We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of The Bell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bell Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brook
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Booked into The Bell Inn for 1 night through Laterooms. What a great friendly place despite being in the middle of refurbishment. Good value room recently upgraded and beautiful bathroom although the water flow was very small. The restaurant was a deight even though not very busy and waiter Daniel very friendly.Outstanding breakfast and the New Forest location very special. Attached to Bramshaw Golf Club I imagine it could be lively with golfers. Loved it. Mike Vaudin.Guernsey.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at The Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear CornishJanner,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit to the Bell Inn, I am glad you enjoy the tea & biscuits and look forward to seeing you when you come and stay with us.
Best regards
Mark Pinn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 772 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was a short visit to the New Forest to savour Spring birds and flowers. The room was a good double on the ground floor and very comfortable. The hotel was most welcoming and friendly. The dinner in the restaurant was just the right level of cooking and informality and breakfast was also very good. The Spanish head waiter was euphoric about the recent success of Madrid's football teams and his pleasure was catching. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at The Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear colin h,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Bell Inn, I am delighted you had a comfortable & welcoming stay and that dinner was just right. We look forward to seeing you again.
Best regards
Mark Pinn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Called in with my two "girls" and had a cup of tea along with some (free !) biscuits. Staff were great. Tea and biscuits were lovely and the settee to slouch in was lovely. All in all, it was lovely. So lovely in fact that I will be taking my main girl away to the New Forest for a night - and we will be staying at the Bell. Cheers to you all at the Bell because you are doing it very well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CornishJanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at The Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear CornishJanner,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit to the Bell Inn, I am glad you enjoyed the tea & biscuits and look forward to seeing you when you stay with us.
Best regards
Mark Pinn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for just one night over bank holiday weekend. Had a superior room (12) which was beautiful - recently refurbished and to a very high standard. The whole hotel is very clean and service is good. However we found the bar area a bit lacking in atmosphere and slightly stifled. We dined in the restaurant for dinner - service was very slow, we waited 30 minutes to order and finished our meal (3 courses) in 2.5hrs...felt we had been there forever! However they did give us a complimentary drink each to make up for this wait. The food was good, however the starters were overpriced, too small portions, and a bit too 'fine dining'. Breakfast was lovely, however it is a buffet style; help yourself, even to hot food, which is fine but a choice of eggs would be nice (rather than just fried).
Would definitely stay again. The room surpassed the other hotels we've stayed in the new forest before.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsamy2287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at The Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear itsamy2287,
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay here at the Bell Inn, I am delighted you found our superior room 12 beautiful, clean and the service good. The bar area has now also been recently refurbished going back to its original flagstone floor and some new sofas. We look forward in welcoming you back in the future.
Best regards
Mark Pinn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Delightful small hotel in the New Forest. We visited with a golfing group. Hotel adjoins golf course but is also ideal for exploring the New Forest. We had a superior room which was excellent. Good breakfast. Pleasant dining room for evening meal.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at The Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Michael L,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent golfing break with us at the Bell Inn, I am glad you had a delightful stay in one of our superior rooms, we look forward to seeing you again on another golfing break.
Best Regards
Mark Pinn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed at The Bell Inn - in the Forest superior room for two nights - The room really is lovely and spacious with a comfy bed, huge bathroom and a nice sofa/sitting area with plenty of room. The room is over the car park from the pub and underneath/adjacent to the golf club... This is fine and it was nice to have your own entrance area etc - the only negative I have is the strange noises that came from above the room which I presume is the golf club dining area (lots of cutlery noises, and also from the boiler room directly next door which had a noise like a pump going half the time!) . We also were woken very early one morning with a fuel lorry literally directly outside the room window filling up something at the golf club for about 20 minutes!!!) However,... this would not put me off returning.. the place is lovely, the food is amazing (one of the best meals we have had) and the staff were all friendly and helpful - it was lovely on our first evening we were presented with glasses of prosecco for our anniversary - nice touch . Breakfast was also very good with good choices.

Location is great,. straight off the motorway but quiet enough . There is also another pub directly over the road, which was also really nice and also great food.

Take a wander to the rufus stone - not very far but pleasant and you can make it a long walk or a short one. Visited various places, all near Marwell and Bulieau. Had a fab time and would recommend the Bell Inn for a break.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P0z79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at The Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear P0z79,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at the Bell Inn,
I am delighted you had a lovely break apart from a few disturbances and found the food amazing and the staff friendly and helpful, we look forward in welcoming you back in the future.
Best regards
Mark Pinn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had our wedding day at The Bell, what can i say every thing was perfect, they set the tables up just how i ask, The food was so good, my brother in law works in a top restaurant and said that the food at The bell was better than where he works!!!
the staff was helpful didnt get in the way and was there if we needed them.
The rooms are lovely, clean.
If you are thinking of getting married here, i would say you could not get much better. mark was there every step of the way with the planning.
Thank you mark and team for making our day so special.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jojowhitfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at The Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear jojowhitfield,
Thank you for taking the time to write about you special wedding day here at the Bell Inn, it was a beautiful day and a great pleasure to be involved in planning the perfect wedding for you both. I wish the both of you and your family all the best for the future.
Many thanks
Mark Pinn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brook
4 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
10.3 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
759 reviews
3.4 mi away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
415 reviews
10.3 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,231 reviews
6.9 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Inn

Address: Roger Penny Way, Brook, New Forest SO43 7HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brook
Price Range: £96 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bell Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bell Inn, which has been part of my family since 1782. Inside we have made stylish updates to our historic New Forest hotel without spoiling any of its traditional and rustic charm. With open fireplaces, flagstone floors, elegant reception rooms and two superb 18-hole golf courses we are unlike other hotels in Hampshire. With nature’s larder on the doorstep our team of talented chefs create seasonal specials, mouth-watering menus, and have unique access to game from our family’s New Forest estate – a true ‘Estate to Plate’ dining experience. Whether staying in one of our 28 tasteful rooms, enjoying local ale whilst relaxing on comfortable sofas in our dog friendly bar, dining with us exploring the flavours of the New Forest or playing a round of golf on our New Forest Hotel's oldest course, we look forward to welcoming you to this timeless and magical place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Bell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell Hotel New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing