We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, Cosy Hotel”
Review of The Bell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bell Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brook
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We have just returned from a one night stay with cream tea and dinner at this hotel - a Christmas gift from our daughter.

The welcome was warm when we checked in. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean and also provided the additional comfort of two armchairs and small table. The flat screen tv was a good size, the bed was extremely comfortable. Cream tea on arrival was delicious and welcome. Dinner in the evening was really good - the only slight criticism was that the service was quite slow.

All in all, a delightful hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidsKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

615 - 621 of 772 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2013

I bought an offer from Groupon to stay overnight at this hotel, with afternoon tea and £60 voucher for dinner. When we arrived we thought the hotel was very sweet and very welcoming. Our room (first floor) which was a twin was nice and airy and had a small but perfectly formed bathroom. Our afternoon tea (for which we forgo our lunch for) was a cup of tea and a very small scone. In the evening, we went to dinner and had a beautiful meal which was really imaginative. I had the goats cheese mouse, followed by the seabream and then the cheeseboard. My Mum had the fillet steak and the popcorm and chocolate fondant dessert. (My Mum said the best dessert she has ever had) We had a nice cold bottle of Pinot. Whilst the service was a bit slow but we weren't in a rush I have to say there were two members of staff serving who made us feel especially welcome. (Ashleigh and Leon) These two guys were brilliant and so friendly. The hotel was very busy and I understand there were inadequate number of staff in the kitchen. In the morning, we had our breakfast in our room and ordered poached egg on toast. They were perfect and if we had chosen boiled, they wanted to know how long you wanted them boiled for. I would highly recommend this place, it is very pretty and makes your feel really relaxed. Our room was at the front onto the main road but we both slept amazingly well.

Room Tip: Had a room on the main road but still slept very well. All of the hotel was very clean indeed. Would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adele72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

My brother, myself and our dog stayed for a two night break through an advertised offer. The accommodation was good and the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful ,especially in the bar/dining area. The service was slower than I would have liked,however they appeared to be very busy. The food was imaginative, good and well presented. I have to say however, that the afternoon tea was somewhat amusing. Clotted cream that wasn't and a small scone. Lets say I was pleased I didn't pay the advertised rate for it! We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wooseySussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on a very good deal which was bed and breakfast, £60.00 to spend in the Restaurant, and a cream tea.
We thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere, and had our cream tea in front of a lovely fire.
Our room was adequate - on the smallish side, with quite a step up into the bathroom. An electric fire was in our room , although the radiators were on, but nice to have available incase we were cold.
The Staff looked after us well, and dinner was excellent with a good choice, and was nicely presented.
At breakfast, hot dishes were buffet style, and there were only fried eggs. I am not sure if one could have asked for poached or scrambled. I just had cereal.

Room Tip: No lift. We were on the first floor, and did not see any other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stayed on a two night break at this wonderful hotel, we were able to take our family dog and found the accomodation to a very high standard. The staff were wonderful and made our stay very memorable. The food served at this Hotel was very imaginative and delicous all the ingredients were supplied by the local farms . I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to explore the New Forest It was truly charming.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Stayed one night here on a voucher. Started off with an afternoon cream tea. I would have liked 2 scones as the single one offered was insufficient. Also real clotted cream makes a proper cream tea not the sweetened synthetic cream on offer.

Evening meal was excellent if slightly stingy on portion size.

Room comfortable (no 17) but water stain from a leak above on the ceiling and wall. Lovely big enamel bath spoilt by unsightly chip.

Breakfast buffet plentiful and tasty.

All in all I would go back again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Stayed for one night and thoroughly enjoyed the amazing Service and food.All three courses courses of the evening meal were top quality in the way they were presented and tasted.
The staff were always attentive and checking we were happy.
The room was clean and comfortable with all the essentials you require. The bed was very comfy and a good nights sleep was had by my wife and I.
The hotel is good value we will be looking to stay again in the future

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SittingbourneDobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brook
4 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
10.3 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
759 reviews
3.4 mi away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
415 reviews
10.3 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,231 reviews
6.9 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Inn

Address: Roger Penny Way, Brook, New Forest SO43 7HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brook
Price Range: £96 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bell Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bell Inn, which has been part of my family since 1782. Inside we have made stylish updates to our historic New Forest hotel without spoiling any of its traditional and rustic charm. With open fireplaces, flagstone floors, elegant reception rooms and two superb 18-hole golf courses we are unlike other hotels in Hampshire. With nature’s larder on the doorstep our team of talented chefs create seasonal specials, mouth-watering menus, and have unique access to game from our family’s New Forest estate – a true ‘Estate to Plate’ dining experience. Whether staying in one of our 28 tasteful rooms, enjoying local ale whilst relaxing on comfortable sofas in our dog friendly bar, dining with us exploring the flavours of the New Forest or playing a round of golf on our New Forest Hotel's oldest course, we look forward to welcoming you to this timeless and magical place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Bell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell Hotel New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing