpose was a visit to Nauvoo and yes it is 30 minutes away, but the drive along the Mississippi river was very beautiful and I never minded having to make the drive.

There were some issues, however. I called ahead and was clearly, unequivocally told we had conjoined rooms and would be on the top floor and upon arrival the person at the front desk told me that was not true and our rooms were next to each other, not conjoined, plus we were not on the top floor. When I directly call on the phone days in advance, please don't tell me one thing and then do another. That is not acceptable. The other issue is there was a small amount of mildew around the tub in the bathroom in one of our rooms. In fairness to the staff, it was somewhat subtle, but independently noticed by a few people in the party and clearly not acceptable at a Hampton. To the hotel's credit, they got someone on it right away when we pointed it out but they should have noticed this beforehand. Finally, the hot tub has been down for quite a long time and they should take care of this (seems like they are trying to and keep having multiple problems). Finally, I'd recommend adding a treadmill to the two machines in the fitness center.

The rooms were a bit small but adequate. The air conditioners are moderately quiet and work just fine as far as I am concerned. The free business center is out in the open but works fine. I did not use wifi so can't comment on that. I agree with previous comments that this is a Hampton and wonderful to have it in a small place like Keokuk near Nauvoo. Most things are up to Hampton standards.

Overall, I'd give it a thumbs up and in fact, with the caveats listed above, recommended to some friends staying in the area. When I return, I also will stay at this hotel. Again, the value using HHonors points at this hotel is outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hamptondragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinos
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2009

Stayed here for one night using honor points. Very clean room. Terrific breakfast. Free internet service station in the lobby. The main thing that impressed us was the friendly staff. Front desk was VERY helpful and accommodating when we needed to change our reservation.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NukeTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keokuk
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Keokuk North
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Keokuk
Super 8 Keokuk
#2 of 6 in Keokuk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Keokuk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in Fort Madison
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
14.4 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites Fort Madison
0.3 mi away
Chief Motel
Chief Motel
#4 of 6 in Keokuk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Keokuk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Keokuk

Property: Hampton Inn Keokuk
Address: 3201 Main St, Keokuk, IA 52632-2263
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Keokuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Keokuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Keokuk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hampton Inn® hotel in Keokuk, IA sits in a small town that somehow often finds itself intertwined with big endeavors. From what was once the largest electrical plant in the world to the Civil War generals and business tycoons who have called Keokuk home, we're a town of surprises. Within just a few minutes of the Hampton Inn hotel in Keokuk, guests can stroll by the beautiful gardens on the graceful paths that meander through Gateway Park or get a breathtaking view of the Mississippi River from the Bridge Observation Deck. Many of the town's most popular sites are right around the corner from our hotel in Keokuk. Most of all, you'll be greeted by Midwestern hospitality at every step while you're in town-we pride ourselves on our friendly service here in Keokuk, which is why we say our town may be hard to pronounce, but easy to love. Come for a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Keokuk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keokuk Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Keokuk Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing